We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay in the Shenandoah Valley” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Woodstock
Certificate of Excellence
Alberta
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in the Shenandoah Valley”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2010

Wonderfull room. Staff was very curtious to us. Breakfast was good. Bed was wonderful. Shower great.

We would definitely come again!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KittyAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    123
    28
    5
    12
See reviews for
158
152
26
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton
Level Contributor
130 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2010

Stayed at this hotel when passing through the area. It seems pretty new and the price was decent with an AAA discount. I would recommend it to anyone travelling through or on a business trip.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelinsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, VA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2010

Spent New Year's Eve at this motel while on longer trip to visit relatives. Check in was efficient and friendly. The room was clean as was the bathroom. The heat worked well and quietly. Watched Va. Tech win the bowl game on wide screen TV. Two things stood out. The bed: the matress was perfect for us, the pillows (marked firm and soft) were as claimed. Without question, this was the best night's sleep I have ever had in a motel. The shower: Both of us commented on the shower and I wrote down the information to try to get this showerhead for our home
The only outside noise heard was one time with kids in the hall yelling to each other. The breakfast was as advertised. The cinnamon rolls were great. My only complaint was that the cofffee was not as hot as we like. Will stay here again if the need arises.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank almostretired45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2009

This is a classic Holiday Inn Express -- which is a great thing if you are looking for a clean place with no fuss and great value. The hotel/motel is just off I-81 in a strip of motels next to every fast-food outlet known to Americana.

There is a fitness room, which is sparse with a treadmill, stationary bike and not much else, but was a nice surprise -- and there is a pool, which might be a nice touch with kids during warmer months. The key benefit is an included breakfast buffet, including some warm dishes like eggs and biscuits/gravy (skip the gravy). The breakfast is a great start to a day of hiking in the Shenandoah or getting back on the road.

If I'm ever stranded in this area and had to pick a place to stay, you could do much worse! I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atyrau, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2009

I would agree with most of the review written by Momwiththree94, below. We had a King bed room, very clean, very comfortable and lots of room. We didn't have any problems with the bathroom. I think the streaks/marks on the granite worktops were simply part of the stone itself. (perhaps a budget cut of granite!) The pool was closed when we were there so I cannot comment. Breakfast was great, very busy but everyone seemed to get a seat. The employee kept the food very well stocked right up until she started to remove it at the end of the set breakfast time!
We had a problem with noise from traffic which kept my husband awake, (he is a light sleeper). There seemed to be a continual drone of trucks passing by on the interstate. We requested a different room the next night and after a bit of discussion we got one on the opposite side, away from the interstate and that was very quiet.
We stayed here to hike in the Shenandoah NP but found that it was quite a drive each day and would probably try to get somewhere closer next time. However for the price and availability at a busy time of year it was great. Overall I would recommend this hotel and would stay here again if we couldn't get anywhere closer for the same price/condition of hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpbs833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vandling, PA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2009

My family recently stayed at the Holiday Inn Express on our way home from Florida. The hotel is quite new and the entrance way is beautiful for a HI Express. The lobby and great room was well kept and clean. The great room area consists of huge windows that basically go from the floor to the ceiling. As these windows are beautiful, they do present a problem for people eating breakfast, as the sun cannot be blocked out and the room was quite warm.

The rooms were clean. They only consisted of two double beds. We prefer queen size beds. However the beds were comfortable and you are given a choice of firm or soft pillows. The beds are triple sheeted with no bedspreads, which I prefer. The room also had a desk and chair, additional easy chair with small table, dresser and LCD television. There was an abundance of television channels available. The hotel offers free WI-FI which is a plus.

The bathroom was quite small. The sink area had a granite countertop, however upon closer view, you could see that it was streaked and marked up quite a bit. The fan in the bathroom was broken so it did become quite warm during showers. The tub area was very clean, and the shower head was nice. The small shelf area in the bathtub was missing.

The bath towels were very nice, however there were only three in the room - so if you have 4 family members, you need to request more. The toiletries were okay.

The hotel did have an outdoor pool. We did use the pool - it was fenced in and had ample tables and chairs. There were not enough pool towels, available. The water temperature was a little cool, but it was fine. The water itself could have been cleaner.

The hotel also offers a breakfast. As I mentioned above, the great room/lobby is where it is held. The tables and chairs are very nice, however, they are not functional. When people are sitting at the tables next to you, it is hard to get around the chairs as they are quite big and little too lavish for the area. The breakfast area was quite crowded. It seemed to be set up in a way that was not functional as well. There was a large island area with decorative flowers on it, being used for nothing. It seems that this area should be utilized for the plates, cups, napkins, silverware, etc in order to keep the people moving. The employee working the area, was trying very hard to keep things in order. She did a great job considering the set up. The food itself was OK. Standard fair of toast, bagels, muffins, cinnamon rolls, cereals, bisquits, sausage gravy, and scrambled eggs. The eggs obviously were powdered and very rubbery. I did not people around me making comments about them as well.

We used a coupon from the traveler coupon book that you pick up along the interstate so we did get a good rate.

Overall, this was a nice property and great for a stop over.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MOMWITHTHREE94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2009

My mother, aunt, and I went on a balloon ride in Woodstock in June. We drove five hours from our town and arrived late in the afternoon. I had already checked Tripadvisor and thought I knew which hotel would be best. However, once we arrived and I could get a closer look, I chose the Holiday Inn Express instead of the Comfort Inn across the road. The room was very comfortable, the parking lot was well lit, the entrance was clean and airy. I took several pictures, becuase I like to see what a room might look like before I get there. We used a coupon found in one of the travelers books from the rest areas and the cost of our stay was very reasonable. We left for our balloon ride by 5am and returned to shower and hit the road. There are several chain restaurants nearby (fast food mostly) and some local spots too. We only ate at the KFC, so I don't have much input there. In the pictures you will see a dink in the tub (just a little chip in the surface) and the shelves in the shower that the glue had turned a funny color, but it was absolutely clean. Overall, this hotel was a nice stay and I would stay there again if I returned to Woodstock.

Helpful?
Thank purplecowz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodstock
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
14.6 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 4 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
14.5 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
14.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Intown Luray
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley

Property: Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley
Address: 1130 Motel Drive, I-81 Exit 283, Woodstock, VA 22664
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Shenandoah County > Woodstock
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Woodstock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Award Winning Holiday Inn Express Woodstock-Shenandoah Valley is conveniently located in the heart of the Shenandoah Valley. The Hotel provides spacious contemporary guest rooms with flat-screen LED TV free Wi-Fi, a work desk and arm chair. Decorated with mahogany furniture, the rooms also have a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. Additionally this Hotel features an outdoor pool, well-equipped gym and on-site guest laundry. For a special occasion our two room presidential suites features a private bedroom with a full size Jacuzzi and a king size bed and a separate living area. Enjoy the complimentary Express Start® HOT breakfast which includes but not limited to Signature Cinnamon rolls, fresh pancakes in a "Minute," egg items (Scrambled eggs or cheese omelets), meat items (Sausage or bacon), Sausage grave & Biscuit and many more selections. Guests can unwind and relax in our large lobby by the fireplace; watch your favorite shows and games on our large LCD TV, read, play board games or just "kick back" with family and friends. For business travelers we also offer a 24-hour business center with fax and copy services to ensure that your business doesn't miss a step while you're on the road.Leisure travelers staying in our Woodstock, VA, hotel will find all the majesty of the Shenandoah Valley at their fingertips. Historic Downtown Woodstock is just one mile away. Within short driving distance you will be able to visit nearby Bryce Ski and Golf Resort, Luray Caverns, Shenandoah Caverns, Market Battlefields State Historical Park, Skyline Drive in the Shenandoah National Park, the Shenandoah Valley Music Festival and five wineries. Massanutten Military Academy is few minutes from Woodstock Holiday Inn Express. Shenandoah County Fairgrounds is within walking distance. At the Holiday Inn Express – Woodstock Guest service is our #1 priority! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley Hotel Woodstock
Holiday Inn Woodstock
Woodstock Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing