We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 22, 2010

Spent 2 nights & enjoyed our stay. Rooms were immaculate & very tasteful. Good value for the money. However, Wyndham (which owns this hotel) is the pits. They advertise special rates on their website, but you can't get them. FALSE ADVERTISING.

I first called the George Washington & was told discounts must come from Wyndham. No suites or upgrades were available so i booked a $99/nite room (the best they had for that weekend). Then tried the website, which only gives basic reservations (no discounts).

I called Wyndham & was first told the discount wasn't available for that hotel. I asked why it was included in the list of participating hotels? She had no answer, so I asked for her supervisor, who proceeded to dance around the issue. Finally, he said he'd give me the Wyndham Weekender rate on a $139/nite basic room. I told him I'd already talked to the hotel & those rooms are $99/nite! He was polite but knew I nailed him. We didn't get a discount, & will never consider Wyndham for accomodations again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo&Jeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,008)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,957 - 1,963 of 2,008 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2010

Needing a night away from all the hustle and bustle of everyday life, my husband and I decided to book a room in Winchester. After reading all the reviews we decided that GW Inn would surely meet our standards. Little did we know that they would not only meet our standards but exceed our standards. From the courteous customer service, to the cleanliness, to the beauty of it all....we were thoroughly impressed. Our suite could not have been any more romantic. From the fireplace (which was lit and ready for our arrival) to the 2 person jacuzzi to the spacious shower.......everything was just perfect. Lets not mention the most comfortable bed I think we have ever slept in! This will most definately be on the top of our list for most romantic destinations! Thanks so much for the wonderful stay!!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happycplnmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2009

We travelled the weekend of Thanksgiving with our four-year-old daughter. The first thing I think of is the service. We were promptly greeted by a hotel bell hop who helped us with our luggage and parking. The front desk attendants were extremely helpful in providing us information on where the main attractions were, etc. Check-in was quick and painless.

The rooms are beautiful and spacious. The hotel's renovation is just beautiful. My daughter loved the huge Christmas tree displayed in the lobby. I was very surprised that the hotel's restaurant "The Dancing Goat" was actually very good. We ate breakfast there each morning. The pancakes and breakfast potatoes were our favorites. We would have tried lunch and dinner, but we had to get out and see a bit of Winchester.

The hotel is in walking distance of the pedestrian mall near by. For children, the Discovery Museum in there so it was a perfect activity for our daughter. We were also able to enjoy the indoor pool. The decor of the pool sort of resembled an old Roman bath. Very nice.

We would definitely stay again. Lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KEEPTRAVELLIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2009

What a beautiful hotel near historic downtown!

I cannot say enough about this historic hotel. Fantastic location, beautiul decor, fine dining and wonderful ambiance throughout!

We will stay here again soon!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMSRichmond_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2009

Beautiful renovations in the great, interesting, cool and unusual hotel in downtown Winchester. Bed was very comfortable with lovely linens. I did have a few problems with my stay, most of which dealt with being almost directly over the bar on Saturday night. First, I could hear the music from the bar in my room. Second, there seemed to be more than a usual number of drunks (though this was not the fault of the hotel) and they all seemed to be staying on my floor. Lots of slamming doors and drama in the halls, which went on for more than an hour. Barking dog in the room across the hall. I did complain about the noise, but talking the the noise-perps directly put an end to it. I will stay here again in an upcoming trip, but will ask for a room away from the bar and recommend you do the same.

Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
Thank josmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2009

excellent value great location.loved the town. pet freindly

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rodotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2009

We stayed here for a weekend getaway. The hotel underwent a $20+ renovation and is in great condition. There is a large bar off the lobby, which was busy and active. There is a piano player at night. The lobby is nice with a lot of marble. The front desk staff was very nice and efficient. We had a corner room and is seems a bit larger than your normal room. We heard that each floor has one room with a fireplace. There is free wi fi Internet in the rooms; you have to wonder why Wyndham and Omni can provide free Internet and others like Sheraton, Westin and Marriott still do not. The bathroom is very nice for a hotel in this level and price- large with a huge marble shower. No tub in this bathroom. The vanity is a nice granite, but a little small for toiletries. Towels are good quality. Flat screen tv in the room and a good sized desk, plus a leather sitting chair. There was a small hair on the bed by the pillow, which I hate hair in a room as I note in many reviews- so I've marked down the room for cleanliness. The is an interesting roman style indoor pool. It is too small for swimming laps. There is a hot tub as well. The gym is not great. It has a treadmill, elipitical and bike, plus a rack of hand weights. There are free water and towels in the gym room. Certainly a workout can be done, but the equipment is obviously limited. The location can't be beat. It is a block from the pedestrian mall where there are many shops and the best restaurants in town. Be sure to check out Violino restaurant, which is wonderful. The chef's testing menu is the way to go; he comes out to the table to discuss with you and then the wonderful food starts showing up. I have reviewed other restaurants in town- including The Dancing Goat, One Block West, and La Nicoise. The Shenendoah Museum and Glen Burnie House, plus Belle Grove Plantation are worth a visit. I don't think you can go wrong with a visit to The George Washington hotel and spending some time in this lovely town.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FlyRight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winchester hotels
4.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
1.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Winchester
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester
#6 of 25 in Winchester
730 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Address: 103 E Piccadilly St, Winchester, VA 22601-5004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Winchester
#1 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#2 Family Hotel in Winchester
Price Range: $108 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Wyndham Grand Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Washington Hotel
Hotel George Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing