We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spa guest not hotel guest”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 29, 2013

My husband bought me a gift certificate to this new spa for my birthday, since my birthday is day after valentines I usually wait to go to any spa, until they calm down from all the holiday gift certificates being used around the time of the holiday. I went on a Friday in the afternoon, when I thought they wouldn't be too busy.They were not busy, but did seem to have a steady amount of clients. I was not given a confirmation call prior to my visit. I arrived 15 minutes before my two treatments, which is all you need to fill out their one page pre-treatment form. The hostess/concierge was not aware that I was getting two services( she did know someone was going to be getting a facial later, but didn't know it would be me for the two treatments).if i hadn't casually asked a question about my facial, she wouldn't have realized it was me who was also getting a facial along with my massage. They do not have a relaxation room, so I was invited to sit down in a chair right at the desk, which is right in front of the men's restroom( which was closed for the time being-thank goodness). The chair had a deep back, and since I am of short stature, I couldn't sit back comfortably, so I perched on the edge of the seat. There was only one thing to read while I waited for my therapist, and it was a book about cancer. I would have preferred to have read a magazine or at least look at a scenic book. The therapist was running late, and she didn't start my treatment on time. Because it is a small place, and I would be changing rooms from one treatment to another, I undressed in one room, had treatment, then adorned a robe, and carried all my belongings to the other room. I would have liked for there to be a basket to have carried my items, instead of bunching all my stuff together and carrying them. The massage therapist did a great treatment( I had 90 minute therapeutic massage) and she had a good technique. because the therapist is tall, her bed was quite high, and there was no stool for me to use, so I had to hop up on it and hop down( I think it can pose a hazard for an older guest or any guest, since you have massage cream/oil on your feet when you are done). The facial was also very good( I had the ormedic facial). The facilities seemed to be clean. The only issue I had was that there was not a special place to relax and wait for services, and there was a pool and hot tub within viewing of treatment rooms, that i was told was"for hotel guests". Well, since I was paying over $200. and I was a spa guest which is located inside the hotel, I was in fact a hotel guest, and it would have been nice to have used the hot tub or pool as an added amenity. There are not that many spas located within an hours radius that has an indoor pool and hot tub and it should be included in the spa. I could have even waited poolside, lounging in a chair waiting for my treatments to begin.overall, it was good services, I just think that the other aspects should be a little more put together, to provide a better spa experience.

Room Tip: Make sure to call to confirm your treatments, in case they don't call you.Don't go too early...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nikki36_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,008)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,582 - 1,588 of 2,008 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
2  Thank Tracy K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A Wyndham traveler
Sawyer, Michigan
7519
Reviewed March 27, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
1  Thank A Wyndham traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

First, I should say that the food in the "Dancing Goat" restaurant was very good. Everything else was just OK, nothing outstanding about this historic hotel. Was expecting more. If you want a great stay in an historic hotel, drive a little farther down I-81 to Staunton, VA and stay at the Stonewall Jackson Hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gmanret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
1  Thank Martha H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Janie R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

This was one of the most charming places I have stayed in a long time. Extremely clean, wonderful staff, excellent food in the dining room and all for a VERY reasonable rate!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Teresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winchester hotels
4.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
1.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Winchester
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester
#6 of 25 in Winchester
730 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Address: 103 E Piccadilly St, Winchester, VA 22601-5004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#1 Business Hotel in Winchester
#2 Family Hotel in Winchester
Price Range: $108 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Wyndham Grand Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Washington Hotel
Hotel George Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing