We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley
Nearby Hotels
$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn(Woodstock)
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
$65
EconoLodge
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Strasburg(Strasburg)
$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
Fairfield Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wayside Inn(Middletown)
$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (510)
Filter reviews
510 results
Traveler rating
317
142
32
6
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
317
142
32
6
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspancake machinethe breakfast areacinnamon rollssausagefast foodroom was cleanbreakfast attendantoutdoor poolvery pleasant stayoff the highwaymorning breakfastfront desk staffyogurttraveling southstaff was friendlyhot breakfastnight's rest
Filter
Updating list...
318 - 323 of 510 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We had made a reservation at the Hampton Inn in Woodstock, Va the day we left Florida to drive home. After a 12 hour drive we pulled into Hampton Inn and were told that due to a system wide reservation glitch, they had no rooms available. The front desk called the Holiday Inn Express (literally next door) and got us a room for the night. Never had stayed at Holiday Inn Express before but this one was very nice, clean, quiet and restful. The morning breakfast was a pleasant surprise. Eggs, sausage, pancakes, etc and it was all WARM!!! Will stay here again if we are in this area and will look to stay at more Holiday Inn Express locations in the future

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank GITRNRUP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Passing thru Woodstock VA during a 3-week road trip; made advance reservations here; seldom stop at Holiday Inn. Very glad we stopped here. Beautiful facility, quite new; very spacious and well appointed lobby and breakfast area. Room was excellent, spacious; well appointed, on lower (1st floor); very quiet; very comfortable. We slept in; missed breakfast; maybe next time. This hotel could easily pass for many more upscale facilities. We will definitely stay here again if we return to this area.

Room Tip: We happened to be on the lower floor; turned out to be very quiet.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Southernnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The Front Desk Clerk was kind and helpful. The next morning she was there when I check out with the same smiling face and professional manner. The room was clean and quiet. The security was good, I was told which entrance was closest to room.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

what a wonderful place to stay woke up not wanting to leave we were very tired and found heaven close to rt 81 everyone was great and the breakfast was great will stop again if there rooms were nice towels soft very clean

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank james g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed here last week for one night during a tour of historical sites and the Shenandoah area. My expectations of Holiday Inn Expresses aren't that high, but I do expect some basic standards which were unfortunately not met.

-- Located in large retail park so easy access by car to various eateries and shops.
-- Room was clean but sheets smelt of Other People's Sweat. Ditto towels. Too late and too tired to ask for room change. They looked clean, otherwise would have complained. Perhaps they forgot to add Tide to the wash.
-- Breakfast quite horrible (fruit juice was just coloured sugared water), but hey, what do you expect from a Holiday Inn Express.
-- Dining chairs extremely grubby - stuffing was about to escape from one.
-- Brusque, borderline rude reception staff (in training?). Bit of a shock after several days being bowled over by Virginian charm. Conversation went like this:
"What type of room do you want?"
"What do you mean?"
"Smoking or non-smoking?"
"Non-smoking please."
"You didn't request a non-smoking room."
"My agent made the booking & anyway I thought all rooms were non-smoking."
"No they aren't. Next time we might not have one."
Oh please do excuse me for putting you out! Ever heard of customer service? Much better once the supervisor took over. Don't worry, HEI Woodstock, I will never darken your doors again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nyonya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear Nyonya,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate your interactions with the staff prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews