We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel in off the beaten path location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Winchester Medical Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Courtyard Winchester Medical Center
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Winchester
York, Maine
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in off the beaten path location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2008

Real nice new hotel, everything you would expect in a new Courtyard. Yet it is in a spot that you would expect a motel 6. Not that it is a bad area, just off the beaten path. It is 5 miles off 81 on west side of town, off rt 37. There is a McDonalds, Applebees and Walmart close by, but not much else.

Only complaint was the breakfast service was lacking. But I would recommend this hotel as the top choice anywhere near the Winchester/Front Royal/Martinsburg area!

  • Liked — Clean and New
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank psaltydog4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    91
    35
    28
    8
See reviews for
90
86
29
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2007

We only stayed one night and the hotel is almost new. Everything was excellent and clean. The lounge area and pool area were spacey and very nice. The room we had did not have a microwave or small refrigerator though.

  • Liked — the bed was very comfortable
  • Disliked — no microwave or refrigerator in the room
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stonewall112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2007

I wrote a review last year for the Holiday Inn Express at the next exit down. I loved staying there but I liked the Courtyard even better. The property was nice and new, and the decor was the new Marriott standard -- the best Courtyard I've ever stayed in. The room was quiet, and I was on the top floor so I had an incredible view.

As another reviewer states, the Courtyard is kind of out by itself. But there is a Wal-Mart and (I think) a Chilis just down the street, and several restaurants and gas stations by the HI Express at the next exit down.

It'll be a tough call which of the two West-side Winchester hotels to choose from next time I go through -- they're both great!

  • Stayed May 2007
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank spade7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2007

We stayed at the Courtyard Winchester after a recent wedding. Our king room was large and the decor was nice, especially for a chain hotel. The bride & groom left refreshments in a meeting room by the lobby, and the hotel staff nicely informed us of this and the wedding-sponored brunch the next morning.

The bathroom was fine, but problems with the vents need to be fixed. The bathroom lacked a fan, and steam from my hot shower set the fire alarm off. Fortunately, a hotel worker came within minutes and it was shut off.

We paid only $89/night and I rate this place as a "best buy", despite the problem with the fire alarm. Also, there was plenty of free parking in the lot outside.

  • Stayed September 2007
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rpost06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kawartha Lakes, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2007

Beautiful new hotel, hands down the best Courtyard Marriott we have ever stayed at. Clean rooms, comfortable beds, friendly staff, good breakfast. Highly recommend.

  • Liked — clean, new rooms, comfortable beds
  • Disliked — i liked everything
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kawarthas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa Hills, KY
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2007

We stayed here for a weekend in order to attend a wedding in the area. This hotel just opened in June 2007 so everything still looks very clean and new. Location was easy to get to as it is near the interstate but it seems to be on the side of Winchester that is newly developing and therefore doesn't have many restaurants or retail nearby. However, it is not very far to the other side of Winchester which has several places to eat and shop.

There were plenty of staff in the lobby to great us and check in went quickly. Our room was average size and nicely decorated. Since we are not accustomed to staying in a hotel that is so new, it was nice to have everything essentially spotless as well as staying at a smoke-free facility. The specs of the hotel listed a wet bar, but our room did not have one. There was only a coffeemaker. The area below could have accomodated a refrigerator but there was not one present.

Since we didn't spend much time in the hotel we didn't try out the exercise room or the indoor pool. Both areas were smaller but proportionate to the size of hotel which really didn't have many guests at the time. We opted to have breakfast out instead of eat in the small lobby cafe as the entrees seemed somewhat overpriced.

Overall I would say this is one of the nicest Courtyards I have stayed in recently and one that served our purposes well.

  • Liked — The fact that it was new
  • Disliked — Not very close to restaurants or shopping
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank kycoltsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
136 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2007

Brand new hotel. Lovely. We stayed in a King room and found it to be very well appointed. This area is near the Medical Center and a short drive downtown.

  • Liked — everything was new and fresh
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Cincy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winchester hotels
4.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
2.1 mi away
The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester
#6 of 25 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Winchester
3.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#9 of 25 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
3.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Winchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Winchester Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Winchester Medical Center

Property: Courtyard Winchester Medical Center
Address: 300 Marriott Dr, Winchester, VA 22603-3935
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Winchester Medical Center 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Alleghany and Blue Ridge Mountains the Courtyard by Marriott Winchester Medical Center resides among the areas famous orchards and Civil War Battlefields and is located adjacent to the Winchester Medical Center, Museum of the Shenandoah Valley and Rock Harbor Golf Course. Just a mile from Historic Old Town Winchester and Shenandoah University, we are strategically located to all Winchester-Frederick County area attractions and business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Marriott, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Courtyard Winchester Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Winchester Hotel Winchester
Courtyard Winchester
Winchester Marriott
Winchester Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing