We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful overnight stop” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Woodstock
Certificate of Excellence
bonita springs
2 reviews
“Wonderful overnight stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised to have such a nice, clean room with micro, fridge, and great breakfast in the morning. We had free wi-fi and comfortable beds, which made our stay enjoyable. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dudeBonitaSprings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiewoodstock, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear dudeBonitaSprings,

We're pleased to know that your experience with us was comfortable and enjoyable! All of our rooms are equipped with a microwave and mini fridge for your convenience and comfort. Happy to hear you got to experience our complimentary Express Start Hot Breakfast. We appreciate you taking time to write this review and are looking forward to seeing you in the future!

Sincerely,
Guest Service Team
Guest Service Is Our #1 Priority!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    123
    28
    5
    12
See reviews for
158
152
26
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

When traveling through north Virginia we often stay at this Holiday Inn Express, but this time we were not. We were meeting family,including a granddaughter who lives in upstate New York and we needed a place to open Christmas gifts, since we would not be with them for the holidays. Since the Inn was a familiar spot, we decided to ask if we could use the lobby for a short time. My husband spoke with Brandi,explained the situation and identified himself as a priority club member. She graciously offered us the use of an area in the lobby, breakfast and asked if there was anything else she could be of help. It was a wonderful to see my 18 month old granddaughter opening her Christmas gifts. THANK YOU BRANDI ! Next time we are through we will definitely stay with you ! Frieda H.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frieda h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiewoodstock, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear frieda H,

We are so happy to hear that we played a small role in making your Granddaughter’s Christmas joyful and of course yours. Precious moments!!!!! Hope you are able to stay overnight with us this year and enjoy extended time with your family members. Or if you need to use our lobby next year, just come in and ask!

Sincerely,
Guest Service Team
Guest Service Is Our #1 Priority!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Greenbush, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

The room was outstanding...spotlessly clean and very comfortable! The breakfast was very good, with lots of alternatives...very nicely done. The staff was friendly and very helpful. I was disappointed with the exercise room...there were four machines and an excellent TV; I enjoyed the TV for the short time I was in the room, two of the machines I do not use and the two treadmills would not work. The next morning, the representative at the desk said there is a special key for the treadmills...I have no idea why...the treadmills are in a safe room in the middle of the motel. Also, some more or bigger signs should be installed, pointing to the lobby, etc...at one point, I just walked outside to the parking lot to locate where the lobby is.

Room Tip: It is good to ask for your first preference in type of room...the staff is very helpful to customers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiewoodstock, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Leo K,

Thank you for taking the time to comment about your experience at our hotel. We're pleased to know you were comfortable and that our staff was "friendly" and "very helpful"! Our biggest concern is the safety of each and every guest. While the fitness center is in a secured room that can be accessed only with a room key; it is our concern that a child may get into the room unsupervised and try to operate the machine and be hurt. That is why the safety key must be attached onto the treadmill to operate it. We are sorry for the limited size of the excise room and number of equipment. However as our hotel guest you can use local Anytime Fitness center for free! At the Anytime Fitness you will find weight machines, free weights and variety of cardio equipment and it is open 24 hours. Please take advantage of this free amenity during your next stay with us.

Because we're built on a hill; our hotel has a unique layout with the lobby on the second level. While there are signs in the elevator and in the hallways, we will look into the possibility of posting additional signs throughout the hotel to reduce similar experience. We hope that you will stay with us again if your travels bring you back to Woodstock!

Sincerely,
Guest Service Team
Guest Service Is Our #1 Priority!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Clean and there is truck parking and the people are great, the room is clean the bed is comfortable their is a 7-11 near by, there is a gym, a pool, the lobby is spacious and there is free wi-fi; I get to do a 34 hour restart anywhere in the country and I hope I get to do it here everytime

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Titotime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiewoodstock, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Titotime,

It seems in your profession you get to stay at many hotels during your travels and ranking us on the top of your list by saying that you “hope I get to do it here everytime” means a lot to our team. We're glad to know you have enjoyed the amenities at our hotel including our fitness center, outdoor pool, and complimentary wi-fi. In future if you need bigger offsite fitness facility, please ask for the Anytime Fitness pass (located less than a mile), which is free to use for hotel guest. We are not a truck stop but have ample truck parking (that is safe) for guest like you. Thank you for your continued loyalty as our returning guest. We look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,
Guest Service Team
Guest Service Is Our #1 Priority!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
133 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Before heading to DC, we stopped by the area to see some of the local caverns. The rooms were clean and the breakfast is typical Holiday Inn Express. Usual, the room did not have a closets with doors, just a clothes rack when you walked into the room. The woman who serviced the breakfast area was friendly and accommodating (even to the gentleman who came in right as she was closing up). Minus, this hotel is literally off the highway and you can smell the exhaust of the vehicles walking around the parking lot and in the elevators. There is not a lot as far as dining around the hotel, mostly fast food. Plus, there are several caverns within a 20 minute drive including Skyline Drive which offers breathtaking views of the valley at up to 3k+ feet heights. I have been to several Holiday Inn Express, this one is just ok.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiewoodstock, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear RBabe,

We are only 100 miles from DC and happy to see you got some site seeing done during your trip to DC area. Skyline Drive is the “gem” of Shenandoah Valley and the famous Luray Caverns are unique and one of kind in the nation. Both minutes from the hotel.

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, happy to hear you had good experience during breakfast. We are surrounded by many fast food restaurants but also have good variety (Steakhouse, Mexican, Italian, Tavern, Asian, Greek and Café) of about 15 dine-in restaurants within 2 mile radius, some also with delivery options. Next time please ask our front desk agent for listing, some also offer discounts to our hotel guests.

Hope you get to experience some dine-in restaurants during your next stay with us.

Sincerely,
Guest Service Team
Guest Service Is Our #1 Priority!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Great hotel. Very nice atmosphere within hotel. Great views! Clean and very comfy. Great breakfast.

Awesome staff! They were amazing.

My only complaints were that they ran out of the cribs and since we booked during a very busy time and that breakfast seating was limited. Also the price of the room was very high.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiewoodstock, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Suzy H,

We're happy knowing you were comfortable and that you found our staff to be "awesome" and "amazing"! We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience it caused you to not have a crib available during your stay. Because of your experience, we will take into consideration having a few extra cribs on hand so they are readily available during our busy times. We apologize for limited seating during busy times in our breakfast area. In closing, we would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and to bring these issues to our attention so we are able to correct them. It is our hope that if you return to the Woodstock area that you will stay with us again!

Sincerely,
Guest Service Team
Guest Service Is Our #1 Priority!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
84 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed in king, nonsmoking room for 89.95 & tax including hot cont. breakfast.Quiet room, flat screen tv, wireless, micro, fridge, coffee maker, desk, table, easy chair & ottoman, plenty of lights and quiet heater. Staff even called room to make sure all ok. Lots of fast food restaurants nearby. Hotel accessible off exit 283, 81S is a bit congested but would definitely go back. Note: I used to go to Holiday Inns and switched to Hampton Inns due to some unfavorable experiences, so I wanted to applaud this staff and facility.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willypickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiewoodstock, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear willypickle,

Taking note of your past experience(s) with Holiday Inns, we appreciate you giving Holiday Inn brand another opportunity show our excellent service. We understand that after having a bad experience at another Holiday Inn; returning to the same brand requires a leap of faith in hopes that it will meet and exceed your expectations. Our staff was very pleased knowing that we were able to make this experience a positive one that you will now consider Holiday Inn brand in the future. We look forward to serving you in the future should your travels bring you to Woodstock again.

Thank you again,
Guest Service Team
Guest Service Is Our #1 Priority!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodstock
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
14.6 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 4 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
14.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Intown Luray
13.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Strasburg Shenandoah Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley

Property: Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley
Address: 1130 Motel Drive, I-81 Exit 283, Woodstock, VA 22664
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Shenandoah County > Woodstock
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Woodstock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Award Winning Holiday Inn Express Woodstock-Shenandoah Valley is conveniently located in the heart of the Shenandoah Valley. The Hotel provides spacious contemporary guest rooms with flat-screen LED TV free Wi-Fi, a work desk and arm chair. Decorated with mahogany furniture, the rooms also have a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. Additionally this Hotel features an outdoor pool, well-equipped gym and on-site guest laundry. For a special occasion our two room presidential suites features a private bedroom with a full size Jacuzzi and a king size bed and a separate living area. Enjoy the complimentary Express Start® HOT breakfast which includes but not limited to Signature Cinnamon rolls, fresh pancakes in a "Minute," egg items (Scrambled eggs or cheese omelets), meat items (Sausage or bacon), Sausage grave & Biscuit and many more selections. Guests can unwind and relax in our large lobby by the fireplace; watch your favorite shows and games on our large LCD TV, read, play board games or just "kick back" with family and friends. For business travelers we also offer a 24-hour business center with fax and copy services to ensure that your business doesn't miss a step while you're on the road.Leisure travelers staying in our Woodstock, VA, hotel will find all the majesty of the Shenandoah Valley at their fingertips. Historic Downtown Woodstock is just one mile away. Within short driving distance you will be able to visit nearby Bryce Ski and Golf Resort, Luray Caverns, Shenandoah Caverns, Market Battlefields State Historical Park, Skyline Drive in the Shenandoah National Park, the Shenandoah Valley Music Festival and five wineries. Massanutten Military Academy is few minutes from Woodstock Holiday Inn Express. Shenandoah County Fairgrounds is within walking distance. At the Holiday Inn Express – Woodstock Guest service is our #1 priority! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley Hotel Woodstock
Holiday Inn Woodstock
Woodstock Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing