We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Southern Hospitality at its BEST!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
West Deptford, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
“Southern Hospitality at its BEST!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

From check in to after we were home, I was impressed with friendliness, courtesy and willingness to help. Rooms were very clean, bed and linens were fresh, staff was courteous and helpful and offered suggestions to assist with our needs.
Our stay was quiet and every accomodation provided by the staff. We felt like we were their only guests because of the personalized attention.
Breakfast provided in the morning was fresh and everything was clean and well cooked.
Check out very simple and after we returned home and left something behind, they had item already saved, labeled and assisted in having it shipped to us without issue.
Value for the room was excellent for the accomodations. We stayed in the whirlpool suite with serenity option. There's not a thing I would change and when I pass through this area again, I know I will find the same pleasant people who made a difference in my stay.

Room Tip: Serenity Option to stay away from the elevator noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CXWNVA, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Good Afternoon:

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. I repeatedly say I have one of the best staff's going!! They are all wonderful people that care very much for our hotel and guests and it shows!

We do hope you will visit us again should your travels bring you back to our area.

Kind Regards,
Ellen DePoy-Golden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    497
    151
    53
    18
    9
See reviews for
348
230
35
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
strasburg va
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

First time staying here. We had the romantic getaway package, king bed, jacuzzi, movie passes, & dinner.Check in was smooth and 2 hours early. They even called our room & ask if everything was satisfactory. Room was the cleanest I have ever seen in a hotel. Bed was comfortable. Breakfast was good. Will definetly stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank merlesgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CXWNVA, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Good Morning and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am so happy we were able to make your romantic getaway ever so special! We hope to see you again in the near future. Happy Spring!

Kind regards,
Ellen DePoy-Golden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stow, Ohio
Level Contributor
186 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Wasn't disappointed . Clean , comfortable , excellent staff . Breakfast in morning with a cheerful hostess. It all came together again as I expected it would . I've stayed at 4 places in the areaover many many years and this will always be my go to when they have a vacancy . I didn't know how far I was going to get due to rain/snow on my trip.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 262Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CXWNVA, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We LOVE our repeat guests and I am so glad we have been able to repeatedly meet your expectations. My hope is that it will continue. We will look forward to your next stay. Until then.........

Kind regards,
Ellen DePoy-Golden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartersville, Georgia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed here on an emergency trip heading towards Reading PA. The young man behind the desk was very helpful. We arrived late at night and he did everything to make sure we got settled. The room was very clean and the beds were comfortable. Much needed due to the stress of the trip

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TLP60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CXWNVA, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. I am so thankful that we were a bright spot on your emergency trip. One of the things I love most about this business is we are able to touch peoples lives daily in the best and worst of times for them and hopefully make a small positive difference. Thank you again and I hope you will stay again should your travels bring you back to our area.

Kind regards,
Ellen DePoy-Golden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW YORK
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Upon arrival there was a growing line, and only one person helping people check in and it seemed like a complicated process. Then a (manager?) appeared but just kind of looked over the clerk's shoulder like a lot of managers do when they should be helping out. She disappeared for a while. Then she escorted someone out of the building with a large older television. I guess they are selling off the ones that have been replaced by the nice flatscreens? Maybe this process could happen at other than peak check in times. In any case, she finally concluded that business and took up position at the computer to help the next guest (which I was). Once focused on this task, it was efficient and friendly. But all told this was about a 15 minute long wait, after a long day on the road. And I was second in line!

The rooms are large, clean, well furnished, and have 2 nice flatscreen televisions.The pool area is large, clean, and not busy when we used it. Lots of towels available and a shower in the corner to rinse off. A very nice facility. Some good places to eat in walking distance, but beware the italian place (covered in a separate review)

Two issues with the room, the bathroom door won't fully open because it hits the shower curtain bar (it's one of those curved ones that give you more room when showering). Also the ceiling light by the door flashes when turned off (it has a CFL bulb in it and they can do this when de-powered). It scared my kids.

In terms of the breakfast, it was good, there are hot options, wish there was cream cheese for the bagels.

One last note, although I am a club carlson member and this was acknowledged at check in any by a welcome note in the room, I'm more accustomed with this chain to get a bit more, such as some water bottles, granola bars, etc. which have always made us feel welcomed in the past.

Despite these minor details I'm still giving this a 5 rating because it was a good night's sleep, in a comfortable room, and I think a good value for the price paid for a 1br suite.

It's also a bit hard to get to this property from i-81 since it's an exit off that highway to another highway and then another exit and the signs were a bit confusing.

Room Tip: I'd face the front so you can see your car in the lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelswithtwokids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CXWNVA, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. I greatly appreciate your honest feedback. It is always helpful to know where we can do better. It looks like overall it was a positive experience. We look forward to having you and your family with us again should your travels bring you to our area.

Best wishes for a wonderful 2013!

Ellen DePoy-Golden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stay here twice a year and recommend the place highly Staff are terrific friendly helpful
Place is clean well kept Rooms comfortable with new flat screen tv Pool clean refreshing and jacuzzi warm and soothing
Excellent restaurant near by Violino worth the trip

Room Tip: Ground floor either side
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pfra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CXWNVA, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We love our repeat guests!!!!!
We will look forward to your return. In the meantime, best wishes for a wonderful New Year!

Kind regards,
Ellen DePoy-Golden
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We chose this hotel because it was pet friendly for only $20 extra per night and because it had great reviews. It did not disappoint! Friendly staff, very clean facility, and they quickly relocated our room due to noise in the room above. We loved it!

Room Tip: Pet friendly rooms are only on the 1st floor. To avoid noisy guest above you, ask for a 3rd floor r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MJB1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CXWNVA, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. It sounds as if you had a great stay and I am so happy we were able to assist in making that happen. We look forward to having you with us again soon. Best wishes for a Happy New Year!

Kind regards,
Ellen DePoy-Golden
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winchester hotels
4.8 mi away
The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway
3.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#7 of 25 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 stars 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
#6 of 25 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 stars 544 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester
#5 of 25 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 stars 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
Address: 141 Kernstown Commons Blvd, Winchester, VA 22602-5364
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Winchester
#2 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#2 Business Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Carlson and Hotwire so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Winchester
Country Inn & Suites Winchester Hotel Winchester
Country Inn Winchester
Winchester Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing