We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great value considering overall quality....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
Chattanooga, TN
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great value considering overall quality....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

I stayed there for one night on a recent business trip. It is a great value considering the overall quality of the facility. The breakfast room service was abysmal, however, and that would be my only complaint.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BringOnTheTruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWHotelManager, General Manager at The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
I appreciate your business and your comments, good and bad. I'm so sorry your breakfast experience was not a good one. I would love to talk about your service if you would like I can be reached at dcavallaro@wyndham.com

Thank you and take care,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,103
    475
    139
    37
    29
See reviews for
448
710
84
308
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

If you find yourself in Winchester for a couple days, the George Washington is a great location. The rooms are very nice, but not necessarily representative of the old-towne feel of the rest of the facility. The restaurant is excellent, and the bar is a fantastic center-piece - a modern spin on an historical feeling hotel. The hotel is downtown and within walking distance of plenty of food, drink and touristy shopping. We hosted a function at the hotel and found the staff and service were exceptional - they were very attentive for both our business meeting and after-hours functions.

Room Tip: Ask for an end unit to get windows on 2 sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JMBless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWHotelManager, General Manager at The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
I appreciate your business, and your feedback and I'm so glad you had an enjoyable time while your in the Winchester area.

Take care,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

This Wyndham hotel is located in heart of the city, just a block from the walking mall’s quaint shops. The hotel is a great blend of grand old hotel, and modern convenience. As for the rooms, mine was quite comfortable and included a luxurious marble bath with ample natural light, however I struggled to see when artificial light was required (for example, to apply make up). If you plan to stay at The George Washington, opt for the free parking behind the hotel where there is a lot with about 20 spaces.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cstmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

We wanted to get away and visit some historic sights in the area, so we spent one night at Wyndam's GW Hotel. We got a heavily discounted rate, and were pleased overall.

Check in/check out

Very easy, no complaints on either end. We were charged for parking that we didn't use, but it was immediately removed.

The Room

The room had a king bed, a refrigerator, and a very nicely appointed bathroom. However, the view was lacking, as we faced a brick wall. Most of the other rooms likely have something to look at, but you should know that there are rooms (at least on the second floor) that do not. The shower is very nicely done, and quite roomy. The toiletries provided were of very high quality.

Breakfast

Breakfast is not included, but there is a restaurant in the basement. It is great. The tall stack of pancakes will sit in your stomach and keep you full all day. The french toast was also quite good.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the GW hotel, and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank MadMaxEsq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I went for the night just for a little relaxation. We stayed on a Saturday night. The room was very nice and roomy. The staff was very friendly. We relaxed in the bar, and listened to the live music they have on Fri and sat nights. It was a great hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taelorsmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winchester hotels
4.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester
#5 of 25 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
1.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Winchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway
1.8 mi away
aloft Winchester
aloft Winchester
#14 of 25 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Property: The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Address: 103 E Piccadilly St, Winchester, VA 22601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Winchester
#1 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#2 Family Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Wyndham Grand Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Washington Hotel
Hotel George Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing