We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High Expectations”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Los Toltecos

Los Toltecos
Ranked #169 of 275 Restaurants in Woodbridge
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
230 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“High Expectations”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

I was very excited to see this restaurant come to the area. It looks very authentic and is in a good location. I was a little disappointed with the cuisine and haven't been back.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank psharpton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    10
    15
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2011

I had a "restaurant .com" coupon for a $25.00 discount on a check of $35.00 or more, so my wife and I decided to try Los Toltecos. As we walked up to the door we saw a notice that they would no longer accept the coupon after December 1st, 2011. Fortunately it was Nov 30, and they gladly accepted the coupon. Since most of their entrees are in the 10 to 14 dollar range I opted for a top shelf margarita and we got some queso for starters. The margarita was a 10 on a scale of 1 to 10. No crappy powder mix or watered down drink. Their bartender knows how to make a great drink!. I had a combination plate of enchiladas and chili reneo. It was excellent with high quality cheese and freshly made. My wife had the chicken fajitas. They were above average, not specatular, but better than your average corporate restaurant chain.

I complimented Noel the manager on the good food and fantastic margarita. Then asked why they stopped honoring the restaurant coupons.. He explained that too many people try to scam them. Some customers have come in and brought the coupon and ate the food then told the manager they didn't like the food. The management wants to make them happy and comps all or part of the meal (even after they ate it all), but then the customer insists on retaining the certificate for the discount so they can use it again.

This type of behavior cause the business to sour on the idea of honoring such a discount and ruins it for everyone. So if you are one of the folks doing this...."Stop It"... You are being a jerk and hurting a good business that provides quality food.

I'll be back whether they honor the coupon or not.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ejmonahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Ridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“What a nice surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2011

We didn't want to wait 30 minutes for a table at a nearby steak restaurant so on our way out of the parking lot, we thought "let's try that "new" Mexican restaruant" ~ "new" what, 2 years ago, maybe!? =) Anyway ~ we were quite surprised! the food was delicious, the service friendly and fast. There is a bar at the back that was well attended, but the front was all families. Try it ~ you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank momworkdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Toltecos also viewed

Woodbridge, Prince William County
Woodbridge, Prince William County
 
Woodbridge, Prince William County
Woodbridge, Prince William County
 

Been to Los Toltecos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing