We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blue Ridge Ski Council Retreat”
Review of Wintergreen Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wintergreen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wintergreen Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wintergreen
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Blue Ridge Ski Council Retreat”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Blue Ridge Ski Council had a great meeting hosted by Wintergreen in their conference center. This resort has great charm and was a great retreat along the Blue Ridge Parkway. The staff Ted and Steve gave us a recap of the improvements to the snow making capacity and offered that there is a ski club weekend on Jan. 5-6, 2013. My friend and our wives had a slope side unit that we rented on Eagle Court for the weekend. I am sure we will make plans to return in January for the ski club weekend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColumbiaSkiClubMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorofLodging, Director of Lodging at Wintergreen Resort, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear ColumbiaSkiClub,

Thank you for providing feedback from your recent stay with us. We are so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay . We take great pride in our resort and service and the amenities we have to offer our guest, and are pleased to read that we once again made a memorable experience for you. We look forward to welcoming you back in January to the resort, Happy Skiing .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    115
    57
    34
    16
See reviews for
137
123
6
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ellicott City, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We spent a summer week at the tennis academy primarily to escape the heat, humidity and bugs. Boy, did the whole experience exceed our expectations! The level of tennis instruction and friendliness of the staff were beyond our expectations, the full-service spa and pool were an unexpected bonus, as were the incredible views. The hiking trails are unbelievable and the Devils Knob course and outside patio dining were oustanding. The condo we stayed at was very spacious, clean, the bed comfortable and had gorgeous sunset views. For a tennis getaway - it was lovely to have a full size washer/dryer and kitchen. I'd like to stay up in the mountains all summer!!!

Room Tip: some condos are a few short steps from Devils knob dining, spa, knob golf and tennis,but some are fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TennisAnyTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorofLodging, Director of Lodging at Wintergreen Resort, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear TennisAnytime,

Thank you for providing feedback from your recent stay with us. We are so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay . We take great pride in our resort and service and the amenities we have to offer our guest, and are pleased to read that we once again made a memorable experience for you. We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
606 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We were aghast by the smell of our first condo- I finally found that it was an uncleared refrigerator...got another room without argument- it was ok smell wise, but the tiniest of a refrig and sink. The living area furniture was ripped and ? Smelly(the couch). The draperies were ripped in shreds in the lining - of course not sen when drawn, but in opening, I was worried that they would rip more! Unreal for nearly $200 for the night.
Quiet-no one around. We walked, saw views, tennis closed, we did not get to try the fitness center.
Idid not try the overpriced restaurant, but the gift shop had nice struck coffee.

Do not stay here unless you can be assured of seeing your lodging, first, with choices to change to, if needed...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scouternurse S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorofLodging, Director of Lodging at Wintergreen Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear kjchj,


Thank you for providing feedback from your recent stay with us. I would like to apologzize for not meeting your expectations here at Wintergreen Resort in your accomodations. We take great pride in our resort and service and the amenities we have to offer our guest, and are welcome our guest feedback to see h ow we need to improve on our product. I would be happy to discuss your visit so that we can make sure we are providing the best product and services that meet or exceed our guest expecations. I can be reached at 434-325-8212. We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

A summer time must to get a way from the high temps. Devils' Knob is a wonderful golf experience unlike any other. And the views from our condo were extremely sun rise friendly. We will do this again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamMassaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorofLodging, Director of Lodging at Wintergreen Resort, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear JamMassaJ,

Thank you for providing feedback from your recent stay with us. We are so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay . We take great pride in our resort and service and the amenities we have to offer our guest, and are pleased to read that we once again made a memorable experience for you. We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunkirk, Maryland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Wintergreen over a weekend as part of a two night summer special. We stayed in a 2 bedroom condo overlooking the mountain on Blue Ridge Drive. The accomdations were very clean and comfortable and views from the deck breathtaking. Having a full size kitchen was a plus and we took full advantage of the fireplace both nights. We also got good use out of our passports and took advantage of the wine tasting, pilates class, mini golf and the private lake. The indoor and outdoor pools were great also. Our only complaint was that the resort has no sidewalks and you have to be very careful walking around the resort. Most people drive everywhere. We would definately come back in the summer as the mountain air was 10 degree cooler than the valley.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a condo with a view - it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewTracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We booked two townhouses for a family reunion at the "book 3 stay 5 nights" package rate. The accommodations were comfortable and very adequate. Enjoyed the Spa and Aquatic and Fitness Center, especially the indoor pool because the weather was cool (75 - 80) as compared to the valley (85+). All of these areas were clean and well kept. Devil's Knob golf course was in excellent condition; warning - lost plenty of golf balls. Play at 3 pm or later there or at Stoney Creek for $30 less than regular rates. Used free guest admission at Lake Monocan. Small sandy beach and swimming area with trampoline tube and inflatable slide - everyone had a good time. Typical average conditions for a public lake area. Life jackets are required but available for free. Enjoyed a day of wine tasting and brewery visits along Rte 151. Ate dinner at the Wild Wolf Brewery; great for the whole family. Hiked up Crabtree Falls trail; it is rated a 2 out of 5 on difficulty. Trail conditions are good, but climb is tiring, plenty of poison ivy and came upon a timber rattlesnake. Would still do it again. If you want to enjoy the area, you need to be willing to drive up and down the entry road of 2-3 miles into the resort area. This is not a problem, just something to be aware of. Surprisingly, gasoline was less expensive at the resort than at other stations in the area. There is an IGA grocery store in Nellysford with reasonable prices.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TOM0505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoBoVa.
Level Contributor
146 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Here again for my jobs conference. Our condo was very clean and spacious. The beds where comfortable.The food was superb and the staff was so helpful and catered to our needs. Thanks Wintergreen for making our conference top notch. Hopefully we will be back next year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wintergreen
12.9 mi away
Residence Inn Waynesboro
Residence Inn Waynesboro
#2 of 9 in Waynesboro
289 reviews
12.9 mi away
Days Inn Waynesboro
Days Inn Waynesboro
#3 of 9 in Waynesboro
594 reviews
14.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Waynesboro / Stuarts Draft
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Waynesboro Inn & Suites Conference Center
24.8 mi away
The Boar's Head
The Boar's Head
#9 of 35 in Charlottesville
848 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Mark Addy
The Mark Addy
#1 of 1 in Nellysford
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wintergreen Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wintergreen Resort

Property: Wintergreen Resort
Address: Route 664, PO Box 706, Wintergreen, VA 22958
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Wintergreen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wintergreen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 242
Also Known As:
Wintergreen Hotel Wintergreen
Wintergreen Ski Resort Virginia
Wintergreen Resort Virginia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing