We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will not stay there again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Of Wise
Ranked #1 of 2 Wise B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Will not stay there again!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

The service was good, clean for a hotel I guess. However when I woke up I would have a bite on my arm, legs, head, and hand! I have 4 or 5 bites on myself. I'm not quite sure what bit me but I suggest you inspect. I have to clean my clothes, shoes, and luggage to make sure I do not spread it in my home. This situation was completely avoidable!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank notavalible00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    56
    21
    4
    5
See reviews for
75
15
17
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milton, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

Due to allergies my husband requires a non smoking room. The only non smoking room available was for a single night and we needed a room for two nights. The room was comfortable and very clean. Staff was super friendly. Wish we could have stayed the second night.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheColliers09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
116 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

This hotel turned out to be much better than expected. This was my first time actually staying in Wise even though I had been in the area for business purposed a couple of times. I had actually stayed in Norton, VA on those previous trips.

I believe that this property has been recently renovated. I am not sure exactly how old the hotel is. But my room definitely had been repainted recently ( bathroom in particular). Also, the bedding was not very worn. I thought the quality of the bed was better than average--always a big plus or minus for me when I travel. When I travel, I desire a good night's rest.

The service at the hotel was good. Check-in and check-out was super fast. The front desk folks always were able to answer my questions. The breakfast area was very small. I did not eat the continental breakfast so I can't comment.

The location is okay--just off of Highway 23 and next to the McDonalds and Renos Steakhouse. Did not hear a lot of outside noise or traffic.

No real problems with anything in the room. I would say that the internet (free of charge) was a little slower than many places I have stayed. If you want to watch some online services like Netflix, you may have some issues with connection speed. Room was clean.

Decent TV's in the room if this is a concern for you. They did have several HD channels.

All in all, I had a pleasant stay at this Best Western. If I am ever in the Wise area again, I definitely would stay here if the price was okay. For this stay, I got a decent rate and was not disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milbs_40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

Stayed in the mountains in the fog/rain.......an oasis from driving....clean. Comfy. Friendly....pretty area with an unexpected experience. Would go back without anyhesitation. Breakfast area neat and clean. Well lit parking... Bed very comfy...good strong shower..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
167 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed here when I needed to spend a night in the area for work because it is the only hotel in Wise (that I am aware of). The staff when I called to reserve a room and at check-in were friendly and quick.

The room was standard size for this type of hotel and clean though it could use a refreshing. The desk provided was very small - barely enough room to set up my laptop and mouse. There was only one wall outlet anywhere near the desk, which was also near the fridge, microwave, and a lamp. Since there was only one outlet, you could only have two of those three things plugged in at once. Add the fact that the desk is also there where someone would obviously want to plug in a laptop and possibly a charger, it made for a rather inconvenient dance of the power cords since each time I needed to plug something in I had to choose something else to unplug. At one point, the handle to the bathroom door fell off in my hands when I shut the door. These were the only issues I had with the room.

The breakfast was sufficient (waffle maker, yogurt, frozen sausage biscuits, cereals, doughnuts/bagels), but there was no fruit at all, which I found a little odd. The hotel also has a fitness room and an indoor pool, but I did not use either of these so I can't really comment.

All-in-all, it was fine for a one-night stay and I would definitely return next time I need to stay in Wise, but if I were staying for an extended period, I would probably try to find somewhere else nearby. Also, the rates for this hotel are a little too pricey for the quality that is provided.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swacer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

On a business trip and was booked into the hotel. Based on previous travel through the region, I didn't have high expectations. I was very pleasantly surprised by the quality of the room and the stay. The staff was very friendly and easily helped a business partner sign up for their rewards program. Quality sleep and stay. Great value for the money!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville KY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

Let me start off by saying Nick is the greatest! We were there for my Grandma's funeral and Nick took care of all the Relatives that came in. The pool is perfect for kids and big kids alike. Our room is always spotless and the breakfast bar is not bad for what you pay for the room. Plenty of parking and places to shop or eat nearb. The staff is the most caring staff I have seen in a while. When we come to this area to seemly family, I won't stay anywhere else.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank KyTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at BEST WESTERN Of Wise, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear KyTiger,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us of your satisfaction with our accommodations and service during your recent visit at our hotel. We certainly enjoyed having you with us.

We consider dedicated and competent staff members our most valuable asset. Our staff was pleased that you acknowledged their efforts.

We appreciate your patronage and hope that you will stay with us at the Best Western Plus of Wise the next time you are in Wise. We look forward to your return.

Sincerely,

Quinn Bowling
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wise
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Norton
Holiday Inn Norton
#2 of 4 in Norton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
2.4 mi away
Days Inn Norton VA
Days Inn Norton VA
#3 of 4 in Norton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
11.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 2 in Big Stone Gap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Clintwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Inn at Wise
The Inn at Wise
#2 of 2 in Wise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
2.3 mi away
Super 8 Norton VA
Super 8 Norton VA
#1 of 4 in Norton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Of Wise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Of Wise

Property: BEST WESTERN Of Wise
Address: 124 Woodland Dr SW, Wise, VA 24293-4622
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Wise
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Wise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Of Wise 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Best Western, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Of Wise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing