We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Mountain Course”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: At almost 4,000 feet, the highest golf course in the state of Virginia is known for cool summer temperatures and challenging plays.
Naples, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Interesting Mountain Course”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Devils Knob is a very well maintained mountain course in the Wintergreen, VA ski resort. As would be expected, the course has a number of elevation changes being on the mountain. Also as to be expected, because this is primarily a ski resort there are a number of homes and condos lining the course. The course is rather short and tight, so driver is really not needed. I found the course to be very well maintained, but in the end I really prefer a more open course (a course with more land available to plot the holes). Putting is difficult because of the various elevation changes that are not always obvious while standing on the on the greens.

Bottom line...it's a nice course given what was there to work with....not my particular cup of tea however...

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank iel76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    8
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Awesome...Close to Pinehurst N.C.”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Top notch...greens perfect along with the fairways...rough was high due to rain and we lost some balls...oh well...Very nice day with my son...priceless;>

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank nuttoson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Va
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Golf”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Enjoyed this course and the other course on several occasions. We always enjoy going there and have brought friends on several occasions.

Helpful?
Thank booksVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Can't wait to play it again”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

The only negative thing I can say about Devil's Knob is that this is only the second time I have played this mountaintop gem. But that is my fault. Conditions in 2013 look to be as perfect as they were last year. The greens were said to be about "two weeks away"...they were the best greens I've putted on since I last played here. This place is top shelf! If there is a better golfing experience around I haven't found it yet.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JamMassaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great golf course in the clouds”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is my favorite golf course near my home in Charlottesville. Immaculte fairway, excellent greens, and breathtaking views. Leave your driver in the bag--course is rather short with lotsa doglegs. It will bite you though so bring plenty of balls. You will return--guaranteed.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CvilleMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Devils Knob Golf Course at Wintergreen Resort also viewed

 

Been to Devils Knob Golf Course at Wintergreen Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing