We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We used orbitz to reserve our room late on a week night. We had no problems getting in and the front desk staff was very helpful and efficient. The public areas are clean and nice. Some of the furniture in The Half Note lounge were worn and looked a little old, but were comfortable.
The room was small, but lovely. Our king size bed was fairly comfortable, but the pillows, sheets, and blankets, were not near the quality of the ones at the Best Western Plus we stayed at a month ago. The bathroom looked nice, but the door didn't seal well and the floor outside got extremely wet. Overall, it was fine, and we enjoyed our room, but I wasn't "wowed" for one of the best hotels in Winchester.
I think we'll plan ahead a little more next time and stay at a bed & breakfast if we need to get away for a night.
Oh, the only breakfast available was at The Dancing Goat. Hot chocolate was $5 but the rest of the food was decently priced. We didn't eat there though. They had coffee and tea available in the lobby and a gift shop with candy and soda.
It definitely felt nicer upon entry than a Holiday Inn, but I'd say you get a better value at a nice new Holiday Inn etc.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jensasser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,937)
There are newer reviews for The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,559 - 1,565 of 1,937 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2013

It was a totally positive experience. I wish we'd had more time to enjoy all the facilities of the GW. The staff friendly and most helpful!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Rosemary T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Come every year for the Civil War Ball that the Historic Civil War Director Maricarol does. The room has always been clean and nice love the Hotel! Price is a good value. Food in Hotel is great also!

Thanks,
Nancy

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Kenneth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank DocHolliday2010
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Arrived around 10:00 at night, there was no one there to check us in.eventually someone showed up. No problem. Rooms were nice sized, very clean. Interaction with staff was nice - everyone we encountered was super friendly and helpful. The heat did sound like a jet engine when it kicked on. Nice pool, though not conducive to swimming laps. Fitness center is a joke.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
Thank RugbyMike15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Brandon T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GWHotelManager, General Manager at The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winchester hotels
4.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester
#6 of 25 in Winchester
704 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
#5 of 25 in Winchester
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area
1.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Winchester
1.9 mi away
Hotel Modern Winchester
Hotel Modern Winchester
#15 of 25 in Winchester
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Address: 103 E Piccadilly St, Winchester, VA 22601-5004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Winchester
#1 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#2 Family Hotel in Winchester
Price Range: $109 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Wyndham Grand Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Washington Hotel
Hotel George Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing