We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Real dishes and silverware” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, ga
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Real dishes and silverware”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel numerous times and my wife said it was time for me to write a review since we had always been very satisfied. Traveled once with daughter and family and stopped there then also. It is convenient to I-81, but not so close as to be noisy. Staff always very friendly and accommodating and the manager is often out at the check-in area to greet people. They are a very happy team which makes for happier guest. Rooms clean and quiet. Amenities what you would expect from this chain. Walking distance to a couple restaurants, but if you want more options you will need to get back in your vehicle. Big movie theater almost next door too. Breakfast is very good for this level of chain and they use real dishes, bowls, glasses, etc. and real silverware. Very nice to drink coffee from a cup there and the rest of the time in lobby. (Take-away cups are available.) Oatmeal is a favorite that they make up special.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank soccer38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CXWNVA, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thank you so much for all of your kind words. It is greatly appreciated. I say all the time that I am blessed to have the staff that I do and I mean that. They are all great at what they do and it certainly does go a long way and making our guests feel comfortable, welcome and happy!

So glad to hear also that you like the dinnerware and silverware. That is new for Country Inn & Suites and the response has been overwhelmingly positive. It is a nice touch and it also decreases our carbon footprint on the enviornment since we are not putting all of that paper, foam and plastic in the landfills. A win for everyone involved!

We certainly hope you will visit us again when in the area.

Kind regards,
Ellen DePoy-Golden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    563
    175
    56
    19
    12
See reviews for
389
261
45
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

We were traveling down from Ottawa to Williamsburg VA, and decided to do a one night stop over in Winchester because we wanted to see the caverns a bit further down. We picked up a coupon book at the Virginia welcome center and saw a coupon for the Country Inn and Suites. I really didn't want to stay because I wanted to head further south towards the caverns and stay the night. Well I am glad we did! We booked a suite (we had 4 of our children traveling with us).
The suite was very clean and had a fridge and micro which is a plus for a large family. There are lots of restaurants as the hotel is located at the edge of a strip mall. We had a swim then went and had dinner and then my husband took the older boys to the movies which right next door.

In the morning we had a great breakfast (loved the salsa omelet) and another swim and continued further south.
The staff were super friendly

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bandit3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CXWNVA, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words regarding our hotel. I am glad your family had such a wonderful time and we certainly hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Ellen DePoy-Golden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

My husband and I have traveled extensively and, in general, CI&S hotels tend to be a great value and this one is one of the best! Clean, comfortable and featuring a great staff, we stay here again and again, particularly since we have family in the area.

We've only ever had one problem and that was when a group was on the patio outside our room at 2am, laughing and carrying on. A quick call to the front desk and the problem was solved.

Overall, a great place when traveling the I-81 corridor!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bethany S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CXWNVA, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We love to hear from our guests and are so happy we were able to meet all of your expectations.

We hope you will keep us in mind should you return to the area.

Best wishes,
Ellen DePoy-Golden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

First a warning - Google has the wrong location for this hotel, so if you use Google to navigate, you will end up out in the middle of nowhere. The hotel is only about a mile from I-81. Search for the address instead of the property name.

As far as the hotel goes, everything was as you would expect: clean, quiet, and comfortable. Standard make-your-own-waffles breakfast. It seems that a lot of guests use this as a stop-over when traveling, as there were a lot of families around, but it was not loud or crowded.

Special thanks to Jeremiah from Corning! He was very friendly at check-in, took care of getting us a roll-away quickly, and made several dinner recommendations. We took his advice to go to his wife's favorite - I J Canns - and we enjoyed it. My wife was only disappointed that all the shops around it were closed before 9 PM (me, not so much).

Room Tip: Second floor is convenient since you can use the stairs in the lobby and not wait for the elevator e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank psustan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CXWNVA, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We love to hear from our guests and are so happy we were able to meet all of your expectations (except for the Google directions - so sorry about that!)

We hope you will keep us in mind should you return to the area.

Best wishes,
Ellen DePoy-Golden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
100 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

This hotel was the first stop of several that we made on a two-week sight-seeing adventure. We spent two nights here and found the room to be clean and the staff very friendly and helpful. Our room was on the backside of the 2nd floor and we didn't hear any of the road noise. My dad was able to use his Nook on the wireless connection with no problems in the room.

There are several restaurants within walking distance (Carrabba's, Outback, McDonald's, Subway and the Alamo Drafthouse) plus several more not too far away. Evan was working the front desk one evening and assisted us in getting a meal delivered from the Alamo Drafthouse. Evan and Margo were both great in making recommendations and providing instructions for getting around town. (Contrary to popular belief, there really are some neat things to see in Winchester.)

Fresh cookies, lemonade and coffee were available and provided a great little afternoon snack or top-off to dinner. The breakfast in the mornings included a nice selection of food items from which to choose. It was nothing spectacular but was still nice to be able to eat without having to trek over McDonald's or elsewhere.

If I ever plan another overnight stay in Winchester, this is where I'll stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tulip76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CXWNVA, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We love to hear from our guests and are so happy we were able to meet all of your expectations.

We hope you will keep us in mind should you return to the area.

Best wishes,
Ellen DePoy-Golden
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

I stopped short of giving the hotel 5 stars, because of the quality of breakfast. I ate bacon and made my own waffle so I was happy, my family thought the quality of the breakfast could be better. However, it's included in the price so it's still a good deal to me Actually I would say it deserves 4.5 stars.
From the moment we checked it, we were greeted as if we were personal guests, not just paying customers. The beds were comfortable, the room was one of the cleanest hotel rooms, I have ever been in and I'm comparing it to 5 star hotels. This was my first time staying at the chain. My sister, frequents them and recommended te hotel. I will definitely put them at the top of my list of hotels to check availability in the future when we travel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dmwj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CXWNVA, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We love to hear what our guests have to say good or bad as that helps us fine tune our operations and hopefully improve where we need to. Please keep us in mind should you return to the area in the future.

Kind regards,
Ellen DePoy-Golden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
261 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

Nice clean rooms We got the one with the hot tub and it was worth the upgrade. Staff very friendly and helpful. Several good restaurants nearby as well as gas station and a movie theater. Breakfast was ok but not memorable.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrfiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CXWNVA, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to complete a review on our property. We value what our guests have to say. Please keep us in mind if your travels bring you back through our area.

Kind regards,
Ellen DePoy-Golden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winchester hotels
4.8 mi away
The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
3.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#7 of 25 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
3.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Winchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area
3.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester
#6 of 25 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
Address: 141 Kernstown Commons Blvd, Winchester, VA 22602-5364
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Winchester
#1 Family Hotel in Winchester
#2 Business Hotel in Winchester
#2 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Winchester
Country Inn & Suites Winchester Hotel Winchester
Country Inn Winchester
Winchester Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing