We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel of my 20+ years of travelling....” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Potomac Inn

Potomac Inn
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Potomac Inn to your Saves list
Potomac Inn
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   13964 Jefferson Davis Highway, Woodbridge, VA 22191   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 16 Hotels in Woodbridge
Woodbridge, Virginia
1 review
“Worst hotel of my 20+ years of travelling....”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Where to start? I have been in almost 200 hotels since '93. This was by far the worst.

Room 114:

- room phone was disconnected
- Hotel office is closed at night - have to go around the side of the building to talk to hotel clerk who is behind a sheet of protected glass
- deadbolt lock didn't work easily
- A/C did not function on a 100 plus degree afternoon - fell apart while I was trying to get it to work. Saw water on the floor beside it.
- no ironing board / iron
- no closet
- carpet was filthy, had to throw away my socks
- big bug in bathroom
- lights above headboard not hooked up
- my room key was rejected after 1st night's stay
- no refridgerator
- no Five Guys in the surrounding area (like advertised)
- Denny's was not adjacent to the hotel
- internet connection info not made available in room - had to call front desk using my cell phone
- this hotel is not near Potomac Mills - it's about 3-5 miles away from it

If you can afford it a few extra $, go for Sleep Inn.

Room Tip: - this hotel is not near Potomac Mills - it's about 3-5 miles away from it. If you can afford it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darcy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

My stay in wood bridge, Virginia I stayed at the rode hotel while I slept I got bit by bed bugs they put me in the room all the way in the back and it smelled of mold and dingy I would ask to be put further up front

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Usually I don't complain but I have 6 bites form bed bugs and strong reaction of my skin, even after three days I still have red inflamed spots. I had to search a new hotel at 2 am, it was terrible. Now I am scared and panic to stay in any hotel. The only good thing, thanks kayak I got my refund.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield Center, Connecticut
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

My wife and I and our dog were travelling to Weirsdale, Florida. We stayed at the Rodeway Inn our first night. Our goal was to get a good night's sleep following about 8 hours on the road. The inn is located on a busy road in Woodbridge, Virginia. Our room was on the small side despite the fact that one wall was completely mirrored. It created the illusion of a large room but that is all it was, an illusion. There was no fridge or microwave in the room. Ice and a vending machine were located in a separate building. A free continental breakfast is also provided. Check in was an ordeal, mainly due to the clerk on duty having problems entering the charge for our dog into the computer system. That occurred after having to wait about 20 minutes for the clerk to contact the Inn's owner to handle a situation with a guest who was in the lobby before I was. We were in the building closest to the road in a room facing the road. There was a lot of road noise all night long. I recommend asking for a room in the rear building furthest away from the highway. We were in the no smoking section of the inn. Many of the guests in this area were smokers. Consequently, they would congregate outside their rooms to smoke and converse. Not a problem but it is a problem when they do so after 10 PM. (There are no inside corridors in the building we were in) Guests were coming and going all hours of the night with the guest in the room next to us arriving back at 2:45 AM. Our room was about 2 to 3 feet from the parking area for our building, therefore, we heard every noise from the parking area. Breakfast was average and checkout went smoother than check-in. However, I did have to ask for a copy of the bill. If I did not ask for it, I would not have received it. The bill did not show the extra charge for our dog. All in all, this one night stay was on the pricey side, very noisy, rather sleepless and at best, the accomodations were average. I would not recommend this establishment to travellers.

Room Tip: If you do stay at the Rodeway Inn request a room in a rear building away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seacoast, NH
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

I've never been compelled to fill out a review online before, but this is a warning for those individuals contemplating a stay at this establishment. There are far better choices in the area, however we got stuck during the snowstorm, very late at night...and were traveling with a dog and needed pet friendly lodging that was available at a late hour. For this alone, the hotel gets one star...beyond that, I don't have anything positive to say. My husband and I are both microbiologists, so germs actually DON'T bother us in any meaningful way. On the otherhand, blatant filth does...and we slept in our clothes and refused to bring our suitcases into the room since it just looked like a place that would be also bed bug friendly. HOWEVER WE DID NOT DETECT ANY BED BUGS WHATSOEVER. The walls were filthy, the bathroom shower had a used washcloth conveniently placed in the stall to welcome us to Hotel Skeevy. The folded towels had dirt marks and smudges. The shower head had a leak so that one stream pointed upwards, hit the ceiling and flooded the remainder of the bathroom. Grimy doesn't begin to describe the carpets. We put a towel on the floor for the dog to sleep on...even she seemed creeped out, and she has spent almost 13 years as a butt sniffer extraordinaire. We barely slept it was so gross, and both of us have stayed in hotels in developing nations that have offered more in the way of cleanliness. I don't blame the staff or the manager, anyone is lucky to have a job nowadays, and those individuals can only do so much. The place is more than rundown and the hotel chain itself needs to come in and fumigate, refurbish and sanitize.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alsatian5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeHampton, Owner at Potomac Inn, responded to this review, January 14, 2011
First, I want to thank you for taking the time to submit your review of our hotel. Feedback from our guests is a vital part of prioritizing our renovations and operational improvements with our limited resources.

Second, let me apologize to you for not having met your expectations in the way of cleanliness or room condition. Clearly, we failed you in our effort to deliver a quality experience at the right price.

We will take steps to implement your suggestions and hope that you will try us again some day. We are proud of our little hotel and strive to please all our guests.

As a token of our sincere apology, feel free to submit a request for a full refund.

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010

Well we stayed for the second time on the night of April 9th, 2010, the young man on duty when we pulled in was very acommadating a little nervouse but willing to please. We stay in the front like the last time. It was little nosiey with the Highway and Carnival across the street till about 11 or so then it quite down I had a pleasant night rest. We'll possibly be trying it again in Dec on the way South again. Really don't know about the return North only because of the traffic around DC . The minor problem was a draft under room 104 door which I reported when I left, hopefully will be taken care of on our return

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank johnnyrebell12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeHampton, Owner at Potomac Inn, responded to this review, September 24, 2010
On behalf of our hotel staff, I am writing to let you know how delighted we were to receive your kind words of praise.

Given the very nature of the hotel business, the hours are long and demanding. Day or night, good service depends upon people willing to give their very best at all times. That's why it's truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff’s efforts, and takes the time to say thank you.

We accommodate many guests each evening, and we strive to make their night's stay a satisfying one. The principal goal of our hotel is to provide dependable service to all of our guests at reasonable prices. But, it's only through their eyes that we can accurately assess the quality of the accommodations and services we provide.

Again, let me thank you for your kind words. We're committed to total guest satisfaction, and we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2009

I was up for a weekend family reunion during the Thanksgiving weekend. this facility was clean, close and convenient. This is my second stay there (first was my Cousins Wedding in July) and I would include this motel in my future travels to Virginia.


Thank you

Edwin S.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank salsa_Eddie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeHampton, Owner at Potomac Inn, responded to this review, September 24, 2010
On behalf of our hotel staff, I am writing to let you know how delighted we were to receive your kind words of praise.

We accommodate many guests each evening, and we strive to make their night's stay a satisfying one. The principal goal of our hotel is to provide dependable service to all of our guests at reasonable prices. But, it's only through their eyes that we can accurately assess the quality of the accommodations and services we provide.

Again, let me thank you for your kind words. We're committed to total guest satisfaction, and we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Woodbridge hotels
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn near Potomac Mills
Quality Inn near Potomac Mills
#12 of 16 in Woodbridge
3.5 of 5 stars 24 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Woodbridge
Hilton Garden Inn Woodbridge
#1 of 16 in Woodbridge
5.0 of 5 stars 121 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sleep Inn, Potomac Mills
Sleep Inn, Potomac Mills
#5 of 16 in Woodbridge
4.5 of 5 stars 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Potomac Mills Woodbridge
2.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Near Potomac Mills
1.4 mi away
Residence Inn Potomac Mills Woodbridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Potomac Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Potomac Inn

Address: 13964 Jefferson Davis Highway, Woodbridge, VA 22191
Location: United States > Virginia > Prince William County > Woodbridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 16 Hotels in Woodbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Potomac Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Potomac Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Woodbridge
Woodbridge Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing