We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, perfect to access Downtown Winchester”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great stay, perfect to access Downtown Winchester”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I'd been wanting to stay at the The George Washington to explore downtown Winchester.
I found a great rate and booked my stay. The rooms where beautifully appointed, though some areas are showing there age. I guess it makes sense, its was originally constructed in 1924 and recently remodeled, sometimes its hard to conceal cracks from settling. The staff was pleasant enough. Downtown Winchester is great and I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Urban_Photog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,913 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,185
    507
    151
    40
    30
See reviews for
474
769
92
329
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We were given a trip to our favorite getaway city (90 minutes from home, perfect if something goes wrong while they have our three kids) from my in-laws for Christmas, and we chose the George Washington Hotel because we had never stayed there but always wanted to.
Upon arrival we were given a gift certificate that my in-laws had purchased for us to use at the restaurant, The Dancing Goat. The front desk ladies were very nice, asked if this was a mini vacation before the baby arrives (I'm 36 weeks pregnant), and told us a brief history of the hotel. We were given our key cards and we headed up to our room.
The room itself is furnished very beautifully, and the bathroom is large with an incredible shower that was never short on hot water. The bed was comfortable, there were plenty of pillows that fit the bed (I hate it when the pillows are too small for the bed), and the TV selection was good. My complaint on our room was the view. The hotel wasn't booked, but you would think it was from our not so pleasant view of the rooftop of the lobby! A view of downtown would have been great, but it is what it is, right?
We ate dinner the first night at The Dancing Goat, and had a server named Brianna. She was very attentive, we never lacked for anything. Our food was amazing, too, from the Fried Green Tomato BLT to the Creme Brulee. Everything was just perfect.
The pool was nice and clean, and it was a great temperature as well. I asked about the temperature of the hot tub and was told it was 101, too hot for me right now, but my husband loved it. There was a record hung on the wall of the chemical balance in the pool which appeared to be checked daily.
On our third night there was, according to the front desk, a "celebration". After we returned to the hotel from dinner the small parking lot was full (including a florist van for the "celebration"), so my husband and I asked where we should park. The front desk girl, Eliza, asked our room number and said to park in the garage, that we wouldn't be charged extra (parking is $5/night, but with only 25-30 spots, it is tricky). My husband parked in the garage, named George Washington Garage (not run by the hotel, rather by the city, which is confusing since they share a name). About an hour later I needed ice cream, and went to the front seat with the ticket from the garage. I asked another girl what I should do with it, since it was supposedly not going to be charged. She had no clue what I was talking about, so I told her what Eliza had told us. She asked her about it, and Eliza said I was wrong, that she never said that. Never smiled, never said sorry but that maybe I misunderstood (I didn't). Just downright rude and unprofessional. The other girl told me to park in the valet lot upon my return. I called my husband when left because I was pretty upset. I felt that Eliza was basically calling me a liar, and the fact that she doesn't seem to know how to smile (which I noticed our second night there) seemed to really bother me for some reason. I feel like if you are going to work at the front desk of the most "upscale" hotel in town you should have a friendly demeanor, instead she has a look on her face as though she has smelled something foul.
While the room was nice, the food was awesome, and the pool was great, all it takes is one rude person to taint an experience. Will we go back to Winchester? Of course! But we will go back to the Holiday Inn, where the beds are just as comfortable, but the front desk went above and beyond our last visit. It makes all the difference in the world.

Room Tip: We had room 405, a horrible view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tennesseegirl1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWHotelManager, General Manager at The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you so much for selecting the award winning George Washington Hotel while you were in the Winchester area. Your feedback is important to me and clearly there was some communication breakdowns with my staff and your party as it relates to our parking lot / valet service we offer at the hotel, I'm very sorry for that. I would love to have the opportunity to discuss this matter in more detail, I can be reached at 540-771-2725 or you may email at dcavallaro@wyndham.com

Take care,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 17, 2013

The hotel itself is quite nice, but the immediate surroundings could use some work. The accommodations and facilities check all the right boxes. The suite has much as anyone would ask for, it's comfortable well appointed and well maintained. The staff was pleasant and very helpful too.

The only negative we experienced was noise. The room's HVAC system was loud and all of the other room's exterior doors seem to operate much louder than they should. We were awaken every time some one entered their room, which seemed to occur all through the night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWHotelManager, General Manager at The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
I appreciate your business and the feedback both good and bad. I will look into your comments with my engineer and we certainly will try to fix the door issue, it my be something as simple as tightening the hinge.

Thank you again, take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winchester hotels
4.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
1.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Winchester
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester
#6 of 25 in Winchester
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
#5 of 25 in Winchester
632 reviews
1.9 mi away
aloft Winchester
aloft Winchester
#14 of 25 in Winchester
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Property: The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Address: 103 E Piccadilly St, Winchester, VA 22601-5004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#1 Business Hotel in Winchester
#2 Family Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Wyndham Grand Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Washington Hotel
Hotel George Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing