We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay..Staff friendly...Nice breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
PA
1 review
“Nice place to stay..Staff friendly...Nice breakfast”
Reviewed July 7, 2009

We stayed with a few families going to and from our vacation destination. The hotel had a nice free breakfast. Hotel was clean. Staff was friendly. The kids enjoyed the pool. It was nice that the lobby had books to borrow. The kids loved the chocolate chip cookies.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mawstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

892 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    611
    190
    60
    19
    12
See reviews for
428
281
48
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
1 review
Reviewed April 29, 2009

I recently stayed at the C I&S in Winchester, VA and I highly recommend this hotel. The desk staff were friendly and helpful, even bringing things to our room when we need something in the middle of the night. The manager was personable and calm, even while instructing new staff. The breakfast buffet was decent, and I appreciate the variety of items, especially the self-made waffles. The rooms were comfortable and clean, with very nice amenities (full iron and board, high-speed internet, a comfy arm chair, etc.) I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to the Winchester area.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karlinam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2008

Overall a nice place; fair rate, friendly staff, books to borrow in the lobby, good free breakfast including waffle makers, sausages, pastries, etc.
Property overall is new, and looks it. Our only real gripe, and the reason for not giving 5 stars, was the mattress, which felt lumpy and which we just never got comfortable on. (However, no one else here noted that problem, so maybe that was just us.) A lesser gripe, not the hotel's fault, is that there's nothing within walking range except for the Outback steakhouse next door; you have to drive a few miles into town to find anything to do/see.

  • Liked — free breakfast
  • Disliked — mattress
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank eugeno_montoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanesville, IN
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2008

This is the 3rd time this year we have stayed at this hotel. The worst part is the entrance to and from the hotel, it is very complicated to get to it from the Expressway and back onto the Expressway. The sign when you get off of the exit is very misleading. We missed it the first and third time we came. Just confirm the directions for arrival and departing no matter how you think you should go!

The last time we stayed in August we had connecting rooms with another party, and that worked well. Without telling us or us specifying, the one room was for someone handicapped, so the shower was very low. Other than that, it was fine.

It has always been very quiet, even being right next to the expressway. The employees are always very friendly and accommodating, and the breakfast area is always kept up with.

All of the County Inn & Suites have Queen size or King size beds, so that one of the reasons we chose this place in the beginning.

It is a very nice, quiet place to stay, but hard to get to.

  • Liked — Queen beds, free breakfast, quiet
  • Disliked — location hard to get to
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmkehlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roselle Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2008

We stayed here on our way back from our trip. I booked as they had a nice two room suite to offer a bit of privacy & room for the 5 of us. The hotel is very nice they have a porch with rocking chairs in the front. There is an outback steakhouse & McDonalds right in walking distance which was great. They have free all day coffee and one of the best free breakfasts I had during my whole trip (eggs, sausage, make your own waffles (with strawberry or regular topping), yogurt, donuts, cereals, juices, breads, etc...) . They also have free fresh cookies in the lobby in the later afternoon. For $116 between the 2 room suite & the freebies it was well worth it. My husband said to me that it was a great pick and he never tells me that. My only issue I had was the bathroom was not completely clean, i found numerous hairs around the edges of the bathroom which didnt make me too happy but the rest of the room was spotless. Because of that i will give it a 4. Had the bathroom been cleaner it would have gotten a definite 5.

  • Liked — the 2 rooms, nice heated pool, great breakfast, cookies, location next to restaurants
  • Disliked — the bathroom wasnt clean enough for me
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginger9708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2008

We recently stayed at four different Country Inn and Suites locations including this one. It was okay but not perfect. The hotel has been open for a year but we felt they were still working out some kinks. We had to try three rooms - the first had a noisy fan; the second had a very stale smell, and the third was fine. The staff were quite accommodating but we were a bit surprised at the poor quality of the first two rooms. Luckily the hotel wasn’t very busy. The staircase in the foyer (standard at all Country Inn hotels) is closed off - we were told because it was slightly too steep to fit the building code.

We had a one-bedroom suite which is reasonably spacious and a true “suite” - i.e., separate rooms - and good for a family of four, with a small sink, microwave and fridge. The indoor pool - again, all pretty standard for this chain - was plain but a decent size.

The hotel is located on an exit a bit south of Winchester proper and it’s a little tricky making the turnoff and getting to the hotel. There is a McDonalds and Outback restaurant right beside but nothing else except car dealerships - not even a nearby gas station (there's a Sunoco about a half-mile north). Get back on the interstate and drive on to Winchester to find anything else.

Winchester dinner suggestion - there is a bright, friendly, and slightly funky Thai restaurant on the pedestrian mall downtown. The food is not amazing but it's very family friendly and a great relief from all the chains.

  • Liked — Standard Country Inn features and look
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
1 review
Reviewed January 28, 2008

This is a lovely hotel. We stayed in the suite with the Jacuzzi. The room was very nice and the customer service at the front desk was exceptional.

The free hot breakfast was ok.

The biggest issue we had was the pool.. This trip was a surprise for my hubby for his birthday. We stayed for 2 nights. We tried several times to go to the pool and everytime it was packed with kids. We finally found out the motel rents the pool out for "Pool Parties". This explained the group of kids on Saturday afternoon and on Saturday night. I understand they have to make money, but I think this is very unfair to the motel guests.

Otherwise, I thought the motel was very nice.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — problems with using the pool
  • Stayed January 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsHennWestVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winchester hotels
4.8 mi away
The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
3.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Winchester
3.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#9 of 25 in Winchester
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Best Western Lee-Jackson Inn & Conference Center
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
Address: 141 Kernstown Commons Blvd, Winchester, VA 22602-5364
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Winchester
#1 Family Hotel in Winchester
#2 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#2 Business Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Winchester Hotel Winchester
Country Inn And Suites Winchester
Country Inn Winchester
Winchester Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing