We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely disappointing - not a summer resort”
Review of Wintergreen Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wintergreen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wintergreen Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wintergreen
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Extremely disappointing - not a summer resort”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Traveling with a group of friends for a long weekend. Let me start with a positive item: The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The disappointments: Rooms are dated; You have to drive to everything. There is nothing at the main hotel. The only coffee available (before 9am) was at an independent market across the street. The Grist Mill coffee shop on the premises only opens on the weekend...are you kidding me? I have stayed at many hotels over the last couple of years and the coffee or tea was plentiful and free! Could not get a drink of ANY kind at the pool. The "concession" stand is only open "whenever the girl decides to show up". Is this a resort??? Too many rules at the pool. No floaties? Really? Kids play/gaming area closes at 6:00PM (even on the weekend) I'm guessing the bulk of their business is during the winter months, but if you are going to promote summer business, then they need to step up their game. We will not be returning.

Room Tip: Room 167 was the biggest of our group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mamarob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorofLodging, Director of Lodging at Wintergreen Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear mamarob1,

Thank you for providing feedback from your recent stay with us. I want to apologize that we did not meet your expectations or make your stay a memorable one. I have shared your review with our operations team to review their lines of business and operating hours so that our guests encounter positive experiences in our dining, lodging and recreation venues. I sure hope you give us the opportunity to show you that we do take our guests feedback serious and will return in the future. If I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    115
    57
    34
    16
See reviews for
137
123
6
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

My husband I recently stayed in the Mountain Inn at Wintergreen. We arrived without a reservation and the helpful desk staff found us a nice lodge room at a very good rate in the main building. The room had a small first floor kitchenette, sofa, easy chairs and a flat screen TV. The king bed and bathroom was on the second floor loft. The room and bath were clean, and the bed comfortable. The room was clean but the furnishings could use updating. All were in good shape, though.

Although the scenery is beautiful, and there are many hiking trails around the property, there is not much to do in summer if you don't golf. There are two courses, one on the mountain and one in the valley. There are also tennis courts in the valley. Wintergreen is clearly a winter ski destination with what appear to be easy-to-moderate slopes perfect for families with children.

We ate breakfast and dinner in the Copper Mine restaurant, a short walk from the Inn. Food and service were excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcella Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorofLodging, Director of Lodging at Wintergreen Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Marcellaz,

Thank you for providing feedback from your recent stay with us. We are so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay . We take great pride in our resort and service and the amenities we have to offer our guest, and are pleased to read that we once again made a memorable experience for you. We look forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

After reading some of the reviews of the condos in Wintergreen, I was leery of what we would be walking into. Other than the printout we were given that had the wrong room # on it (525 instead of 252) we finally figured out which one was our room. When we walked in, I was pleasantly surprised. The condo was lovely. A large tree right outside out balcony gave us privacy and quiet. I had called the reservation number directly since we had specific requests as far as the bedding and got exactly what we had requested. We were in Timbers2.

We ate at a different restaurant each night and never had a bad meal or service. It was a drive down the mountain to the two breweries but worth the trip. The Edge restaurant was great for families with kids.

We mostly did kid activities. Zip line, the Plunge, Putt-Putt, bungie jump, the pool, and the lake. The kids loved it all. Every staff member we encountered couldn't have been nicer. Never had to wait very long for any activity. Lake Monocan was quite a drive, but worth it. Every day there was thunder and all the activities are shut down 30 minutes for safety. The only disappointment we found was when the activities were shut down, the only thing to do was the Adventure Center (which was a fun place to spend time and cool off) and one day there was a YMCA summer camp there and we couldn't even get in the door, not to mention long lines for every activity, so we left. Best to get there when they first open.

The Blue Ridge Parkway was just down the road if you want some gorgeous views. A basketball court was behind our condo building which kept the kids busy when we needed a rest. (byo basketball). Hiking trails didn't seem to be very well kept but we didn't go too far.(if you are going to hike, bring bug spray!) There is a lot of hilly walking and stairs, but that made desserts at dinner less guilty!

We had a great time at Wintergreen and can't wait to go back.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank sandypaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorofLodging, Director of Lodging at Wintergreen Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear sandypaws

Thank you for providing feedback from your recent stay with us. We are so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay . We take great pride in our resort and service and the amenities we have to offer our guest, and are pleased to read that we once again made a memorable experience for you. We look forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed during the 4th of July weekend for four days in a two bedroom condo in Laurelwoods.
The condo could definitely use updating, and improved lighting, but it suited our needs. We took advantage of the tennis facilities, and had a great workout- instruction with Konstantyn. Dave and Jonathan remembered us from a previous visit. It was great learning new fast paced drills, and strategies. We later went on a hike to the upper Shamokin Falls, tough, but worth it. The pulled pork samwich at the Black Bear cafe is #1!!! We will definitely be back. Thanks again.

Room Tip: Get rooms higher up the mountain for newer facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarlLee105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorofLodging, Director of Lodging at Wintergreen Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear KarlLee105,

Thank you for providing feedback from your recent stay with us. We are so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and also how much you enjoyed the Tennis Instruction you received from our tennis staff. Your accomodations comments have been forwarded to the appropriate managers to assess the lighting and conditions of that particular unit. We take great pride in our resort and service and the amenities we have to offer our guest, and want to make sure guest expectations are met. We are pleased to read that it we once again made a memorable experience for you. We look forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We read that Wintergreen was under new ownership and it was being "updated". Not so. It was JUST THE WAY it looked in the 1980's when I was there for corporate team building. Seriously, the furniture and decor had not changed. We tried to make the best of it, but after eating horrid food in the restaurant, decided to drive back home.

We understand it is a winter resort but we have been to lovely ski resorts off season with great success.

Do not waste your time or money. I have asked for a refund and hopefully they will comply. But doubtful. They clearly need the money!

Room Tip: Choose your room or condo carefully. My guess is they are only interested in large groups, and indiv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 515sulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorofLodging, Director of Lodging at Wintergreen Resort, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear 515Sulu,
I would like to thank you for the review of your recent trip to Wintergreen. We pride ourselves in giving great service and to offer memorable experiences for all our guest including families, conference groups and social day guests. I want to apologize that during your 6 hour stay at the resort that our accommodations and your meal did not meet your expectations. I appreciated the opportunity you allowed me to discuss our new ownership and that our rentals are privately owned and our goal is and will continue to work with individual owners to upgrade their properties to meet our guest expectations.
Our restaurants offer a wide variety of options for our guest and include many items that meet our guest requirements.
I welcome the opportunity further discuss your concerns and how we could have made your visit better meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 27, 2013

My first trip to the wintergreen resorts. So many individual and cheaper options but we decided to go with Wintergreen resorts and it was the best decision that was made. We were about six people trying to relax for a weekend retreat in the mountains. The customer service and friendliness of the resort and all of its employees(restaurant staff and bartender, front desk staff, and back-end office staff) was superior to any five star i have been. Even when we had a small issue, it was fixed right away. The house was in great condition and we loved that we didn't have to get towels or worry about cleaning dishes when we left. It s a ski resort but in the summer i would call it a relaxing retreat in the mountains.

Room Tip: Get a house vs a condo if you want privacy. Condos have better valley views vs houses. For six peo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neel s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorofLodging, Director of Lodging at Wintergreen Resort, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Neel S,

Thank you for providing feedback from your recent stay with us. We are so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay . We take great pride in our resort and service and the amenities we have to offer our guest, and are pleased to read that it we once again made a memorable experience for you. Our individual homes provide more privacy for families that are here to relax and enjoy the resort and for families to be together. We look forward to welcoming you back and if I can be of any assistance in your future plans here at the resort, please do not hesitate to contact me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmetsburg, Iowa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

I needed a place where I could be quiet and relax. This was the place. The mountains are beautiful here. I felt very safe hiking and traveling alone around the resort.

I would like to come for a week next year and bring my friends!!

Room Tip: I had a room in the Timbers, studio facing the ski area. I enjoyed a quiet breakfast on the balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LOLBerti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorofLodging, Director of Lodging at Wintergreen Resort, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear LOLBerti,

Thank you for providing feedback from your recent stay with us. We are so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay . We take great pride in our resort and service and the amenities we have to offer our guest, and are pleased to read that it we once again made a memorable experience for you. We look forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wintergreen
12.9 mi away
Residence Inn Waynesboro
Residence Inn Waynesboro
#2 of 9 in Waynesboro
289 reviews
12.9 mi away
Days Inn Waynesboro
Days Inn Waynesboro
#3 of 9 in Waynesboro
594 reviews
14.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Waynesboro / Stuarts Draft
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Waynesboro Inn & Suites Conference Center
24.8 mi away
The Boar's Head
The Boar's Head
#9 of 35 in Charlottesville
848 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Mark Addy
The Mark Addy
#1 of 1 in Nellysford
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wintergreen Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wintergreen Resort

Property: Wintergreen Resort
Address: Route 664, PO Box 706, Wintergreen, VA 22958
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Wintergreen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wintergreen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 242
Also Known As:
Wintergreen Hotel Wintergreen
Wintergreen Ski Resort Virginia
Wintergreen Resort Virginia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing