We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Ok for guys to go to lunch” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Smokey Bones

Smokey Bones
Ranked #28 of 271 Restaurants in Woodbridge
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: 703-491-0390
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Ok for guys to go to lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

The service and the quality of the food are average. The large portions make it fine to go to lunch with the guys.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank 1LarryFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    44
    29
    22
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, OH, USA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good food, decent prices, average service.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

I would give this restaurant 3.5 stars if I could--it was better than average, but I don't know if I would call it "very good".
A co-worker and I ate here on a Thursday evening. The restaurant was largely empty, which may have been caused by the snowy weather. The food was good and the prices were reasonable (about $12 for a two-meat combo). The service was average at best--most of the staff was hanging around talking in another part of the restaurant. With only a few people in each section, it wouldn't have been difficult for the server to be a little more attentive. Overall, not a bad experience, but certainly not as impressive as other Smokey Bones I have visited elsewhere.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank OH_Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAMILTON TWP NJ
Level Contributor
43 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

On our way home from our daughter's house in South Carolina we always stop in Woodbridge, Virginia overnight. We stayed at the Country Inn Suites. We went to Smokey Bones. We both ordered the beef brisket, it was like minute steak with bar-b-que sauce . The only thing that was good was the cornbread. Would never go back.

Helpful?
Thank CDHAMILTON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia, United States
1 review
“this place rocks!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

we love everything about this place ... and have been visiting it for years. The service is incredible - fast, personable and fun! The food is awesome (we've tried all of it - try the fried corn bread first!). The management is more friendly than any I've seen ... fav place for lunch to dinner ... have't tried the prime rib yet ... they do have a sandwich that is awesome, though - their savings program is awesome ... if you keep up with it, you usually get one meal free!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Blaze G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“How can you ruin a hamburger ?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

The restaurant is a chain which makes my dining experience surprising. I ordered a hamburger, which is a key item on their menu. They now feature custom burgers with various toppings. When you get right to the meat itself, it was loaded with fillers and tasted nothing like a genuine beef burger should. Bottom line is these burgers are not in the same league as say Chili's.
Its the first time I has a burger at this chain, and I cannot believe that corporate mgt. has settled on this quality level.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank derrick6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smokey Bones also viewed

Woodbridge, Prince William County
Woodbridge, Prince William County
 
Woodbridge, Prince William County
Woodbridge, Prince William County
 

Been to Smokey Bones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing