We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfectly acceptable and more if you know upfront what Candlewood properties do and do not offer.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Winchester
Ranked #18 of 25 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
NJ
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“perfectly acceptable and more if you know upfront what Candlewood properties do and do not offer.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

This hotel is perfectly acceptable and more if you know upfront what Candlewood properties do and do not offer.
PROS: very clean room with high ceilings, full size fridge, microwave, generous kitchen and sitting/tv area; large work/eating desk exercise room; one bedroom suite has totally separate bedroom with doors that close and lock; in-room safe (which is screwed into wall studs, not glued to a shelf); free coffee in lobby.
CONS: some food items for purchase but no free breakfast; no pool; soap/shampoo not high-quality; bedroom is small for a queen; no kings available; mattress was good but not enough pillows for a couple; pilows and linens are OK not great and need replacement IMHO. No maid service if staying less than one week so if you stay a few days you will empty your own trash into the trash can at end of hallway, make your own bed, and ask the front desk for fresh towels and more soap/shampoo. Won't impact you if staying just one night.
All of this is great for an extended-stay hotel, which is how Candlewood represents itself. If you are a tourist, Know before you go and you will enjoy staying here. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuperPicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWDOS, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Winchester, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear SuperPicky,

Thank you for your comprehensive review. You have covered all aspects of your stay and I am particularly appreciative about your comments about our guestroom amenities. Per our Candlewood Suites' brand stardards, we do not offer breakfast and no pool on site. Since our hotel is an extended stay hotel, we offer weekly housekeeping service and we appreciate your comment and advice for other travelers staying less than a week.

It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time to give us an honest feedback with details.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you again on your next trip to Winchester!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    48
    9
    6
    7
See reviews for
44
48
10
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stoney Creek NC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

Highly recommend this motel . Excellent facilities, lots of room and room amenities. Friendly staff and near restaurants. We really liked the Full kitchen and desk set up. This motel is easy to find and has plenty of activities nearby. This maybe the best Candlewood motel we,ve stayed in. We found the rooms to be very spacious and with two dble beds could handle a family of four with full kitchen an refrigerator.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jhammer3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWDOS, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Winchester, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear jhammer3,

Thank you for your comprehensive review. You have covered all aspects of your stay and I am particularly appreciative about your comments about how spacious our rooms are. We are very glad your stay at our Candlewood Suites was enjoyable and we hope to see you again on your next trip to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia beach
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised by the updated look, the cleanliness and quiet of the hotel. The pet area was spotless as everyone seemed respectful of cleaning up after themselves. For the price this was a winner. A couple tears in the wall paper but not a big deal. Check in was easy. I stayed at the travelodge down the street a few months ago. If you can afford the extra $20/night, it is worth it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laditk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWDOS, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Winchester, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Dear laditk,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior. As you mentioned in your review, we offer extremely competitive rates to complement our many amenities and features.

Once again thank you for your wonderful comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiltoon Head Island,SC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

First time visitor to Candlewood Suites. Room was spacious, kitchen fully equipped, staff courteous, and the property and room were immaculate! Excellent value for the price. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lmmastel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWDOS, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Winchester, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Dear Immastel,

Thank you so much for your recent stay at our Candlewood Suites Winchester. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We strive to give great service to all of our guests.

Thank you again for your kind review and we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Winchester area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

This is a great spot. Really clean and spacious rooms, great value for the money. I'd highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daisytlc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWDOS, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Winchester, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment. Once again thank you for the wonderful and kind words of praise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

Have never stayed in a suite before room was huge and very good value for price. Didnt use but place even had free laundry. I missed my free breakfast but the cleanliness of the place was worth it.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Misstazzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWDOS, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Winchester, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Thank you for your comprehensive review. You have covered many aspects of our accommodation and I am particularly appreciative about your comments about our guest laundry facility which is complimentary for our guests to use.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write your review and we look forward to seeing you again on your future trips to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

On our second night after a long driving day we were delighted to stay at Candlewood Suites. Staff was friendly and accommodations were very comfortable. Spacious. Excellent towels. Extra pillows on request. Good quality dishes in a full service kitchen. A lot nicer than our place the night before which was recommended by AAA. Good location for quick on and off the interstate. Only negative was that ice maker in refrigerator isn't on when you arrive so you have to go buy ice at nearby grocery. Would help short term guests if they had a ice machine available.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wdemelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWDOS, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Winchester, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Dear Wdemelle,

Thank you so much for staying with us. We appreciate the wonderful comments about our hotel. Per our brand standards, we are not allowed to leave the ice maker on before the guest's arrival. We always inform our guests upon arrival to turn on the ice maker as entering their rooms for their convenience.

Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winchester hotels
0.5 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#8 of 25 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
3.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
0.1 mi away
aloft Winchester
aloft Winchester
#14 of 25 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lee-Jackson Inn & Conference Center
1.0 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Winchester
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Winchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Winchester

Property: Candlewood Suites Winchester
Address: 1135 Millwood Pike, Winchester, VA 22602-4313
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 25 Hotels in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Winchester 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winchester, VA Hotel Offers Convenient Location The Candlewood Suites extended stay hotel in Winchester is the ideal choice for long-term travelers. We're conveniently located near Interstate 81 and the attractions of downtown Winchester, VA. Our hotel is only a short drive from a variety of attractions. The interactive Discovery Museum and the Old Court House Civil War Museum are just few of the many museums just miles from our hotel. Winchester's historic, downtown district is the perfect place to shop and see the history of the town, or you can head outdoors to explore the beautiful Shenandoah Valley area. Business travelers will benefit from our convenient location near American Woodmark, Rubbermaid, H.P. Hood, Kraft, Shenandoah University, Trex, Winchester Medical Center and other businesses in Winchester. Lodging here also gives you easy access to our 24-hour business center with copy, fax and print services. We go beyond the other hotels in Winchester to offer you the amenities extended stay travelers want, such as free laundry facilities, a Candlewood Cupboard convenience store and a 24-hour fitness center. Every suite features a fully equipped kitchen, triple-sheeted bedding, a 32' TV with a DVD player and a workspace with an over-sized desk, a speakerphone and free high-speed Internet access. Call today to learn more about the great deals available at our pet friendly, extended stay hotel in Winchester, Virginia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites Winchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Winchester Hotel Winchester
Candlewood Winchester
Winchester Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing