We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

1,830 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,129
    491
    142
    38
    30
See reviews for
457
731
88
313
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

We used orbitz to reserve our room late on a week night. We had no problems getting in and the front desk staff was very helpful and efficient. The public areas are clean and nice. Some of the furniture in The Half Note lounge were worn and looked a little old, but were comfortable.
The room was small, but lovely. Our king size bed was fairly comfortable, but the pillows, sheets, and blankets, were not near the quality of the ones at the Best Western Plus we stayed at a month ago. The bathroom looked nice, but the door didn't seal well and the floor outside got extremely wet. Overall, it was fine, and we enjoyed our room, but I wasn't "wowed" for one of the best hotels in Winchester.
I think we'll plan ahead a little more next time and stay at a bed & breakfast if we need to get away for a night.
Oh, the only breakfast available was at The Dancing Goat. Hot chocolate was $5 but the rest of the food was decently priced. We didn't eat there though. They had coffee and tea available in the lobby and a gift shop with candy and soda.
It definitely felt nicer upon entry than a Holiday Inn, but I'd say you get a better value at a nice new Holiday Inn etc.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jensasser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

It was a totally positive experience. I wish we'd had more time to enjoy all the facilities of the GW. The staff friendly and most helpful!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nokesville
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

Come every year for the Civil War Ball that the Historic Civil War Director Maricarol does. The room has always been clean and nice love the Hotel! Price is a good value. Food in Hotel is great also!

Thanks,
Nancy

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Kenneth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield,MA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

Arrived around 10:00 at night, there was no one there to check us in.eventually someone showed up. No problem. Rooms were nice sized, very clean. Interaction with staff was nice - everyone we encountered was super friendly and helpful. The heat did sound like a jet engine when it kicked on. Nice pool, though not conducive to swimming laps. Fitness center is a joke.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank RugbyMike15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winchester hotels
4.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
1.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Winchester
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester
#6 of 25 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#9 of 25 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
#5 of 25 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Property: The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Address: 103 E Piccadilly St, Winchester, VA 22601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#1 Business Hotel in Winchester
#2 Family Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Wyndham Grand Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Washington Hotel
Hotel George Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing