We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful Inn with picturesque views”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woodstock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn at Narrow Passage
Ranked #1 of 3 Woodstock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 29, 2011

On a trip to visit wineries and family in the Woodstock area, we stayed at the Inn. The Inn was beautiful, the view gorgeous, and after a day of wine tastings we decided to end the evening sitting in front of the fire chatting in the main building with our friends. Ed came by to add more wood to the fire and we invited him to stay and chat.........it was a memorable evening. We had such a wonderful and relaxing time. Breakfast in the morning was absolutely delicious. Even though we have family in the area we're definitely coming back.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lmwcaw32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 171 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2011

We were heading south for an overnight getaway and found the "Inn" online. I called to see if we could stop and take a look and were welcomed to stop by. Ed greeted us warmly and invited us into the beautiful colonial tavern happily showing us around. We knew right away that we wanted to stay. The Inn is beautifully situated and the accommodations are so inviting with the cozy fireplace in the room and a four poster bed and the all important private bath. Breakfast was a delight in the tavern with our table right next to the roaring fire. We enjoyed a hot breakfast including a nice spread of breads and pastries and coffee and conversation with our host. We will recommend this lovely Inn to family and friends and certainly enjoy another stay in the future.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the view from our second floor, corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2011

A very comfortable inn - a very nice welcome by the owner who would accommodate extras at breakfast if requested. However, some of the bedrooms are adjacent ot a busy mainroad and worth noting to request one off the main road if staying again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Service
2  Thank Keen56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

On a week long trip from Williamsburg to Philadelphia, we traveled through the shenandoah valley, and arrived at dusk. The photos on the website did not do justice to the room and the setting. Breakfast was substantial and delicious on both days we were there. The porches and balcony provided wonderful vantage points from which to enjoy coffee, a beautiful sunrise through the trees and a visit with the resident groundhog...the flowers and shrubs framed the welcome warmth in the cool mountain air. Ellen took the time and effort to have roses in our room to surprise my wife in celebration of our anniversary. Sitting in the dining room with Ed after breakfast reminded me of an unexpected reunion with an old and dear friend. We stayed at four places on the trip, and The Inn at Narrow Passage was the high point of our trip. Thank you Ellen and Ed. Steve Roberts

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jsrobsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

We stayed Saturday and Sunday and had a truly enjoyable l time. The room was immaculate---with a nice porch and pleasant view. The Inn provided everything we needed,-- reading material and a binder full of information about local attractions--good advice on the local area and, we even had an impromtu piano recital by one of the other guests. The bathroom was large---with a tub and shower and very clean. Breakfast was some local foods---eggs, bacon, sausage,apple sauce and pastries as well as cereal, juice, coffee, tea and fruit and more. The setting for this beautiful INN is perfect. .We enjoyed the music at Orkney Springs and the innkeepers' conversations and recommendations on local restaurants and attractions. This is a great value and we will definitely be back. Thanks Ed and Ellen

Room Tip: Describe your preferences to Ed--to get the room that suits you best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tom f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

This was our first stay and we won't be our last. The Inn was warm, inviting and full of history. Our room had more than enough space, with a queen bed, 2 sitting chairs, fridge and fireplace, though we didn't use it. That's a good reason to come back in colder weather. The bathroom had everything we needed, including little bottles of shampoo and lotion, which I didn't expect. I really liked the hairdryer. It opened up to a nice porch and view across the lawn. It was nice sitting there in the early morning and evenings. I can't even say enough about Ed, the innkeeper. He made us fell like family coming for a visit. The breakfasts were great, my favorite was the french toast, yummy. Ed always greeted us with hot coffee and a friendly smile. We we enjoyed our time spent chatting, he is a wealth of knowledge. Gave us great tips on where to eat, and we were not disappointed. I was really sad to leave. . Secluded, but convenient to everything. You may read some reviews mentioning the road noise, for us we didn't even notice it. I only remember hearing the cows from neighboring farms. This was by far one our most relaxing and memorable vacations and we plan on returning soon.

So if your looking for a wonderful B&B experience 'The Inn at Narrow Passage' is the place for you.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane_H583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2011

Well I just returned yesterday (24 June 11) from another couple of wonderful nights at the Inn. As always it was just like coming home to family. Virginia should be proud of this location and the good folks who run it! A great location, very good places locally to eat and if you want keep you busy. The other evening I sat on the porch and had a couple of glasses of wine from the local area. It was just nice to get away from it and relax.
I cannot say enough about the Inn the good folks who run it and location.
Did manage to cut my travel time to ten hours from Ontario. I hope to get back down in the next month or so.
Get out there and enjoy!
Steve

Room Tip: Relax, relax, relax!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theDragoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Woodstock hotels
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 4 in Woodstock
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Econo Lodge Woodstock
Econo Lodge Woodstock
#4 of 4 in Woodstock
83 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Narrow Passage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Narrow Passage

Address: 30 Chapman Landing Rd, (Rt. 672), Woodstock, VA 22824-2857
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Shenandoah County > Woodstock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Woodstock
Price Range: $85 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic lodging near Woodstock, Virginia, on the Shenandoah River. River Access for fishing and canoeing. free internet full breakfast included ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing