We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another wonderful trip to Winchester and the George Washington!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I first would love to commend the staff at George Washington, they always go out of their way to make sure you have a great nights stay. After asking for a room with a fridge we ended up with a large master suite that was incredible. They had the room available and at no additional charge. I highly recommed staying at the G.W. anytime you visit Winchester.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank JESS B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWHotelManager, General Manager at The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

I value you as one of our guest and thank you so much for the nice words. Thanks again and I hope we can serve you on your next trip to Winchester.

Take care,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,975)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,637 - 1,643 of 1,975 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank JONESEYWinchester
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GWHotelManager, General Manager at The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We checked into the hotel a few days before New Year's Eve and spent time wandering the town of Winchester (very pleasant) and surrounding countryside. The hotel room was large and we were able to check in upon arrival. We had two rooms on the second floor. During the first day we realized there was a wedding party staying on our floor - doors banging, talking in the hall, etc. We asked the front desk if we could move to another floor and after checking she realized that yes we were surrounded by the wedding party and moved us to the fifth floor which was nice and quiet even after midnight New Years. The banquet room is gorgeous. The only down side was the hotel bar which opened at 5 - no early afternoon cocktails and the floor of the bar was not cleaned at night so in the morning you would go in there to drink coffee and watch the tv and the tables and floor were still sticky from the night before. I would not recommed the hotel restaurant - breakfast was awful and the service personnel were young and inexperienced. Overall a great hotel especially when they offer their specials.

Room Tip: This hotel does cater to wedding parties so make sure you have the floor where they are not partying...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel0221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWHotelManager, General Manager at The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Thank you so much for staying with us while you were in the Winchester area. I appreciate your feedback both good and bad. The lounge / bar area in the morning should have been cleaned, I'm very sorry about that and will get with my cleaning staff to correct that oversight. I'm also very sorry you did not have a better experience in the Dancing Goat, I will also alert my Food & beverage manager to resolve these issues as well.

Take care,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A Wyndham traveler
Baltimore
3411
Reviewed January 6, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank A Wyndham traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GWHotelManager, General Manager at The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank VICKI P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GWHotelManager, General Manager at The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Booked our stay at the George Washington Inn in Winchested online due the the location and reasonable rate. We were so pleased with the staff and the cleanliness of our room. The lobby was decorated for the holidays, but not overdone.. The lounge was inviting and classy. I widh we ciuld have stayed more than one night to take advantage of the Spa and pool. Parking was convenient. Fresh coffee in the lobby all day along with a newspaper and weather reports at the front desk. I have stayed in hotels all over the world and for the money, this is a winner. Nancy, Vass,NC

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank elephantlover9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWHotelManager, General Manager at The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Nancy, thank you for your nice comments. I appreciate your business and the feedback.

Take care,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank DONNA R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GWHotelManager, General Manager at The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winchester hotels
4.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester
#6 of 25 in Winchester
723 reviews
1.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Winchester
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
#5 of 25 in Winchester
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Address: 103 E Piccadilly St, Winchester, VA 22601-5004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Winchester
#1 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#2 Family Hotel in Winchester
Price Range: $108 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Wyndham Grand Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Washington Hotel
Hotel George Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing