We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Cork Street Tavern

Cork Street Tavern
Ranked #37 of 292 Restaurants in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Our motel had recommended this spot for dinner and we enjoyed our meal very much. We hadn't been in Winchester in a few years and were surprised at the number of new dining spots that have opened up downtown, especially along the pedestrian mall. But we prefer older, more established places when we travel.

Although it looks quite ancient from the outside, this is not really an atmospheric "Olde Inne" inside, just your regular comfie neighbourhood pub/restaurant feel. There are two distinct sections to the building, one more of a sports bar, the other more for family dining.

Much care had gone into the food here. The house salads, for example, were outstanding, with a wide variety of ingredients. My excellent, perfectly-cooked ribeye came with a smothering of braised onions and mushrooms--real mushrooms, not those nasty little things out of a tin.

Food and booze prices seemed reasonable to us, certainly less than those posted on some of the swankier places that have opened up over on the mall.

Service was also a notch above, special kudos to "Jessie" who went beyond and above to make our visit enjoyable. We only wish we could visit more often.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Torontotraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    56
    35
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best crab dip and delicious shepards pie!”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Decided to go for pre-St Patrick's Day celebration...they have the best crab dip and their shepards pie special ($10.95 with house salad) this month is an excellent choice!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DDG62365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Market, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Not what I expected.”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I felt for the restaurant was over rated. The prices were high and the quality of the food wasn't that good.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank gmgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley Springs
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best Place in Old Town Winchester”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

This is one place where we have always eaten a great meal. Love their Tavern Burger and their Crab Cakes.

Only problem is that their terrace is not dog friendly. We simply ordered our meal to go and ate in the park.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tammy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit Point
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Disappointed...”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Have heard many great things about this quaint little place over the years so decided to try it for my hubby's bday. He had heard from friends that their ribs were the best.

When we arrived around 7:30 on a Saturday night, it was busy but we were still able to walk right in. Unfortunately, when we went to order they had run out of ribs and the salmon (which were the two dishes my husband had wanted - so even his back-up (salmon) was not available.

In addition, we were seated next to a table full of fun loving, beer drinking men. No issues at all wth those things... they were just really LOUD. Not really what I was in the mood for that evening. But that's not the Tavern's fault... just some guys out having fun. :)

Needless to say, we were disappointed about the ribs so we drank our drinks and headed out the door... for a nice quiet dinner at Red Lobster. LOL

We'll definitley try them again... maybe for lunch or something.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kimberlee94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cork Street Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Cork Street Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing