We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year's Eve”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We checked into the hotel a few days before New Year's Eve and spent time wandering the town of Winchester (very pleasant) and surrounding countryside. The hotel room was large and we were able to check in upon arrival. We had two rooms on the second floor. During the first day we realized there was a wedding party staying on our floor - doors banging, talking in the hall, etc. We asked the front desk if we could move to another floor and after checking she realized that yes we were surrounded by the wedding party and moved us to the fifth floor which was nice and quiet even after midnight New Years. The banquet room is gorgeous. The only down side was the hotel bar which opened at 5 - no early afternoon cocktails and the floor of the bar was not cleaned at night so in the morning you would go in there to drink coffee and watch the tv and the tables and floor were still sticky from the night before. I would not recommed the hotel restaurant - breakfast was awful and the service personnel were young and inexperienced. Overall a great hotel especially when they offer their specials.

Room Tip: This hotel does cater to wedding parties so make sure you have the floor where they are not partying...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel0221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWHotelManager, General Manager at The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Thank you so much for staying with us while you were in the Winchester area. I appreciate your feedback both good and bad. The lounge / bar area in the morning should have been cleaned, I'm very sorry about that and will get with my cleaning staff to correct that oversight. I'm also very sorry you did not have a better experience in the Dancing Goat, I will also alert my Food & beverage manager to resolve these issues as well.

Take care,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,034)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,698 - 1,704 of 2,034 reviews

A Wyndham traveler
Baltimore
3511
Reviewed January 6, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank A Wyndham traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GWHotelManager, General Manager at The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank VICKI P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GWHotelManager, General Manager at The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Booked our stay at the George Washington Inn in Winchested online due the the location and reasonable rate. We were so pleased with the staff and the cleanliness of our room. The lobby was decorated for the holidays, but not overdone.. The lounge was inviting and classy. I widh we ciuld have stayed more than one night to take advantage of the Spa and pool. Parking was convenient. Fresh coffee in the lobby all day along with a newspaper and weather reports at the front desk. I have stayed in hotels all over the world and for the money, this is a winner. Nancy, Vass,NC

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank elephantlover9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWHotelManager, General Manager at The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Nancy, thank you for your nice comments. I appreciate your business and the feedback.

Take care,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank DONNA R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GWHotelManager, General Manager at The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I must have gotten the smallest hotel room in the building. There was no place to unpack my luggage, but, that said, it was clean & comfortable. I stayed 3 nights, due to snow/weather; and, so I spent a lot of time at the hotel. The staff was great! The heated pool was delightful. The location for food was perfect. I look forward to staying there again, soon.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank JAMES B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWHotelManager, General Manager at The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Thank you for selecting the award winning George Washington Hotel while you were in the Winchester area. It sounds as if you got one of our smaller rooms as the previous reviewer. With an historic hotel you will have a large variety of room types for every room is a little different. Other than the size of the room it sounds as if you had a great stay, which makes me very happy. If your ever back in Winchester give me a call and I'll make sure your you get a larger room. 540-771-2725

Take care,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Found this gem when looking for a quiet place to stay after a day's driving tour of western VA. It truly is a wonderful spot with careful restoration to keep it quaint and welcoming. Nicely located in historic downtown and a block from the Loudoun Street shops and restaurants.
The front desk clerk (Joshua) was very friendly and professional. We were quickly checked in and on our way to our very well appointed room (King Standard "C"). The bed and linens were extremely comfortable and the bathroom (dual vanity) large and nicely updated with the renovation. We did not experience the "noise" other reviewers have mentioned, but we were on the top floor at the end of the hall. And, yes, we had a $1.50 charge for the safe in the room (explained in depth in other reviews here). The nightly rate was extremely reasonable for the quality of the room.
So, why four stars (instead of five)?
I'd give it 4.5, if I could... but shy of 5 due to the limited parking and the heating system in the room.
As others have commented, the adjacent parking lot is quite small. It's a shame the hotel can't limit the parking there to hotel overnight guests - even with the $5 charge. When we returned from a dinner outing, the lot was full and we had to park in the city parking ($10 per 24 hours). Yes, valet was offered ($5), but we opted out. The next morning the desk clerk noted that we could have parked it ourselves in the valet section. Just some missed communication there.
As for the heating system, as another reviewer has commented, the HVAC system in the room (at least in 526) was quite noisy. It woke me up each time it cycled on/off. While it did a great job of keeping the room and bathroom comfy warm (it was in the 20's outside at night), it did so with a lot of noise. I'm hoping the hotel can work some magic to resolve this issue.
Overall, it was a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Our top floor, end of hall room had no noise issue....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWHotelManager, General Manager at The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Thank you for selecting our award winning George Washington Hotel while you were in the Winchester area. I also appreciate your feedback both good and bad. I will look into your parking and heating & cooling concerns. Parking is tight since we are downtown and share parking with the city, but we certainly could have communicated better about our valet services.

Thanks again and take care,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winchester hotels
4.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Winchester, VA
1.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Winchester
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester
#6 of 25 in Winchester
734 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
#4 of 25 in Winchester
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Address: 103 E Piccadilly St, Winchester, VA 22601-5004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#1 Business Hotel in Winchester
#2 Family Hotel in Winchester
Price Range: $113 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Wyndham Grand Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Washington Hotel
Hotel George Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing