We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic getaway, but skip the spa”
Review of Wintergreen Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wintergreen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wintergreen Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wintergreen
Certificate of Excellence
South Riding, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A fantastic getaway, but skip the spa”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

My husband and I went to Wintergreen for our 10-year wedding anniversary. Despite it raining nonstop the entire time, we love it. The people are friendly, and the natural beauty is breathtaking, even when raining. We loved hiking, and the food was great. Our condo/townhouse was the perfect size and in great condition. The huge, sprawling property made you feel like you had the place to yourself. It wasn't crowded, and the value was great for the price. The only downside was the Spa. The therapists did not have good technique, and the price was way too high for the quality of the service provided. We will definitely be going back, but will be skipping the spa. The bed was pretty uncomfortable as well.

Room Tip: Skip the spa, but everything else is pretty awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mandy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_Wintergreen, Director of Lodging at Wintergreen Resort, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Mandy P,

Thank you for providing feedback from your recent stay with us. We are so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay . I am sorry to hear that the Spa experience did not meet your expectation. I would welcome the opportunity to discuss your experience in order to offer feedback to the manager and therapists. We take great pride in our resort and service and the amenities we have to offer our guest, and are pleased to read that we once again made a memorable experience for you. We look forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    119
    58
    35
    16
See reviews for
141
127
6
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We enjoyed staying at Wintergreen during the Labor Day week end. We got a great rate for a two night stay in a lodge unit. The unit was recently remodeled in warm, earthy tones. It had a small kitchen and a separate bedroom. The unit we were originally given didn't work for us, and the front desk quickly remedied the situation and moved us. All of our interactions with the front desk were very positive. Wintergreen has really stepped up customer service! We had a great week end enjoying the craft show, the bbq, and the local beers. The music was great too! We enjoyed our meals at The Edge. The food was good, and the views were fantastic. We also enjoyed drinks at the bar. Another plus for visiting Wintergreen is all of the wineries and breweries that are near by. We had lunch at the Blue Mountain Brewery on our way to Wintergreen. We enjoyed our beers and food. I really like Wintergreen, and even though I've never stayed in the winter, I think Wintergreen has lots to offer during all seasons.

Room Tip: Stay in a lodge room/unit and ask for a mountain view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ATravelingGirl09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_Wintergreen, Director of Lodging at Wintergreen Resort, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
ATravelingGirl09

Thank you for providing feedback from your recent stay with us. We are so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay . We take great pride in our resort and service and the amenities we have to offer our guest, and are pleased to read that we once again made a memorable experience for you. We look forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

I hosted an overnight event in early October that included a meeting, golf, spa treatments, fishing, and other services. The feedback I recieved from my guests was outstanding for the food, the service, and all the activities (especially the spa). This is my third year in a row doing this event and this feedback is consistent.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Enjoys_to_Travel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_Wintergreen, Director of Lodging at Wintergreen Resort, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Enjoys_to_Travel,

Thank you for providing feedback from your recent stay with us. We are so happy to read that you and your group enjoyed your stay once again. We take great pride in our resort and service and the amenities we have to offer our guest, and are pleased to read that we once again made a memorable experience for you. We look forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, PA
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

My family of three stayed in a compact but well decorated "easy access" condo for two days. Unfortunately the entire time we were there the fog and light rain were constant. This happens at the top of the mountain. But each day we drove...carefully down the zig zag road....to the valley and it was either just overcast or actually sunny. Nothing wintergreen can do about this but worth noting. Somewhat depressing environment. Maid service excellent at condo. Two problems we encountered: no cell reception and inconvenient grocery store hours. The former was frustrating but the later should be better handled by the resort. Out if frustration I went to the reception area to ask where I could obtain milk tea and sugar. I was told I could drive to waynesborough. That's 20 miles away on zig zag roads...at night. Wouldn't it be nice to have a few small items available at the desk for purchase? Service is important in any industry but your folks,for the most part, were flat faced

As

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank katlady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director_Wintergreen, Director of Lodging at Wintergreen Resort, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Katlady1,

Thank you for providing feedback from your recent stay with us. We have had our share of rain this year and in a mountain setting it can be a little depressing when the fog makes our property less visible . Cell coverage is spradic around the resort based on your carrier and we try and advise guests as best we can on this issue. I have passed on your comments regarding the options you had been given in regards to convenence items that you needed and how to assist the guest in obtaining them without having to drive off the mountain into the nearest town. I hope you will visit us again in the near future and see the resort in its wonderful fall color, We look forward to welcoming you back If I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me at 434-325-8212, Geoff Truslow, Director of Lodging
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Beautiful views of the Blue Ridge mountains. Stayed in the Mountain Inn. No elevators, lots of stairs, even in the condo itself. Very out-dated lodging with bathroom on main level and bedroom in a loft area (more stairs) on second level. Won't stay in a lodge room again. No hotel on the property. Best bet is to try to rent a newer, updated condo from someone you know there. The restaurant at the golf course is nice; the others are adequate. Nothing going on during the weekdays there; even the coffee shop is closed during the week. Not enough business.

Room Tip: All units are privately owned; so there is no way to choose a room. There are several ways to rent a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank TNLADY155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorofLodging, Director of Lodging at Wintergreen Resort, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear TNLady155,

Thank you for providing feedback from your recent stay with us. I apologize that the layout of the condo was not to your liking. You are correct that each individual unit is privatley owned that we manage and each are decorated to the owners taste. I have forwarded your comments to the appropriate department to review and then work diligently with our rental owners to update their condos to more modern themes and colors. We do appreciate your feedback and we use our customer responses to fix the things that we failed in to make yours and each guests a memorable one. I am happy to discuss your entire stay at your convenience if you would allow me the opportunity. You can contact me directly at 434-325-8212, Geoff Truslow, Director of Lodging.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Good place to stay our chalet was quite good (it was up for sale) but needed a bit of refurb. Daily maid service which was excellent. Yes it isn't a place to walk by the roads but there is a free bus which takes you anywhere in Wintergreen (over 3.500 ft above sea level) so roads to resort are really zigzag which they are re-laying. There are nature trails you can walk. Skiing holidays are very well catered for by what I can tell (am not a skiing person). Golf courses were very good (Stoney Creek I liked). Greens really fast!! Loads of wildlife binoculars are a must. Was disappointed as the lights outside our chalet and over half of the chalets were in darkness. I called reception twice, as it was so dangerous in the evening, but when we left after a week, still had not been sorted. I mentioned this to the front-line staff on leaving - but no response on their faces at all. Shame.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marion T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorofLodging, Director of Lodging at Wintergreen Resort, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Marion T,

Thank you for providing feedback from your recent stay with us. We are so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay . I will personally look into the outdoor lighting in and around our chalets so that they are well lit and do not cause safety concerns. I apologize that the lack of facial expression about your comments to the front desk were not taken serious. I will meet with them to understand the importance of customer feedback and appropriate actions that should be taken. We take great pride in our resort and service and the amenities we have to offer our guest, and are pleased to read that we once again made a memorable experience for you. We look forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

With so much competition in the resort business, Wintergreen is one you can miss for many reasons: 1) Funny smell in the rental condo; 2) Stores that maintain banker's hours; 3) Everything is spread out so you can't walk to the fitness center or spa unless you want to take your life in your hands; 4) Slow play on the golf courses - yes plan on 5 hours and start times no earlier than 9 am. I could go on... So save your money there are better alternatives.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lightblue3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorofLodging, Director of Lodging at Wintergreen Resort, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Lightblue3,

I want to thank you for your recent review of our resort and want to apologize that we did not meet your expectations throughout the resort in our lodging, golf, and shopping. I welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay with us so that we may meet all of our guests needs and expectations in the areas that you mentioned. Please contact me directly at 434-325-8212, Geoff Truslow, Director of Lodging
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wintergreen
12.9 mi away
Days Inn Waynesboro
Days Inn Waynesboro
#3 of 9 in Waynesboro
612 reviews
20.1 mi away
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
14.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Waynesboro / Stuarts Draft
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Waynesboro
Comfort Inn Waynesboro
#5 of 9 in Waynesboro
178 reviews
24.8 mi away
Boar's Head Resort
Boar's Head Resort
#8 of 35 in Charlottesville
912 reviews
11.8 mi away
Iris Inn
Iris Inn
#1 of 4 in Waynesboro
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wintergreen Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wintergreen Resort

Property: Wintergreen Resort
Address: Route 664, PO Box 706, Wintergreen, VA 22958
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Wintergreen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wintergreen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 242
Also Known As:
Wintergreen Hotel Wintergreen
Wintergreen Ski Resort Virginia
Wintergreen Resort Virginia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing