We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Beautiful local park” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Leesylvania State Park

Leesylvania State Park
Ranked #2 of 19 things to do in Woodbridge
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A beautiful park located on the Potomac River that offers historical sites and recreation facilities.
Parkesburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Beautiful local park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Nice playground, pleasant walking trails, picnic pavilions and tables, benches by the waterfront, gorgeous views of the bay/river. Freestone point is a nice, short uphill hike with lovely views of the water. My husband proposed to me on that hill! :)

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Spencer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    41
    10
    6
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

I live close to this park and come often. They have walking trails and points of history through out the park. It also has large multiple boat launching ramps to put all sizes of watercraft into the potomac. Lots of places with picnic tables and grills through out the part. A great place to spend the day. They also have camping areas if you want to pitch a tent and stay longer.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tinkydiddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Family Reunion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

We rented a pavillion by the water and had a wonderful family reunion here. The playground is very close for little kids and there is a nice pier you can walk out on. Great hiking trails too with a boat launch.

Helpful?
Thank ComeHeres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level Contributor
228 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Wildlife abounds”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

This park is awesome! Just driving through it, we saw a HERD of deer grazing along a hillside. We counted 26 deer in that one group. The boat launch area is great, as is all the picnic areas and hiking trails as well. This is one of my favorite parks to visit.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Miranda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Quiet and serene”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

A wonderfully quiet place to walk, sit and read, hike a trail, or just wander around, particularly during the week when there are fewer picnic goers.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank MarilynJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leesylvania State Park also viewed

Woodbridge, Prince William County
Woodbridge, Prince William County
 
Woodbridge, Prince William County
Triangle, Prince William County
 

Been to Leesylvania State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing