We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$96
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep Inn & Suites(Winchester)(Great Value!)
$80
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$108
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$100
Country Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$125
$119
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,105)
Filter reviews
2,105 results
Traveler rating
1,307
557
162
45
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,307
557
162
45
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspedestrian mallhalf note loungeparking garagelobby barlovely hotelhistoric districttwo blockshotel restaurantlarge bathroompool and hot tubrestaurants and shopswalk in showerspent one nightshenandoah valleyroad tripking roomgw
Filter
Updating list...
2,074 - 2,079 of 2,105 reviews
Reviewed April 5, 2009

Beautiful Hotel!! Beautiful Restoration! Great stay for a couple. Not for small children or those used to a King Bed. If your used to the whole "downtown atmoshphere" this would be a great choice. For those who like the low key quiet... may want something else. Parking was frustrating and valet was $7.00. Food was a bit expensive. But if you enjoy sufistication you would love it. Not a bad stay, just not what we are used to. Someone else may thorougly love it. Wonderful Staff, clean rooms and beautiful.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wooney1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2009

This is a beautiful old hotel that has been impeccably refurbished. The large entry room with marble floors greets you. Our room was decorated in period furniture reproductions, and the carpet, bedspreads and draperies were a pleasant gold tone. Paned windows appear to be original, with a layer of modern double-pane glass sealing them in. You can't open them, but this is true for most hotels, and wasn't really a factor anyway, because we stayed in February, and the room had an individual climate-control thermostat. We didn't eat at the hotel restaurant because the menu appeared a bit pricey for our budget. We found a great Thai restaurant within a couple blocks of the hotel. The hotel has a small lot at the rear which charges $5, but we left our car right on the street in front of the main front entrance and the neighborhood felt safe for doing this. I don't think I have ever given a five-star rating on tripadvisor, but in this case I feel the hotel deserves it. The staff were pleasant and I have rated the service four stars -- not for lack of anything, but simply because there wasn't anything superb that would make them stand above the rest.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewYorkBooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2009

My eight year old son and I stayed in this hotel during the last week of summer as we traveled in the area to visit sites and go horseback riding. The GW is a beautiful hotel, stylishly decorated and spotless. I loved every aspect of our room, from the carpeting, bedding, draperies, to the blinds in the bathroom. We ate breakfast at the Dancing Goat where the food was very good and the staff was friendly. Our waiter arranged for us to receive a tour of the hotel, which we thoroughly enjoyed.

Our only disappointment was that the spa/pool area was closed for repairs.

As we were on our way home, my son realized that he left a duffel bag containg a portable DVD player, Ninentendo DS, several games, and DVDs on the floor beside the bed in which he slept. We called back to the hotel, reported the loss, and everything was carefullly packaged and shipped to us. I'm sure that would not have been the case had he left it at the hotel where we stayed earlier that week in Virginia Beach!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TakeMeAwayPlease720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2009

My wife & I visited the Winchester area early January for a relaxing vacation and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel exceeded our expectations in so many areas. A great job in renovating a historic gem in Winchester.

Our guest room & public areas were very clean & comfortable. The team from the front desk, concierge & housekeeping was very friendly & helpfull. We had a couple of technical issues with the TV & phone. Otherwise, a very nice stay.

Thank you again!

David G

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank WyndhamRTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2009

This was to be a special getaway for us away from the kids, not to mention, we were married in this town, so it means something to us.

We almost did not stay at this hotel as we received a phone call from management 3 days (what great notice-we live 4 hours from there) before our check in date telling us that the hotel was overbooked and the king luxury suite we wanted was no longer available. She told me that it was not the hotel's fault, but central reservation's fault. I contacted the central number and was told it was the hotel's fault. So they blamed each other. After a day of staying there, we were informed that a 200 person wedding reception was taking place there on New Years' Eve. I suspect the suite we booked was given to the bride and groom as part of the huge money making deal for the George Washington. In any case, I was told that a room was available to me that was exactly the same except it did not have the jacuzzi or separate dining room. The jacuzzi was a big deal to us as we wanted to spend time doing nothing but relaxing. We wanted the option to not have to go down to the public space to use the hot tub.

So even before we arrived, we arrived with a bad taste in our mouths, especially since no special renumeration was offered to us. No, we didn't have to go, but we were pretty much locked in for other reasons. We were welcomed by staff that were very young, "local," types. Not very impressive. They were cordial, if anything. Check-in went smoothly though. We liked the room, even without the extra amenities. It was very quiet there too, which was nice. Even with the supposed "overbooking," we never really heard a peep out of anyone.

Our reasoning for not wanting to have to go down to the pool area to use the hot tub proved itself over and over. We went down once or twice a day. Over half of the times we went, the hot tub was filled with not too classy looking people and their SMALL CHILDREN screaming and splashing. I can understand if they do that in the pool, but the hot tub? I blame it on the ignorance of the parent/s, however, I guess no harm was done to the children as the hot tub was not really "hot." Also, the pool was freezing. The temperature gauge said 82. Either it was broken or perhaps the room temperature being so cold made it feel, colder, not sure. Normally in indoor pool areas, the windows are steamed up in the winter and even summer, but not at this place. Everyone was complaining. We went over to the "control" wall and tried to see if we could do anything. Several guests went over and tried to see if they could turn some temperature up by pressing the controls to no avail. We along with others used the phone in the pool to call about the heating problem. They said they would send someone, no one ever came. The pool area is beautiful though. Just wasn't really usable to anyone because it was like an arctic zone.

We looked at the menu for the restaurant "Dancing Goat." It was totally overpriced and limited. Every time we walked past there on our way to dinner, hardly anyone was in there, which isn't a good sign, so we didn't even eat there during our stay. Room service was good both regarding the quality of the food, price, and the service. The pedestrian mall is right around the corner. We recommend Village Square Restaurant and Union Jack's. The owner of Union Jack's was amazing. We were in there twice, the place was hopping both times. Village Square had great ambience and a great menu with tons of choices-very relaxing place. Picadilly brew pub is almost right next to the hotel, if you make a right. Nice place. We are from a city filled with some of the world's best restaurants, so we aren't impressed by much, however, One Block West--completely impressed by this place. The menu is brave, fresh, and innovative. The menu is dated each day. I had elk for my main dish. It was unbelievable. The range of offered wines was pretty impressive as well.

We ate at One Block West on New Years' Eve and then went to the 3rd floor of Union Jack's to dance until midnight. We didn't have one drink at the hotel that night. Why? We were told that even though we were GUESTS at the hotel, it would cost us $50 per person after 9pm just to walk into the lounge because they were having some appetizer type food/desserts, and a champagne toast at midnight. So again, another amenity taken away - no lounge!

On another side night, be aware that the hotel lounge is only open until 10pm on normal nights and pubs only until 1am (some of them earlier). If you are from the city and are used to eating dinner late, make sure you get to the restuarant by 8:30 at the latest, because most of the places stop their full menu at that time. Also, this is the south folks, we were disappointed to see many businesses "closed until the middle of January," etc. They close when they please.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rocksteady822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmbotto, Manager at The George Washington a Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2009

We appreciate this feedback as it allows us to evaluate how we may have fallen short of guest expectations, and subsequently implement corrective plans. Regarding the overbooking issue, our team discovered a reservation systems error with this particular room type which is now corrected. As a proactive measure to this discovery we made contact with the guest in advance of their stay so they could make alternative arrangements. We have recieved previous requests from other guests to lower the pool temperature as they preferred a cooler and more refreshing temperature for their swim. We have since increased the air temperature in the space to provide a more comfortable temperature for future guests. Our menu offers a balanced selection of items and is priced in line with other local restaurants. This particular evening was a special event (New Year's Eve) in which we offered a fixed 5 course dinner. The Dancing Goat has an excellent reputation and received the "Taste of Town" critics choice award. In response to the our Half Note Lounge, this was reserved for the New Year's Eve celebration and guests had the option of buying tickets in this space or enjoy a drink in our other hotel bar. We strive for the highest level of quality and guest satisfaction and this guest experience has been reviewed with our team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews