We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Economically Convenient and Pleasantly Romantic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Economically Convenient and Pleasantly Romantic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is an excellent blend of a history lesson and modern comforts. My husband and I stayed overnight in one of the Junior Suites for Valentine's Day and can't wait to stay again. The hotel is conveniently located within a block of the historic walking mall and a wide variety of locally owned restaurants, pubs, and speciality shops. The ambiance inside the hotel and friendly staff made us feel like special guests. And the bathroom... AMAZING! I think I could have just spent my entire stay inside the bathroom. Between the luxurious shower and spacious CLEAN jacuzzi, my husband and I spent lots of time discussing the idea of creating an exact replica in our home. During our stay, there were only 3 minor items of note: A) the towel warming rack only seemed to heat when the jacuzzi was in use and not the shower; B) the sitting area chairs and couch, while very clean, showed a little more wear and tear than I expected, but that could be chalked up to the historical flavoring; and C) the in-room fireplace was immediately childlocked once turned on, and I had to call the front desk for directions to turn it off because no instructions were located in the room. The front desk answered on the first ring and promptly helped me with the issue - they didn't need to send anyone up or put me on hold to figure out the answer. On the way to dinner, I needed a safety pin to fix a wardrobe malfunction and the ladies at the desk immediately came to my rescue, smiling and laughing and carrying a pleasant conversation with my husband and me the entire time. Oh, and did I mention breakfast in The Dancing Goat was spectacular? The atmosphere was quiet, our nook table was cozy, and the creme brulee French toast (my choice cheat - I happened to be on a diet) was worth every yummy calorie!

Overall, the hotel is fantastic and the service impeccable. After other questionable service in the area, I continue to appreciate the value of pleasant and competent employees of the George Washington Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JessicaMarie1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,838 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,134
    493
    143
    38
    30
See reviews for
457
735
88
316
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Exceptionally friendly staff. Provided early checkin. Centrally located. Really liked the dual vanities, Lots of counter space that is lacking in most hotels. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
Thank JJinANP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
Level Contributor
174 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

The hotel is well managed. The staff are amenable & very helpful. Good location. Parking is $5/day, which I find unacceptable for such a high dollar hotel in Winchester, VA. The free wireless internet leaves much room for improvement. Since it is available, I suggest that you bring a data cord & plug in directly to the hotel server. Hotel cleanliness is to be commended & unusual for most hotels. Accidentally, I discovered that the HVAC closet in my room was left unlocked. The door had louvers for air circulation for the machinery. Inside the closet was a completely filled air filter & MUCH dust and dirt on the floor & door louvers. I reported same & the defect was promptly remedied. Heating system is less than satisfactory. When it cycles on, the first 3 minutes or so is cold air. Noisy. Swimming pool area is very nice. Not designed for swimming Has a hot tub which I did not use.The room hallways are very noisy, but this is due to inconsiderate people. Room doors & stairwell doors SLAM shut & are disturbing. Workout room is acceptable. If you desire exercise, I recommend walking in the area as it is safe clean & interesting. Had Sunday brunch buffet at the Dancing Goat Restaurant, located within the hotel. Food & price were unacceptable. I would not stay at this hotel again, Even though it is nice, it is too expensive for what you get in return for the dollars spent.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

We wanted to stay close to the old city, and this seemed to be the only choice. It turned out to be a terrific choice---just a great old hotel with friendly staff and a good restaurant, all within walking distance of downtown and a great bookstore called the Gallery.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WJClinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

We used orbitz to reserve our room late on a week night. We had no problems getting in and the front desk staff was very helpful and efficient. The public areas are clean and nice. Some of the furniture in The Half Note lounge were worn and looked a little old, but were comfortable.
The room was small, but lovely. Our king size bed was fairly comfortable, but the pillows, sheets, and blankets, were not near the quality of the ones at the Best Western Plus we stayed at a month ago. The bathroom looked nice, but the door didn't seal well and the floor outside got extremely wet. Overall, it was fine, and we enjoyed our room, but I wasn't "wowed" for one of the best hotels in Winchester.
I think we'll plan ahead a little more next time and stay at a bed & breakfast if we need to get away for a night.
Oh, the only breakfast available was at The Dancing Goat. Hot chocolate was $5 but the rest of the food was decently priced. We didn't eat there though. They had coffee and tea available in the lobby and a gift shop with candy and soda.
It definitely felt nicer upon entry than a Holiday Inn, but I'd say you get a better value at a nice new Holiday Inn etc.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jensasser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winchester hotels
4.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
1.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Winchester
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester
#6 of 25 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#7 of 25 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
#5 of 25 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Property: The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Address: 103 E Piccadilly St, Winchester, VA 22601-5004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Winchester
#1 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#2 Family Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Wyndham Grand Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Washington Hotel
Hotel George Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing