We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“The facility was very nice. The facilty was very clean, the...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

1,724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,074
    458
    131
    35
    26
See reviews for
436
688
81
298
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia, Usa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This was one of the most charming places I have stayed in a long time. Extremely clean, wonderful staff, excellent food in the dining room and all for a VERY reasonable rate!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Teresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibsonia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
137 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Very nice hotel in a nice small town setting. The lobby is very nice & the rooms seemed to have everything one would require to make due when travelling, including an in-room safe. My room, which was plenty large also had a refrigerator & microwave oven. There was also wired & wireless internet service included. I understand there is also an indoor pool & some sort of exercise room, which I did not avail myself of. I also noticed a "business center" with two PCs and a printer available. The hotel has a lounge, a full-service restaurant & a spa (which I also didn't try as I'm already pretty enough).

Why I didn't rate it 5/5 - the selection of TV channels for 2013 was very limited, the TV was a 32" flatscreen (non-HD) which was small for the size of the room & where they placed it; a 37" TV would have made quite a difference (as would HD). The parking fee, though nominal is a nuisance fee. I parked on the street overnight once, which was fine. I did pay the fee one night as well. NOTE: the near-by garage is owned by the city & costs $10 overnight.

Room Tip: Shouldn't matter - not near any major hoghways & Winchester seemed rather quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fried003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
223 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

If you are visiting Winchester and want to be in the heart of downtown The George Washington Hotel is a perfect lodging choice. This hotel is beautiful inside and out; with clean and well maintained public areas, rooms and grounds. Each and every hotel staff member I encountered was extremely courteous, professional and welcoming. Upon arrival I chose the parking lot off of Cameron Street, which was just around the block from the main entrance. Parking was $5 a day, which I felt was extremely reasonable. The lobby area is pretty impressive with marble floors and high ceilings, with a nice view of the bar to the left. I was greeted with a warm welcome at check-in and told of all amenities available as well as hours of pool, dining and spa. The corridors were brightly lit with a light fragrance in the air; I noticed and heard spritzing air-fresheners throughout the hallways. My standard room was nicely decorated with attractive bedding and drapes; a classic look with modern touches. I was also fortunate to have had a mini-fridge and microwave. I don’t believe all of the rooms are equipped with these. I considered this a huge bonus as I brought food from home due to dietary restrictions. The bed was comfortable; I only wish there was a heavier blanket on it, but I bet if asked for one it would have been provided. There were plenty of plump pillows covered in crisp linens. I was traveling solo, so the room design wasn’t an issue, but with a partner I would have preferred a different set up. The desk was facing the foot of the bed and the flat screen television was on a dresser off to the right side of the bed. If two people were in the bed, viewing the TV would have been a bit of a problem. I suppose the arrangement may have been due to outlets/cable and such. The dimly lit bathroom had a spacious marbled double sink vanity and a tub; some bathrooms had walk-in showers. The towels were thick, soft and perfectly white, as if they were new. The toilet was pretty high up, even for someone with long legs such as myself; my feet did not meet flatly on the beautifully tiled floor. The bathroom was quite chilly, especially in the mornings, even though the thermostat was turned up. I felt that the inability to keep the bathroom warm was due to the tile floors and a bathroom window. The rainfall shower had fantastic pressure and there were no issues maintaining the proper temperature. The dim lighting made makeup application a bit challenging and the lighting in the bedroom area was just as dim; this is a frequent complaint of mine for most hotels. The Wi-Fi connection was very slow in the evening, but speedy early morning hours. Meals eaten here were beautifully presented and above average in taste and selection for a hotel property. The wait staff was attentive, professional and organized. There is a regular restaurant as well as a bar. A calm and relaxing atmosphere was found at the very small pool area with Roman-like columns. It would best be enjoyed alone or with very few other guests; splashing kids would have ruined the tranquil setting. There is a small gift shop onsite with unique gift items and even some food options. Room service is available as well, though I did not use it. There is even a small wedding chapel located off the lobby area should a simple wedding ceremony be in your plans. Onsite is also an elegant grand ballroom that would be a perfect spot for a special ceremony or event. If ever in the Winchester area again I would definitely choose this hotel. With friendly staff providing excellent service; comfortable, nicely decorated spotless rooms; a downtown location perfect for local dining and shopping options-this hotel has it all.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kribbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

The hotel is very pretty, and is close to the pedestrian mall (although the area itself is hit and miss - stay in a group when walking!). The hotel bar is fantastic and the Roman pool and spa are gorgeous. Rooms are on the small side, but the bathroom - with rainfall shower - more than makes up for the small room size. Best part is the friendly staff. Everyone I encountered was friendly and asked how our stay was. When we were checking out, the housekeeper came downstairs to find me because I had inadvertently left my earrings in the room. Above and beyond, and it was so appreciated! We will stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Onee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winchester hotels
4.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester
#4 of 25 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 stars 592 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway
1.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Winchester
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
#6 of 25 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 stars 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Property: The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Address: 103 E Piccadilly St, Winchester, VA 22601-5004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#1 Business Hotel in Winchester
#2 Family Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Wyndham Grand Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Washington Hotel
Hotel George Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing