We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel ,eat elsewhere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 1, 2013

My daughter and husband visited us from New York for the holiday and we were amazed as to the beauty of such a gem in our city.
Recently moved to the area and it was our first time here and I must say the hotel staff is some of the nicest we have had a pleasure meeting.
We also spent Thanksgiving here and all being said as to rooms and staff the dinner was far less than to be expected from such a grand place.
The food was less than mediocre and we could overhear the comments of the bar tender in the main room.Rude
There was not enough food and upon our turn through the line and there also was not items listed on the menu as well even on a return trip .It did not arrive either .and to add insult to injury added a gratuity.
The staff in the Dancing Goat was very pleasant however the bar was less than enjoyabale on Thankgining with a wait of over a 20 minutes for drinks from less than hospital bartenders.
Tip,stay and enjoy.
Just eat elsewhere

Room Tip: western rooms view of city,southern corner view of the lights on the avenue ,
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonathanWAIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,938)
There are newer reviews for The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,143 - 1,149 of 1,938 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank KatharineBerry2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Ronald P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Shrn1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GWHotelManager, General Manager at The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

They admittedly overbooked our reservations for their Thanksgiving meal and their only offer was to seat our family alone outside in a dark bar. Curt customer service. The hotel is beautiful, but don't look behind the curtain. People make mistakes, but it's how you make up for them that shows character. We found theirs to be rather shallow.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tcstewa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWHotelManager, General Manager at The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

I'm so sorry we overbooked the ballroom and ruined your holiday. I just feel terrible about this for I'm in the business to Be Responsive, Be Respectful, and Deliver Great Experiences and clearly we did not deliver on our core values. I'm also sorry you were not offered a later seating in the day and I hope you were able to have an enjoyable meal and time with family at other restaurant in the Winchester area.

I would love the opportunity to apologize directly to you, if your interesting in talking with me I can be reached at 540-771-2725 or dcavallaro@wyndham.com.

Take care,

David Cavallaro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Douglas F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GWHotelManager, General Manager at The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winchester hotels
4.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester
#6 of 25 in Winchester
704 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
#5 of 25 in Winchester
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area
1.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Winchester
1.9 mi away
Hotel Modern Winchester
Hotel Modern Winchester
#14 of 25 in Winchester
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Address: 103 E Piccadilly St, Winchester, VA 22601-5004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#1 Business Hotel in Winchester
#2 Family Hotel in Winchester
Price Range: $109 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Wyndham Grand Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Washington Hotel
Hotel George Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing