We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good facility,excellent service and good location for day trips.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Woodstock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This hotel is located in the Shenandoah Valley of Virginia and is a good home base for day trips to nearby towns. We stayed here for a get away weekend August 8 -10, 2013. The room was comfortable with a small refrigerator and microwave and coffee maker and a king bed with a good mattress. Breakfast is included and had a good variety including eggs, sausage, biscuits, bagels, muffins, yogurt, cereal, etc. Most mornings were busy but the staff kept up with replenishing the food.

The hotel has an excellent staff. Even though we arrived well before check in, we were checked into a room that met our requirements. The front dest gave us a list of local places to eat and some that give discounts if you show your room card. We stayed in this hotel the previous year and the owner gave us some passes for wine tasting at local vineyards. The vineyards have cut back on the passes but we were able to get one this time for North Mountain Vineyards. We visited there and Cave Ridge Vineyards and bought a couple of bottles at each. We did a day trip to Blackwater Falls in West Virginia on one day and then to Winchester, Front Royal and Washington, Virginia on another day. There is a wine loop that begins in Front Royal that we will be taking on our next visit here.

Room Tip: Units on the West side have a mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CreoleOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiewoodstock, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear CreoleOne,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. Our hotel is centrally located in the Shenandoah Valley and is considered to be the “Hub & Spoke” location for people who want to visit numerous attractions in the Valley and it seems you experienced that.

We're pleased in knowing you were comfortable and enjoyed the amenities provided as well as our complimentary Express Start Hot Breakfast. All of our staff strives to provide great service and make our guests comfortable. Happy to hear we were able to accommodate an early check in for you; we do our best to provide it when possible. We appreciate your loyalty and look forward to seeing you during your next visit!

Thank you again,
Guest Service Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (500)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

331 - 337 of 500 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2013

My sons & I stayed here just one night on our way home from a road trip. Everyone is friendly, the rooms are clean, & the breakfast had a variety of selections. However, the tv in our room didn't work, & the door adjoining our room to the next was unlocked. Disconcerting for a mom traveling alone with children. I'm glad I checked.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AshleyAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear AshleyAG,

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing our hotel. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service provided during your stay and the cleanliness of the rooms. I apologize that you had some items that are not working in the room. Rest assured that the issues you have raised has been documented and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

After a very long and stressful day of driving it was a relief to find such a warm and welcoming place to stay for the night, even though I didn't have a reservation. The room was well appointed and comfortable. The staff was very kind helpful. However, the best part for me was the fact that there were rooms where smoking was permitted. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who is traveling on Interstate 81.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

The nice view of the mountains to the West only added to the pleasant experience. The desk staff was pleasant and professional. They have a fitness room, an outdoor pool and wifi. The hotel is very clean, the rooms are spacious, the beds comfortable and the towels are large and soft. The room had a flat screen TV with multiple cable choices, a m'wave and a 'fridge. They have a complimentary breakfast with scrambled eggs, sausage, a variety of breads and juices, cereals and Columbian coffee. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrfiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Very clean, comfortable and accommodating for a late night check in. We had to switch hotels after a bad experience elsewhere and the staff and rooms here were fantastic. The complimentary breakfast meet and exceeded all of our expectations with eggs, sausage, sausage gravy & biscuits, yogurt, muffins, bagels, toast and cereal! You can't go wrong here!

Room Tip: A great place to stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jodi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

The best overnight stay of our VA vacation. From initially walking into the lobby, the friendliest of staff (Kevin & Nadine) to the superior room, everything was ideal. Full complimentary breakfast was also good. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OCMDkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

This is a lovely hotel if you are traveling on Interstate 81 through Virginia. The rooms are clean, the free breakfast is good, and the rates (especially for a government employee) are extremely reasonable. The pool is outside (but they have towels right at the pool for you). The gym is adequate and it looks like the meeting room are very well equipped.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank territardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodstock
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 4 in Woodstock
289 reviews
14.6 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
59 reviews
14.5 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
17.1 mi away
Quality Inn Shenandoah Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley

Address: 1130 Motel Dr, I-81 Exit 283, Woodstock, VA 22664-1021
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Shenandoah County > Woodstock
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Woodstock
Price Range: $99 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Newly Renovated and Award Winning Holiday Inn Express Woodstock-Shenandoah Valley is conveniently located in the heart of the Shenandoah Valley. The Hotel provides spacious contemporary guest rooms with flat-screen LED TV free Wi-Fi, a work desk and arm chair. Decorated with mahogany furniture, the rooms also have a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. Additionally this Hotel features an outdoor pool, well-equipped gym and on-site guest laundry. For a special occasion our two room presidential suites features a private bedroom with a full size Jacuzzi and a king size bed and a separate living area. Enjoy the complimentary Express Start® HOT breakfast which includes but not limited to Signature Cinnamon rolls, fresh pancakes in a "Minute," egg items (Scrambled eggs or cheese omelets), meat items (Sausage or bacon), Sausage grave & Biscuit and many more selections. Guests can unwind and relax in our large lobby and watch your favorite shows and games on our large LCD TV, read, play board games or just "kick back" with family and friends. For business travelers we also offer a 24-hour business center with fax and copy services to ensure that your business doesn't miss a step while you're on the road.Leisure travelers staying in our Woodstock, VA, hotel will find all the majesty of the Shenandoah Valley at their fingertips. Historic Downtown Woodstock is just one mile away. Within short driving distance you will be able to visit nearby Bryce Ski and Golf Resort, Luray Caverns, Shenandoah Caverns, Market Battlefields State Historical Park, Skyline Drive in the Shenandoah National Park, the Shenandoah Valley Music Festival and 8 wineries and breweries. Massanutten Military Academy is few minutes from Woodstock Holiday Inn Express. Shenandoah County Fairgrounds is within walking distance. At the Holiday Inn Express – Woodstock Guest service is our #1 priority! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley Hotel Woodstock
Holiday Inn Woodstock
Woodstock Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing