We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful evening!”
Review of Bistro L'Hermitage

Bistro L'Hermitage
Reserve with OpenTable
Bistro L'Hermitage is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 279 Restaurants in Woodbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Old Bridge Road
Level Contributor
121 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“What a wonderful evening!”
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Excellent food, friendly and knowledgable staff, beautiful decor. Can't wait to go back for our next special occasion. The filet was perfection. As was the creme brûlée. Well worth every penny.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank landpilots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    328
    79
    13
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Park Ridge
Level Contributor
139 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“An unexpected second visit and still a wonderful place”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Due to an unexpected incident while driving to Myrtle Beach, SC, we wound up here for dinner. It was our second visit to this restaurant. As before, the service was exemplary and the food was unique, delicious and perfectly prepared. Yes, it is pricey, but you are eating at a very upscale restaurant outside of Washington, DC that obviously counts within it's customer base some people from the world of politics and the press.

They keep up and maintain their food and service standards. This is a place not to miss if you are in the area.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bnj1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Romantic restaurant retreat!!”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Bistro l'Hermitage is perfect for a romantic date night! The beef bourguignon is delectable & the creme brûlée sweeter than an after dinner kiss!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hollyfsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia, Virginia
Level Contributor
494 reviews
296 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“Like being in the French countryside”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

A year ago my daughter and her boyfriend treated me to a birthday dinner here, and this year my husband and I decided to return on our own to celebrate it again. This year's visit was as special as last year's.
I started with a soup special, potato, leek, and mussel soup which was delicious. The mussels were cooked perfectly and worked well with the pureed leeks and potaoes. My main course was the combination lobster tail and beef tenderloin with scalloped potatoes and sauteed spinach. The food combinations were lovely, and I especially enjoyed the lobster sauce that came with the tail. The entree could have easily served two people, and I took half of it home to enjoy the next day.
Although we have other favorite French restaurants in the area (L'Auberge in Great Falls, La Bergerie in Alexandria), Bistro Hermitage is a closer drive for us, and they do a nice job with every dish we've tried. The atmosphere reminds us of some of the restaurants we've happened upon while driving in the French countryside: welcoming decor, friendly staff, and good wholesome food. As others have relayed, service is top notch. Two male hosts greeted us upon arrival and took us to a side room as a fairly large group was seated in the main room next to the bar. We liked the cozy and fairly quiet atmosphere of the side room, especially for a birthday celebration. The staff did a great job of placing people in areas of the restaurant based on the occasion they were there for.
Our waiter was friendly, relaxed, and competent. He helped us pick a wine, which turned out to be an excellent cabernet sauvignon from Argintina- not a wine I's normally pick in a French restaurant, but it was as outstanding as any French wine I've tried.
Bringing out creme brulee with a candle in addition to the bana crepe I ordered for dessert was a bit over the top, but I'm not going to complain about getting a fabulous free dessert in addition to the fabulous dessert I ordered! The creme brulee made a great treat a coupe days later.
We're looking forward to a return visit in the future.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Top notch experience”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We ate at Bistro L'Hermitage for a special occasion and it was a fine dining experience. The decor was superb, the service was great, and the quality of the food was exceptional. This is the best french restaurant for many miles, and may be the best restaurant overall in the Woodbridge/Occoquan area. An authentic French restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ulamalula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro L'Hermitage also viewed

Occoquan, Prince William County
Great Falls, Fairfax County
 
Occoquan, Prince William County
Vienna, Fairfax County
 

Been to Bistro L'Hermitage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing