We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BATES MOTEL REVISITED Jacqui S” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Potomac Inn

Potomac Inn
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Potomac Inn
Ranked #16 of 16 Hotels in Woodbridge
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The BATES MOTEL REVISITED Jacqui S”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Recently, due to an Amtrak auto-train rescheduling I had the misfortune of having to stay
at the Rodeway Inn in Woodbridge Va. The first room we were given had a leaky toilet and smelled like a sewer. The second room was not much better. I was even looking forward to
having Norman come a put me out of my misery!!!

Room Tip: A room in another hotel would be wise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacqui S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    3
    1
    16
See reviews for
4
4
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

My family and I stayed here for a short time. I've never seen such a dirty hotel. The bathroom shower curtains and the tub were filled with black mold and mildew, there were visible roaches in the vents, the room smelled horrible, the showers went from hot to freezing cold constantly, there were people breaking into vehicles, the only thing for breakfast was toast and muffins along with watered down coffee, the man at the front desk was rude and the people staying next to us were having sex all night and the next morning for hours. I would not recommend this hotel at all.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank random233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

This hotel was absolutely filthy from top to bottom. I rented two rooms for my family for a 2 night stay for a fun filled(yeah,right) family trip to Washington, DC. This was spoiled by this 7 hour stay at a horrible, filthy, nasty, disgusting, dangerous location of a hotel. The continental breakfast was an absolute joke. There was no coffee. There was no food. Now for the room. The bedsheets had stains, pubic hairs on the headboard. The walls had holes. The bathroom was beyond dirty. The shower plumbing was separated from the wall. The lock on the door was apparently broken at some point as the door had visible damage from what looked like a break-in. After phone calls back and forth with the owner, I received no refund from them and a horrible experience for my family and a ruined trip for all of us. DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL EVEN IF IT IS THE LAST HOTEL WITH A ROOM IN THE STATE OF VIRGINIA. The hotel owner was not accomodating at all.

Room Tip: DO not stay here even if its the last hotel room on the face of the earth!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ketters36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Where to start? I have been in almost 200 hotels since '93. This was by far the worst.

Room 114:

- room phone was disconnected
- Hotel office is closed at night - have to go around the side of the building to talk to hotel clerk who is behind a sheet of protected glass
- deadbolt lock didn't work easily
- A/C did not function on a 100 plus degree afternoon - fell apart while I was trying to get it to work. Saw water on the floor beside it.
- no ironing board / iron
- no closet
- carpet was filthy, had to throw away my socks
- big bug in bathroom
- lights above headboard not hooked up
- my room key was rejected after 1st night's stay
- no refridgerator
- no Five Guys in the surrounding area (like advertised)
- Denny's was not adjacent to the hotel
- internet connection info not made available in room - had to call front desk using my cell phone
- this hotel is not near Potomac Mills - it's about 3-5 miles away from it

If you can afford it a few extra $, go for Sleep Inn.

Room Tip: - this hotel is not near Potomac Mills - it's about 3-5 miles away from it. If you can afford it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darcy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

My stay in wood bridge, Virginia I stayed at the rode hotel while I slept I got bit by bed bugs they put me in the room all the way in the back and it smelled of mold and dingy I would ask to be put further up front

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Usually I don't complain but I have 6 bites form bed bugs and strong reaction of my skin, even after three days I still have red inflamed spots. I had to search a new hotel at 2 am, it was terrible. Now I am scared and panic to stay in any hotel. The only good thing, thanks kayak I got my refund.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield Center, Connecticut
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

My wife and I and our dog were travelling to Weirsdale, Florida. We stayed at the Rodeway Inn our first night. Our goal was to get a good night's sleep following about 8 hours on the road. The inn is located on a busy road in Woodbridge, Virginia. Our room was on the small side despite the fact that one wall was completely mirrored. It created the illusion of a large room but that is all it was, an illusion. There was no fridge or microwave in the room. Ice and a vending machine were located in a separate building. A free continental breakfast is also provided. Check in was an ordeal, mainly due to the clerk on duty having problems entering the charge for our dog into the computer system. That occurred after having to wait about 20 minutes for the clerk to contact the Inn's owner to handle a situation with a guest who was in the lobby before I was. We were in the building closest to the road in a room facing the road. There was a lot of road noise all night long. I recommend asking for a room in the rear building furthest away from the highway. We were in the no smoking section of the inn. Many of the guests in this area were smokers. Consequently, they would congregate outside their rooms to smoke and converse. Not a problem but it is a problem when they do so after 10 PM. (There are no inside corridors in the building we were in) Guests were coming and going all hours of the night with the guest in the room next to us arriving back at 2:45 AM. Our room was about 2 to 3 feet from the parking area for our building, therefore, we heard every noise from the parking area. Breakfast was average and checkout went smoother than check-in. However, I did have to ask for a copy of the bill. If I did not ask for it, I would not have received it. The bill did not show the extra charge for our dog. All in all, this one night stay was on the pricey side, very noisy, rather sleepless and at best, the accomodations were average. I would not recommend this establishment to travellers.

Room Tip: If you do stay at the Rodeway Inn request a room in a rear building away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Woodbridge hotels
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn near Potomac Mills
Quality Inn near Potomac Mills
#13 of 16 in Woodbridge
3.5 of 5 stars 37 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sleep Inn, Potomac Mills
Sleep Inn, Potomac Mills
#8 of 16 in Woodbridge
4.5 of 5 stars 98 reviews
1.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Potomac Mills Woodbridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Potomac Mills/Woodbridge
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Woodbridge
Hilton Garden Inn Woodbridge
#1 of 16 in Woodbridge
5.0 of 5 stars 226 reviews
1.4 mi away
Residence Inn Potomac Mills Woodbridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Potomac Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Potomac Inn

Property: Potomac Inn
Address: 13964 Jefferson Davis Highway, Woodbridge, VA 22191
Location: United States > Virginia > Prince William County > Woodbridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 16 Hotels in Woodbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Potomac Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Potomac Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Woodbridge
Woodbridge Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing