We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Stay but Pool Issues”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
Wantagh, New York
1 review
“Nice Stay but Pool Issues”
Reviewed August 3, 2011

My husband and two small boys stayed here in May prior to Memorial Day weekend. We had a nice stay. My only complaint was the pool was constantly closed due to swim lessons, water aerobics, etc. Very hard to explain to two little boys why they couldn't go in the pool. It would have been nice to be notified of this beforehand or given the chance to stay elsewhere. Country Inn - if you're going to have a pool for guests, make sure they get to use it. Especially guests with small children. Otherwise A+.

Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank MrsB11793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CXWNVA, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester, responded to this review, August 17, 2011
Thank you for your business and your feedback on our hotel. I am sorry you were frustrated with the pool issues during your stay however you received some incorrect information along the way. Our pool is never closed to hotel guests for swimming lessons. Hotel guests are always welcome to swim in the pool while these individual lessons are going on and if it becomes crowded, swim lessons are cancelled. The only time our pool is closed is 2 evenings a week that we have a water aerobics class. But again, I am sorry this was frustrating for you.

Sincerely,
Ellen DePoy-Golden
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    601
    182
    59
    19
    12
See reviews for
420
271
48
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Stephens City, Virginia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

Based on a visit to a Country Inn in Cape Canaveral, we decided to stay here while visiting our daughter and grandchildren. We found the same excellent service as we did in Cape Canaveral. The front desk associate, Terry, was extremely friendly and couteous. Being a Carlson Club member, she upgraded us to a suite. The room was very clean and again, the breakfast very good. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dwalters872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CXWNVA, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester, responded to this review, August 17, 2011
Thank you so much for your kind words regarding our hotel and for sharing this feedback with us. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Ellen DePoy-Golden
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

As a "GOLDPOINTS" member, I've stayed at this location on four separate occasions. The last on July 2, 2011. Each time I stayed the staff was great but the last two times
have "sealed the deal" on not coming back. Keep in mind that I still have faith in "Country Inns". But this location needs to get it's act together .
On my April stay I had room on third floor and was told the elevator was out of order and I wasn't about to carry baggage up the stairs. Relocated to a room on the first floor the tenants in second floor room above made me feel like I was inside of a bass drum.
Not the best experience but we all have a bad day we'd like to forget.

So I didn't hesitate to book again (7-2-11) because I love the close proximity to the Outbak restaurant across the parking lot. To your left is the Alamo Drafthouse multi-plex cinema which is a fabulous dining/movie experience. There's also a McDonald's and a Subway if you want take-out. A gas station/mini-mart is immediately to your right. All this
in very short walking distance of one another.

I reached the end of my rope on my last visit in July. I wasn't expecting miracles, but this time the elevator did work. What I didn't count on was sharing the room with BEDBUGS!
A complete surprise and a total dissapointment. I had to listen to my wife complain about that all the way back to New York. That in itself will keep me from returning.

STAY AWAY FROM ROOM #303

Room Tip: Once you do get a room, inspect bed thoroughly. If you have any additional issues, staff will do the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Johnny-Paycheck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CXWNVA, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester, responded to this review, July 21, 2011
This is a situation and issue our hotel takes very seriously and I apologize that you feel you had negative experiences at our hotel. As I stated in the email sent to you yesterday, I have made a full refund of your room. We would have done this immediately had we known of the problems you experienced while you were here.

If you have any further problems or would like to discuss these experiences please feel free to contact me at 540-869-7049 Ext. 405.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylors, South Carolina
Level Contributor
139 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

We have been impressed with the Country Inn and Suites chain as a whole. This hotel helped solidify our opinion.

This hotel provided accommodations that were clean, quiet, and a good size.

The breakfast variety was very good and the cookies were a nice treat.

There is an Outback right across the street as well as a movie theater and an Aldi.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maelrarny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Black Eddy, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 13, 2011

What a surprise to find real plates and real silverware for the complimentary breakfast - I get frustrated trying to cut the waffles at other hotels using the plastic knife.
Pool water was comfortable and great front desk staff.
Would never want to tell them, however they could charge $20.00 more per night and it would be worth the money, one of the best!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheTraveler2037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
153 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

Looking for a change from our usual Winchester, VA area road trip stop, I booked us into the Country Inn and Suites Winchester. From getting the reservation taken care of easily (direct call to the front desk) - to a warm greeting by the night clerk (same young man on 2 trips) - to a great breakfast spread and simple checkout, we could not have been more satisfied. The price was OK- $95- and on a second trip through on Memorial Day Weekend, we ordered from Outback and they delivered right on time with everything we needed to eat in our room. (if it wasn't 11 p.m., I'd have definitely asked if we could have used the large dining area downstairs.) The only drawback here is that I felt the mattresses were a bit firm for me on both trips-- and I prefer a firm mattress. The only other problem I could see- which Country Inn and Suites has no control over- is that you take the exit and right away take the second one immediately after. You'd think it wouldn't be confusing, but somehow it was. Watch the signs carefully and you'll be right there. Exiting I felt that there needed to be a sign directing you to 81 rather than just Rte 11. But that's not a deal breaker.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luvamoose67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, VA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

If you are going to be in the area and have time to catch a movie, get the Alamo package. Alamo works for dinner and a show, and you can't beat the package deal.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelvandros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winchester hotels
4.8 mi away
The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
3.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#9 of 25 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
3.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Winchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area
3.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester
#6 of 25 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
Address: 141 Kernstown Commons Blvd, Winchester, VA 22602-5364
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Winchester
#2 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#2 Business Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Winchester Hotel Winchester
Country Inn And Suites Winchester
Country Inn Winchester
Winchester Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing