We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place-not expensive” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taste of Tandoor

Taste of Tandoor
Ranked #14 of 275 Restaurants in Woodbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Pakistani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Buffet, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good place-not expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2011

Was pleasantly surprised by the food taste, service and price. Recommend if not looking for the fanciest Indian restaurant.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank clunce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    36
    10
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
VA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not Authentic Indian”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2011

While the service and cleanliness of Taste of Tandoor is average, the food isn't even close to true Indian food. You'll find very "Americanized" Indian fare here.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, VA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Great value, location, food and service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

My family has been dining at this Woodbridge staple for years and the quality of the food and level of cleanliness and service has been consistently above other dining options in the area.

My two fickle, teenage daughter's actually look forward to dining at Taste of Tandoor!

The proprietor always makes his rounds to enquire about ones level of satisfaction and general well being!

As someone who likes red meat, I've enjoyed their salmon and lamb dishes!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank hayzeus29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Indian Food for Anybody”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

While the buffet does not have very many options, all of them are solid choices. This is my go-to place when I want something out-of-the-ordinary, but not something that will break the bank. I haven't had anything I haven't liked here yet. Try the tandoori chicken and the potatoes and you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waupaca, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
100 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Buffet was above average but could use more variety”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2011

Overall, for about $10, the buffet here is better than the one at the other Indian food restaurant in Woodbridge. Not to mention the atmosphere and cleanliness here is way better than the other place. I was out running errands before an appointment and knew from experience I could get in and out of Taste of Tandoor in an hour if I went with the buffet. It was 2:00; the weekend lunch buffet ended at 3:00.

The buffet comes with a large, freshly made naan, which is brought to your table a few minutes after you order the buffet. There is always lettuce salad available, but I usually skip it because it's straight out of a bag and nothing special. On the buffet today was pakora, rice, butter chicken, chicken tikka masala, mixed vegetables, spinach with potatoes, and lentils. There was a container for tandori chicken, but in the hour I was there, they never put any out. Several of the other containers were almost empty (there was a lot of sauce left in both of the chicken dish containers, but you had to search for the chicken). The chcken in both dishes was nearing the over done stage. From past experience, it was probably perfect when it was first placed in the warmer, but after a while, it was moving from tender to overdone. The pakora was very good, obviously fresh as the breading was tender and in no way greasy. The chicken sauces were good, with little to no grease. Considering there was supposed to be tandori chicken, I think substituting something else for at least one of the chicken dishes (goat, fish, pork, etc.) would be a good idea. The spinach with potatoes was very good (I added a bit of salt to my portion); I didn't try the mixed vegetables, and the lentils (Dal) was average (for some reason it was the only item on the buffet that wasn't hot, just barely lukewarm). The green chutney and raita (yogurt/cucumber sauce) were good. I also ordered a mango lassi, which was very good and quite refreshing. My water glass was always refilled promptly and my used plates and bowls were removed before I returned to the table after another visit to the buffet. There is also the common Indian dessert made from vermicelli; they serve their version cold. It was average, in my opinion.

Overall, I was disappointed in the choices and think when it gets close to the end of a buffet, the kitchen doesn't pay attention to the amount of food available to customers. When I was there, the restaurant was about 75% full. All of the booths were full as were several of the center tables. I believe everyone was eating from the buffet, so I think they should have more food out if they want return customers. As mentioned above, I would have liked some tandori chicken, but as with most buffets, I went back for more and then became full and forgot about asking someone about the tandori chicken.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bgonner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taste of Tandoor also viewed

Woodbridge, Prince William County
Woodbridge, Prince William County
 
Woodbridge, Prince William County
Woodbridge, Prince William County
 
Woodbridge, Prince William County
Woodbridge, Prince William County
 

Been to Taste of Tandoor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing