We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truck friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Woodstock
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Truck friendly”
Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Clean and there is truck parking and the people are great, the room is clean the bed is comfortable their is a 7-11 near by, there is a gym, a pool, the lobby is spacious and there is free wi-fi; I get to do a 34 hour restart anywhere in the country and I hope I get to do it here everytime

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Titotime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiewoodstock, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Titotime,

It seems in your profession you get to stay at many hotels during your travels and ranking us on the top of your list by saying that you “hope I get to do it here everytime” means a lot to our team. We're glad to know you have enjoyed the amenities at our hotel including our fitness center, outdoor pool, and complimentary wi-fi. In future if you need bigger offsite fitness facility, please ask for the Anytime Fitness pass (located less than a mile), which is free to use for hotel guest. We are not a truck stop but have ample truck parking (that is safe) for guest like you. Thank you for your continued loyalty as our returning guest. We look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,
Guest Service Team
Guest Service Is Our #1 Priority!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    130
    30
    6
    12
See reviews for
165
160
29
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Before heading to DC, we stopped by the area to see some of the local caverns. The rooms were clean and the breakfast is typical Holiday Inn Express. Usual, the room did not have a closets with doors, just a clothes rack when you walked into the room. The woman who serviced the breakfast area was friendly and accommodating (even to the gentleman who came in right as she was closing up). Minus, this hotel is literally off the highway and you can smell the exhaust of the vehicles walking around the parking lot and in the elevators. There is not a lot as far as dining around the hotel, mostly fast food. Plus, there are several caverns within a 20 minute drive including Skyline Drive which offers breathtaking views of the valley at up to 3k+ feet heights. I have been to several Holiday Inn Express, this one is just ok.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiewoodstock, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear RBabe,

We are only 100 miles from DC and happy to see you got some site seeing done during your trip to DC area. Skyline Drive is the “gem” of Shenandoah Valley and the famous Luray Caverns are unique and one of kind in the nation. Both minutes from the hotel.

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, happy to hear you had good experience during breakfast. We are surrounded by many fast food restaurants but also have good variety (Steakhouse, Mexican, Italian, Tavern, Asian, Greek and Café) of about 15 dine-in restaurants within 2 mile radius, some also with delivery options. Next time please ask our front desk agent for listing, some also offer discounts to our hotel guests.

Hope you get to experience some dine-in restaurants during your next stay with us.

Sincerely,
Guest Service Team
Guest Service Is Our #1 Priority!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Great hotel. Very nice atmosphere within hotel. Great views! Clean and very comfy. Great breakfast.

Awesome staff! They were amazing.

My only complaints were that they ran out of the cribs and since we booked during a very busy time and that breakfast seating was limited. Also the price of the room was very high.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiewoodstock, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Suzy H,

We're happy knowing you were comfortable and that you found our staff to be "awesome" and "amazing"! We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience it caused you to not have a crib available during your stay. Because of your experience, we will take into consideration having a few extra cribs on hand so they are readily available during our busy times. We apologize for limited seating during busy times in our breakfast area. In closing, we would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and to bring these issues to our attention so we are able to correct them. It is our hope that if you return to the Woodstock area that you will stay with us again!

Sincerely,
Guest Service Team
Guest Service Is Our #1 Priority!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed in king, nonsmoking room for 89.95 & tax including hot cont. breakfast.Quiet room, flat screen tv, wireless, micro, fridge, coffee maker, desk, table, easy chair & ottoman, plenty of lights and quiet heater. Staff even called room to make sure all ok. Lots of fast food restaurants nearby. Hotel accessible off exit 283, 81S is a bit congested but would definitely go back. Note: I used to go to Holiday Inns and switched to Hampton Inns due to some unfavorable experiences, so I wanted to applaud this staff and facility.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willypickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiewoodstock, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear willypickle,

Taking note of your past experience(s) with Holiday Inns, we appreciate you giving Holiday Inn brand another opportunity show our excellent service. We understand that after having a bad experience at another Holiday Inn; returning to the same brand requires a leap of faith in hopes that it will meet and exceed your expectations. Our staff was very pleased knowing that we were able to make this experience a positive one that you will now consider Holiday Inn brand in the future. We look forward to serving you in the future should your travels bring you to Woodstock again.

Thank you again,
Guest Service Team
Guest Service Is Our #1 Priority!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Whenever we are traveling 81 through VA. and need to stop for the night this is where we stay. Have always had good luck with this hotel. Very quite and clean. The beds are just right. Also as hotels breakfast's go this is one of the better one's. Usually stay here twice a year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiewoodstock, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Jay S,

We are happy to know that you have always enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your continued loyality as our regular guest returning to our property twice a year. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,

Guest Service Team
Guest Service Is Our #1 Priority!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I am from Woodstock and moved away years ago.. I come back often to visit my family and friends .. I will have to say choosing to stay here was the best choice ever.. We stay here now every time we visit.. Our room is always clean.. Quiet.. And oh so so comfy.. I actually stay so often because the service is so great, and rooms are so awesome, I have asked them to just make the room our very own...LOL The breakfast bar is phenomenal.. The sweet little lady does a great job keeping everything neat, clean, and hot.. All the ladies and young gentleman at front desk are always courteous and friendly, the cleaning staff are awesome and will always keep you supplied with anything you need.. Just ask.. :) I can't say I have experienced any other service like it..

If you are traveling through Woodstock and need a place to stay this is your stop.. Prices are right, location is prestige, staff and rooms are beyond awesome and accommodating.. And for a complimentary breakfast you can't beat it.. You bet your bottom I will always stay here when I come home to visit.. The stay is just to nice not too.. :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiewoodstock, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Karen S,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experiences at our hotel! We are thrilled to hear about the excellent service you have constantly recieved when staying with us! It's also nice to hear that you are so comfortable with us that you feel at home in a particular room. When possible we will do our best to block that room especially for you in the future. We are looking forward to seeing you soon!

Sincerely,
Guest Service Team
Guest Service Is Our #1 Priority!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

ive stayed here 3 or 4 times and always get good service ,and friendly staff, rooms are clean and modern, but mostly fast food nearby, byt still worth the stay , lots of parking, breakfast had good variety and was kept fresh.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frtliner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiewoodstock, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear frtliner,

Thank you for taking the time to share your good experiences at our hotel! While there are many fast food restaurants surrounding us if you're looking for a change you may enjoy a small Italian restaurant called the Italian Touch which is also within walking distance or they can deliver to your room as well. If you are willing to drive less than two miles, we have two nice steak, rib and seafood restaurants (Joe’s Steakhouse and Springhouse Tavern). There is also Asian, Mexican and Italian restaurants within few miles. Menus are available at the front desk. As our loyal guest, we are looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,
Guest Service Team
Guest Service Is Our #1 Priority!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodstock
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 4 in Woodstock
273 reviews
14.6 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Quality Inn Shenandoah Valley
14.5 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
14.5 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley

Property: Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley
Address: 1130 Motel Dr, I-81 Exit 283, Woodstock, VA 22664-1021
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Shenandoah County > Woodstock
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Woodstock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Award Winning Holiday Inn Express Woodstock-Shenandoah Valley is conveniently located in the heart of the Shenandoah Valley. The Hotel provides spacious contemporary guest rooms with flat-screen LED TV free Wi-Fi, a work desk and arm chair. Decorated with mahogany furniture, the rooms also have a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. Additionally this Hotel features an outdoor pool, well-equipped gym and on-site guest laundry. For a special occasion our two room presidential suites features a private bedroom with a full size Jacuzzi and a king size bed and a separate living area. Enjoy the complimentary Express Start® HOT breakfast which includes but not limited to Signature Cinnamon rolls, fresh pancakes in a "Minute," egg items (Scrambled eggs or cheese omelets), meat items (Sausage or bacon), Sausage grave & Biscuit and many more selections. Guests can unwind and relax in our large lobby by the fireplace; watch your favorite shows and games on our large LCD TV, read, play board games or just "kick back" with family and friends. For business travelers we also offer a 24-hour business center with fax and copy services to ensure that your business doesn't miss a step while you're on the road.Leisure travelers staying in our Woodstock, VA, hotel will find all the majesty of the Shenandoah Valley at their fingertips. Historic Downtown Woodstock is just one mile away. Within short driving distance you will be able to visit nearby Bryce Ski and Golf Resort, Luray Caverns, Shenandoah Caverns, Market Battlefields State Historical Park, Skyline Drive in the Shenandoah National Park, the Shenandoah Valley Music Festival and five wineries. Massanutten Military Academy is few minutes from Woodstock Holiday Inn Express. Shenandoah County Fairgrounds is within walking distance. At the Holiday Inn Express – Woodstock Guest service is our #1 priority! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley Hotel Woodstock
Holiday Inn Woodstock
Woodstock Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing