We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Pleasant Surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Osprey's Landing - CLOSED

Osprey's Landing
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Italian, American
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Clinton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We had a Groupon but my expectations were low based on the previous reviews. We were pleasantly surprised. From 5-8 there are buy 1 appetizer get 1 free, plus great drink specials.

The Angus sliders were excellent and the asparagus appetizer was good. The dinner salads are large - you can get a side salad too. My wife and I both had the Hangar steak. Both were cooked perfectly. It came with some autumn (root) vegetables which were very good and garlic mashed potatoes - Excellent steak. The mashed potatoes were just OK. Chocolate mousse was very good. Coffee below average.

Service was excellent. The manager came over a couple of times to fill-in while the server was busy. Let us try the grits (very good cheesy) and gave us menu suggestions. Very attentive and personable.

The dining room is a little bit on the loud side due to how open it is. The gas fireplace wasn't working but that would have added to the ambience.

We will definitely come back again! Overall very good. Great food and service.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tdogdunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    5
    2
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mount Vernon, Virginia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Food; Great Price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This restaurant is in the clubhouse of the golf course, and would be hard to find without GPS, especially at night, since there are no lights or signage. The menu is fairly ambitious, with items such as roasted skirt steak and asparagus frites. Desserts included baby brie with dried fruits and homemade ice cream. The sevice was a bit harried, but the place was full. The price points were very reasonable. We'll certainly go again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TomUSNA1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Still a disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This restaurants re-opened a couple of years ago. We who live in Belmont Bay were delighted to have at least one place to eat. The gratitude soon turned to abject disappointment. The menu was far too grandiloquent and the service was a disaster. We have tried the place three times since. The menu has improved. However, the service is just as bad if not worse.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Walker M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bettendorf, Iowa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A penalty for slow play”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Was visiting family who live walking distance from Osprey's, which is in the clubhouse of a golf course. Nice atmosphere and the food was good, but the service was dreadfully slow. We were one of two tables at 6:30 on a Tuesday and the waiter couldn't keep.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
309 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great Neighborhood Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Ate at Osprey's Landing yesterday for business lunch. The restaurant was clean, and the food was very good. We both enjoyed our lunch--one had the fruit salad, and the other had the small crabcake sandwiches with a salad. The salad was fresh and nicely dressed with balsamic vinagrette. I will definitely return and would like to try the Sunday brunch next time! Great find....

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lois6848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osprey's Landing also viewed

Occoquan, Prince William County
Woodbridge, Prince William County
 
Woodbridge, Prince William County
Woodbridge, Prince William County
 
Occoquan, Prince William County
Woodbridge, Prince William County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing