We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley
Nearby Hotels
$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn(Woodstock)
$89
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
$65
EconoLodge
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Strasburg(Strasburg)
$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
Fairfield Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (510)
Filter reviews
510 results
Traveler rating
317
142
32
6
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
317
142
32
6
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspancake machinethe breakfast areacinnamon rollssausagefast foodroom was cleanbreakfast attendantoutdoor poolvery pleasant stayoff the highwaymorning breakfastfront desk staffyogurttraveling southstaff was friendlyhot breakfastnight's rest
Filter
Updating list...
406 - 411 of 510 reviews
Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Clean and there is truck parking and the people are great, the room is clean the bed is comfortable their is a 7-11 near by, there is a gym, a pool, the lobby is spacious and there is free wi-fi; I get to do a 34 hour restart anywhere in the country and I hope I get to do it here everytime

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Titotime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiewoodstock, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear Titotime,

It seems in your profession you get to stay at many hotels during your travels and ranking us on the top of your list by saying that you “hope I get to do it here everytime” means a lot to our team. We're glad to know you have enjoyed the amenities at our hotel including our fitness center, outdoor pool, and complimentary wi-fi. In future if you need bigger offsite fitness facility, please ask for the Anytime Fitness pass (located less than a mile), which is free to use for hotel guest. We are not a truck stop but have ample truck parking (that is safe) for guest like you. Thank you for your continued loyalty as our returning guest. We look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,
Guest Service Team
Guest Service Is Our #1 Priority!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Before heading to DC, we stopped by the area to see some of the local caverns. The rooms were clean and the breakfast is typical Holiday Inn Express. Usual, the room did not have a closets with doors, just a clothes rack when you walked into the room. The woman who serviced the breakfast area was friendly and accommodating (even to the gentleman who came in right as she was closing up). Minus, this hotel is literally off the highway and you can smell the exhaust of the vehicles walking around the parking lot and in the elevators. There is not a lot as far as dining around the hotel, mostly fast food. Plus, there are several caverns within a 20 minute drive including Skyline Drive which offers breathtaking views of the valley at up to 3k+ feet heights. I have been to several Holiday Inn Express, this one is just ok.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiewoodstock, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear RBabe,

We are only 100 miles from DC and happy to see you got some site seeing done during your trip to DC area. Skyline Drive is the “gem” of Shenandoah Valley and the famous Luray Caverns are unique and one of kind in the nation. Both minutes from the hotel.

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, happy to hear you had good experience during breakfast. We are surrounded by many fast food restaurants but also have good variety (Steakhouse, Mexican, Italian, Tavern, Asian, Greek and Café) of about 15 dine-in restaurants within 2 mile radius, some also with delivery options. Next time please ask our front desk agent for listing, some also offer discounts to our hotel guests.

Hope you get to experience some dine-in restaurants during your next stay with us.

Sincerely,
Guest Service Team
Guest Service Is Our #1 Priority!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Great hotel. Very nice atmosphere within hotel. Great views! Clean and very comfy. Great breakfast.

Awesome staff! They were amazing.

My only complaints were that they ran out of the cribs and since we booked during a very busy time and that breakfast seating was limited. Also the price of the room was very high.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiewoodstock, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear Suzy H,

We're happy knowing you were comfortable and that you found our staff to be "awesome" and "amazing"! We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience it caused you to not have a crib available during your stay. Because of your experience, we will take into consideration having a few extra cribs on hand so they are readily available during our busy times. We apologize for limited seating during busy times in our breakfast area. In closing, we would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and to bring these issues to our attention so we are able to correct them. It is our hope that if you return to the Woodstock area that you will stay with us again!

Sincerely,
Guest Service Team
Guest Service Is Our #1 Priority!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed in king, nonsmoking room for 89.95 & tax including hot cont. breakfast.Quiet room, flat screen tv, wireless, micro, fridge, coffee maker, desk, table, easy chair & ottoman, plenty of lights and quiet heater. Staff even called room to make sure all ok. Lots of fast food restaurants nearby. Hotel accessible off exit 283, 81S is a bit congested but would definitely go back. Note: I used to go to Holiday Inns and switched to Hampton Inns due to some unfavorable experiences, so I wanted to applaud this staff and facility.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank willypickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiewoodstock, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Dear willypickle,

Taking note of your past experience(s) with Holiday Inns, we appreciate you giving Holiday Inn brand another opportunity show our excellent service. We understand that after having a bad experience at another Holiday Inn; returning to the same brand requires a leap of faith in hopes that it will meet and exceed your expectations. Our staff was very pleased knowing that we were able to make this experience a positive one that you will now consider Holiday Inn brand in the future. We look forward to serving you in the future should your travels bring you to Woodstock again.

Thank you again,
Guest Service Team
Guest Service Is Our #1 Priority!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Whenever we are traveling 81 through VA. and need to stop for the night this is where we stay. Have always had good luck with this hotel. Very quite and clean. The beds are just right. Also as hotels breakfast's go this is one of the better one's. Usually stay here twice a year.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiewoodstock, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Dear Jay S,

We are happy to know that you have always enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your continued loyality as our regular guest returning to our property twice a year. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,

Guest Service Team
Guest Service Is Our #1 Priority!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews