We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Wonderful Renovations. A must stay if in Winchester” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
232 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Wonderful Renovations. A must stay if in Winchester”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

This is an old hotel that was built in the 1920s and was top notch. When we first learned of it it was an adult home and had fallen into disrepair. Sometime during the 2000s it was renovated and now stands as one of the finer if not finest hotel in Winchester. It is a complete service hotel. Features a nice lounge, restaurant, give shop, indoor pool, hot tub, and other amenities. We did not realize that Winchester is a "golfing destination" and brings a lot of visitors. Nevertheless, we were there to celebrate a friends birthday and spent the night. The rooms were large, clean and well maintained. The front desk and staff were extremely helpful. The lounge was comfortable and reasonable. It is conveniently located so you can walk downtown. Bottom line - if you are going to be in the north end of the Shenandoah Valley don't miss an opportunity to stay at the Geo. Wash. Hotel. A Grand place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thed3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWHotelManager, General Manager at The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
I'm so happy you enjoyed your stay at our award winning Wyndham Grand Hotel. I appreciate your business and the nice comments.

Thank you and take care,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,105
    475
    139
    37
    29
See reviews for
448
711
85
308
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Broadway
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

The reason for our stay was relaxation. Our boys were on Spring break and they wanted to go to a hotel and get room service, swim in a pool and have cable TV. Simple pleasures for our boys. We had a fabulous stay and made wonderful memories with them.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Jennica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWHotelManager, General Manager at The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Great to hear you and your boys had a great visit. I'm so glad you stayed with us and I appreciate your business and the nice feedback.

Thank you and take care,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

What a lovely historic hotel in a quaint little area of town. The customer service is excellent, the rooms are decorated beatuifully, pool area is gorgous! The location is great walking distance to the shops and restaurants. Be advised though, the spa and main dining area are closed on Sunday.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vicky d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWHotelManager, General Manager at The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us while you were in the Winchester area. I appreciate your business and the feedback. You are correct as of now our spa is closed on Sundays and we are only serving dinner in the Half Note Lounge on Sunday evenings. Sunday dinner menu does include burgers, ribs, chicken, steak , salads etc...

Enjoy your summer, take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

We got a lucky upgrade to a suite because the hotel was overbooked, so that made our stay even better. The hotel public areas are very clean and stylish. The recent renovation was well-done. Our suite was clean and very quiet. The front desk staff were wonderful and the checkout process was very sleek. We forgot swimsuits so couldn't enjoy the pool or hot tub, alas. We didn't eat there, preferring to enjoy eateries on the pedestrian mall. I hope we can stay there again on a next trip to Winchester! Nice job!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MlissH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winchester hotels
4.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester
#5 of 25 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
1.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Winchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area
1.8 mi away
aloft Winchester
aloft Winchester
#14 of 25 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Property: The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Address: 103 E Piccadilly St, Winchester, VA 22601-5004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#1 Business Hotel in Winchester
#2 Family Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Wyndham Grand Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Washington Hotel
Hotel George Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing