We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average, but not great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Woodstock
Certificate of Excellence
West Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
92 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Average, but not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

I stayed at the HIExpress Woodstock two nights while on a recent trip to the Valley. Front desk service was friendly, but a tad abrupt. The hotel is beginning to show its age in the carpeting, pillows, and sheets. But, everything was clean and tidy. I had a 2-queen room with a toilet/sink/bath/shower, small closet, mini-trig, microwave, small flat-screen TV, work desk and chair, easy chair. The bed and pillows were comfortable. The room was quiet, partly because there were very few other residents in the hotel judging by the paucity of cars / trucks in the parking lot.
The wall unit AC/heat was controlled by a wall thermostat that tended toward the cool side. I normally keep thermostats at 65F, but felt the need to keep this one to 70F or higher to be comfortable, even though outdoor temps were in the 40s or higher. My room was on the third floor near the north end and the wireless Internet reception was lousy. My laptop barely pulled it in and my iPhone would not even "find" the signal.
The complimentary breakfast was okay, but not great. The usual tired biscuits/gravy, tasteless scrambled eggs, bacon plus the HIExpress famous cinnamon rolls and the usual assortment of other odds / ends.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RLNielsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiewoodstock, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear RLNielsen,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your stay with us. We apologize if our front desk staff came across to you as "abrupt". We have ordered all new pillows and replacement linen, by end of March the whole hotel will have brand new pillows. In the future, no matter where you stay; when you experience such issues as you did with the WiFi and thermostat, please don't hesitate to contact the guest service desk as soon as possible so the issue can be resolved or if necessary move you to a more comfortable location in the hotel. We are pleased to know that the rest of your stay was clean, quiet, and that you were able to enjoy our Express Start Hot Breakfast before continuing your journey for the day. If you are passing through Woodstock again we welcome you back for an experience that exceeds your expectations.

Sincerely,
Guest Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    125
    29
    5
    12
See reviews for
159
153
26
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

My family and I decided to go skiing at the last minute, and booked two nights at this hotel. I have stayed at Holiday Inn Express's in the past with great experiences, and this one is no exception. The staff was very friendly and the room was clean and neat. I was especially impressed by the breakfast staff. My daughter and I arrived about 10 minutes before the breakfast bar closed and were immediately greeted by Janis, who advised that breakfast would soon be over and offered to heat up cinnamon rolls from the back for us. The next morning, we were greeted like old friends again by the b-fast staff and were immediately catered to by Janis. She ensured that we had everything that we needed and informed us when breakfast was ending. Great Customer Service!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

I haft to say I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. I haven't stayed in a Holiday Inn in years and this place was clean and comfortable. Town is small and there is nothing to do however everyone is friendly.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

I loved this hotel, it was very clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was up there with the embassy, and that's saying a lot. Very close to food and Walmart. Right off the highway. Easy to access from Luray Caverns and historic downtown.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank BigBay22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poquoson, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a quick weekend getaway to the mountains. We were relieved to see how clean and organized the hotel rooms were--especially since we got a great deal we were afraid the price might lower the level of quality offered at the hotel.

But, what motivated us to actually take the time to write a review was the continental breakfast attendant. There was a sweet woman who made sure the food and drinks were fresh & available, and the food and sitting area was spotless. The woman herself was just as friendly as could be and that really stuck with us! We will certainly book another room at a Holiday Inn Express :)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StacieJF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

We were impressed with the value. For a stop over it was a nice, comfortable, well maintained hotel. A very pleasing experience. The breakfast rolls were exceptionally good, weak coffee but there was an in your room coffee maker.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katiekate91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

Great staff and service. I got stuck in a snow storm & the staff went out of their way to help. They made a very bad situation, much better.Just wanted to say Thank You to Brandi, Janis & Dean. Holiday Inn is lucky to have staff like you.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank football88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodstock
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
14.6 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 4 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
14.5 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
14.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Intown Luray
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley

Property: Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley
Address: 1130 Motel Drive, I-81 Exit 283, Woodstock, VA 22664
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Shenandoah County > Woodstock
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Woodstock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Award Winning Holiday Inn Express Woodstock-Shenandoah Valley is conveniently located in the heart of the Shenandoah Valley. The Hotel provides spacious contemporary guest rooms with flat-screen LED TV free Wi-Fi, a work desk and arm chair. Decorated with mahogany furniture, the rooms also have a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. Additionally this Hotel features an outdoor pool, well-equipped gym and on-site guest laundry. For a special occasion our two room presidential suites features a private bedroom with a full size Jacuzzi and a king size bed and a separate living area. Enjoy the complimentary Express Start® HOT breakfast which includes but not limited to Signature Cinnamon rolls, fresh pancakes in a "Minute," egg items (Scrambled eggs or cheese omelets), meat items (Sausage or bacon), Sausage grave & Biscuit and many more selections. Guests can unwind and relax in our large lobby by the fireplace; watch your favorite shows and games on our large LCD TV, read, play board games or just "kick back" with family and friends. For business travelers we also offer a 24-hour business center with fax and copy services to ensure that your business doesn't miss a step while you're on the road.Leisure travelers staying in our Woodstock, VA, hotel will find all the majesty of the Shenandoah Valley at their fingertips. Historic Downtown Woodstock is just one mile away. Within short driving distance you will be able to visit nearby Bryce Ski and Golf Resort, Luray Caverns, Shenandoah Caverns, Market Battlefields State Historical Park, Skyline Drive in the Shenandoah National Park, the Shenandoah Valley Music Festival and five wineries. Massanutten Military Academy is few minutes from Woodstock Holiday Inn Express. Shenandoah County Fairgrounds is within walking distance. At the Holiday Inn Express – Woodstock Guest service is our #1 priority! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley Hotel Woodstock
Holiday Inn Woodstock
Woodstock Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing