We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Woodstock
Certificate of Excellence
Woodstock, Virginia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Clean Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

I would stay at this hotel again any night. Nice clean rooms. Shower had good water pressure. Offered a nice breakfast in the morning, really loved the Cinnamon buns. Friendly Staff. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amber K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiewoodstock, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Amber K,

Thank you for sharing your compliments about our facility and service. We agree, our exclusive Cinnamon Buns are one of the best items on our Express Start Breakfast! We are delighted to welcome you back again any night!

Sincerely,
Guest Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    123
    28
    5
    12
See reviews for
158
152
26
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
90 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Decided to spend the night here en route home from Charleston, S.C., because of the favorable reviews here. Y'all were right. The front desk people were quite courteous and efficient, getting us settled in within 10 minutes. That's important when you've been driving since 7 a.m. and it's 5 p.m.

The room was very clean; the essentials were there. The only thing "missing" was the skin lotion but, hey. It has a refrigerator and a microwave and a little coffee maker. The bed was very comfortable.

We realized too late that we were on the highway-facing side; next time, I'd ask for the other side but it wasn't a deal-breaker.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nina9153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiewoodstock, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear nina9153,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We're glad that our staff was able to get you settled in efficiently after a long day of driving. We do our best to make every guest feel welcome and comfortable. We do have additional hygiene items available at the front desk including lotion, shaving cream, razors, etc; please don't hesitate to ask our agents as somebody is available 24/7. We look forward to seeing you again on your trip to/from Charleston!

Sincerely,
Guest Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

Stayed 1 night, location was close to Hwy 81 and our route to Maryland. It was very clean, comfortable and well appointed. This is not a luxury resort or vacation destination by itself. But, an excellent choice for the average traveller. Great price, easy to book, very friendly staff. Staff recommended Joe's Steakhouse in Woodstock and we were very pleased with food and service there. Holiday Inn Express offers breakfast, and it is low quality processed food - not great for the healthy conscientious eater. But, the coffee is excellent and the breakfast is convenient if you aren't picky. Room, dining area and lobby very clean. Overall, a great choice and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: No issues with location on 3rd floor. Our room was even on the highway side of building and I did n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiewoodstock, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Janet B,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We strive to provide excellent customer service and appreciate it when guests let us know how we're doing. We're glad you enjoyed our recommendation of Joe's Steakhouse – excellent choice for a delicious dinner! Also, for your future reference; our complimentary Express Start Hot breakfast does include healthier choices including cereal, yogurt and fruit. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Maryland!

Sincerely,
Guest Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huntington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

I will preface my review by saying my gripe with this hotel is based on the most aggravating and frustating service experience I've EVER encountered at a hotel.
I called this HIE directly to book a reservation for my daughter's graduation almost 1 year in advance since I didn't want to deal with the room shortages near JMU. I spoke with a receptionist that was helpful and lovely and booked ONE room and carefully went over cancellation policy, proximity to JMU's campus, whether or not smoking was permitted, etc. I am extremely detailed and thorough in my travel arrangement- ALWAYS! There was much discussion about whether I should do a king room or one with 2 beds since I was not sure if my son would stay in our room or on campus. (I believe this is where things went awry)
I was forwarded a confirmation with attachments via email. I read the confirmation quickly and didn't think about it until almost a year later when my Mastercard charge went thru for TWO rooms. I was puzzled so I called the hotel and got the girl that booked the initial reservation on the phone. She said this was a nonrefunable reservation and that there was NOTHING she could do. I explained this was an error and that I NEVER required 2 rooms but would absolutely be there for the 2 nights booked and needed the ONE ROOM. I was beyond upset and frustrated since I certainly didn't want to pay for 2 nights for an empty room. I asked to speak to a manager, and basically put myself at their mercy!
I was not called back and was put off with the excuse of "their in a meeting". I called the corporate booking customer service # and was told this hotel was a franchise and they couldn't help me. I would have to deal with this hotel directly!!
The clerk never identified anyone as a manager and would not give me a name or have anyone call me. They were inflexible and told me there was nothing they would do. Finally, Nadine (still have no idea she is a manager/owner??) gets on the phone and tells me that her clerk remembers me specifacally requesting 2 rooms. ARE YOU KIDDING ME????? In essence I am now a LIAR! OMG.
I was told she would only consider cancelling BOTH rooms (leaving me without accomodations on a graduation sold out weekend) or I was stuck paying for 2 rooms.If she was willing to forgo the entire booking then why not cancell the ONE room that was booked in error?? Bluffing- since she knew I needed accomodations?? She FINALLY agreed to a $50.00 + tax penalty for the room I NEVER booked or needed.
In summary, this is a case where there was human error and ZERO customer service or more importantly... humanity! We stayed in ONE room ,as planned and booked back in June of 2012. This hotel was not sold out- they did NOT loose out on a booking because of the error. This was a way for them to make and extra $50-60 dollars.
DISGUSTING... and as far as Holiday Inn Corporate moderating--- just forget it! Do yourself a favor and stay at the brand new Hampton Inn right next door! These people were the worst!
Oh- and by the way, take their retort (that I'm sure will be forth-coming) with a grain of salt. Bottom line is ; the hotel buisness is about customer service, good faith, repeat buisness and brand loyalty.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trianonx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiewoodstock, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear trianonx,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with our hotel. We want all of our guests to be happy and comfortable at our hotel. Aside from this reservation policy issue, it seems that your overall stay experience exceeded your expectations; which pleases us.

You booked with us for the JMU graduation weekend. Because of such a high demand for rooms during this time of year, all reservations had a specific one month prior to arrival cancellation policy. With such limited room availability, such policies are necessary at times. ALL guests who booked with us understood and agreed to this policy at the time of making their reservation(s).

As you stated; when you contacted us about the charges on your credit card, the reservations at that point were non-cancellable, non-refundable. This was because you didn't contact us until after the one month cancellation policy deadline – even having months to cancel beforehand. However, we were willing to work with you. After discussing your situation with management; we offered to cancel the second room in good faith with the cancellation penalty; which you agreed to. As you already mentioned, we did not sell out. This was due to your last minute cancellation. In turn, the hotel lost potential revenue in addition to the difference refunded after the agreed cancellation penalty was assessed. Cancelling your reservation without penalty would be unfair to other guests who honored their commitment to staying with us whether change of plans or change of mind.

Just as you describe yourself as being “extremely detailed and thorough” in making travel arrangements, our reservation process is very detailed and thorough. This being said, we would not randomly make reservations for a second room for any guest without them having asked us to. Speaking of; we had no intention to make you feel as if we were accusing you of lying. During the time of booking, you requested two different room types. In order to do this, our system automatically creates separate confirmation numbers for the specified room type(s). After making your reservations, you were sent a detailed email specifying the cancellation policy. In fact, because you requested this email; we were under the impression that you were a very detailed and proactive person. Because of this, we were surprised that you didn’t contact us about cancelling the second room long before the cancellation policy had passed – especially having booked so far in advance. Additionally, attached to the email were two separate confirmation letters (one for each reservation). Therefore; the hotel did everything possible to ensure you were fully aware of what you booked and the details of each reservation.

While negotiating the cancellation penalty we were trying to help you as much as possible. It seemed as if you weren’t satisfied with our reservation policy. However; it was never our intention to make you think we wanted you to cancel both of your reservations. Especially when the focus of the conversation was negotiating a reasonable and appropriate cancellation fee.

We strive to provide excellent customer service to each and every guest. While this includes repeat business, brand loyalty, and good faith; we believe in doing the right thing. As we do with all our guests, we went above and beyond to help you from the first time you contacted us. With this in mind; we find it unfortunate that you weren't satisfied with our reservation policy as we did everything possible to help you in this situation.

Sincerely,
Guest Service Team
Guest Service Is Our #1 Priority!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Had a wonderful nights stay here. Clean, Quite and good breakfast the next day. Free WiFi... best hotel in the area. Just off interstate easy to find... Room was like every Holiday Inn simple, clean but just fine. Bed was nothing to write home about but was fine.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyDude12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiewoodstock, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear HappyDude12345,

We appreciate you sharing your wonderful experience during your stay! We're happy you enjoyed our complimentary Express Start Hot breakfast as well as our WiFi access. We appreciate your loyalty to Holiday Inn / Holiday Inn Express and are pleased that we met your expectations of our brand. We look forward to seeing you again should you be traveling through Woodstock in the future.

Thank you again,
Guest Services Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights while travelling to a family event and it did exactly what it says on the tin - nice sized and clean rooms which looked fairly new. We asked for a quiet room when we made the reservation and we were given a room on the 3rd floor. The weird thing about this place is that reception is on the 2nd floor and you have to go to the end of the hallway to catch the lift if you have luggage (otherwise, the stairs are more convenient to reception).

This hotel had everything we needed: free breakfast (pancakes, hot food, yogurts, cereals, fruit, pastries, bagels, etc.), knowledgeable and friendly staff who gave us some travel advice for the area including winery recommendations which were surprisingly good. There is a decent sized outdoor pool and fitness center. All sorts of fast food in the vicinity along with CVS and Walmart nearby for anything else you need. Oh and it was surprising that there was a microwave in the room.

Very happy with this choice as we also managed to book a decent rate. Highly recommend as a good stopping point in the area. We were here to attend an event at James Madison University which was about 30/35 minutes away without traffic.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Merkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiewoodstock, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Merkey,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your visit to our area! Because of the unique layout of our hotel, the elevator is located at the corner of the building for convenient parking as well as easy access to both hallways of all three floors. We're happy you enjoyed the local wineries – we also have a list of great local restaurants available at the front desk if you'd like something different on your next visit. In addition to this, we offer complimentary access to a full gym right down the road called Anytime Fitness. Glad you were pleased with the accommodations as each room is equipped with a microwave, mini-fridge and coffee pot. Our location is quite convenient as we are close to nearby grocery stores and pharmacies. We welcome you back should you be traveling through the area again to see family.

Thank you again,
Guest Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
231 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was very convenient to I-81 which is good because it is right off the highway and easy to find. However, because it is so close to the highway, there is constant noise from the highway. The hotel was very clean and seemed to be well-run. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The WiFi worked pretty well. We had a king suite which was huge - bigger than my first apartment - with a huge jacuzzi tub, a separate sitting/TV room, and a fridge and microwave. We'd stay here again if we are in the area.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodstock
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
14.6 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 4 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
14.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Intown Luray
13.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Strasburg Shenandoah Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley

Property: Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley
Address: 1130 Motel Drive, I-81 Exit 283, Woodstock, VA 22664
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Shenandoah County > Woodstock
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Woodstock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Award Winning Holiday Inn Express Woodstock-Shenandoah Valley is conveniently located in the heart of the Shenandoah Valley. The Hotel provides spacious contemporary guest rooms with flat-screen LED TV free Wi-Fi, a work desk and arm chair. Decorated with mahogany furniture, the rooms also have a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. Additionally this Hotel features an outdoor pool, well-equipped gym and on-site guest laundry. For a special occasion our two room presidential suites features a private bedroom with a full size Jacuzzi and a king size bed and a separate living area. Enjoy the complimentary Express Start® HOT breakfast which includes but not limited to Signature Cinnamon rolls, fresh pancakes in a "Minute," egg items (Scrambled eggs or cheese omelets), meat items (Sausage or bacon), Sausage grave & Biscuit and many more selections. Guests can unwind and relax in our large lobby by the fireplace; watch your favorite shows and games on our large LCD TV, read, play board games or just "kick back" with family and friends. For business travelers we also offer a 24-hour business center with fax and copy services to ensure that your business doesn't miss a step while you're on the road.Leisure travelers staying in our Woodstock, VA, hotel will find all the majesty of the Shenandoah Valley at their fingertips. Historic Downtown Woodstock is just one mile away. Within short driving distance you will be able to visit nearby Bryce Ski and Golf Resort, Luray Caverns, Shenandoah Caverns, Market Battlefields State Historical Park, Skyline Drive in the Shenandoah National Park, the Shenandoah Valley Music Festival and five wineries. Massanutten Military Academy is few minutes from Woodstock Holiday Inn Express. Shenandoah County Fairgrounds is within walking distance. At the Holiday Inn Express – Woodstock Guest service is our #1 priority! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley Hotel Woodstock
Holiday Inn Woodstock
Woodstock Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing