We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The George Washington”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 13, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
1  Thank KIM D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GWHotelManager, General Manager at The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,938)
There are newer reviews for The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,645 - 1,651 of 1,938 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2012

We have stayed at the George Washington many time & LOVE it. Its a beautiful place with a wonderful staff.
So when we started planning our wedding we knew we wanted it there. WOW what a great job the hotel staff did!! . They made the wedding day less stressful for me, knowing they would take care of everything.Not only was it beautiful, you set up everything just as planned. All our guest we treated wonderful. You guys were first class! We had everyone tell us they had such a great time, how beautiful the hotel was & how great of a job ALL the staff did.. Thank you for making our wedding flow smoothly & everyone be treated so nice! Definitely a 5 star rating from us!! We recommend the GW hotel to all our friends & family & anyone wanting a great place to stay with wonderful staff!
Thanks again,
Natalia Johnson

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWHotelManager, General Manager at The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Congratulations!

I'm so glad you were able to experience our Grand Ballroom on your special day. I appreciate your business and all your nice comments, I'll be sure to pass them on to my team. All of us from the George Washington wish you both a lifetime of happiness.

Happy Holidays,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank CHRISTINE F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GWHotelManager, General Manager at The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We use this Hotel for our business stays quite often and it is the first hotel in the community we recommend to new visitors. The location represents the premier spot in town and the service and facilities are always impeccable. The restaurant downstairs (The Dancing Goat) is so convenient and the food is great, it's really tempting to just stay there verses venturing out into downtown.

When it came time to plan our recent wedding, there was no quesiton of where we wanted to hold the wedding and reception. Suzi and Jane were absolutely wonderful in helping us secure a date and make full plans for the wedding. All the staff at the George Washington Hotel provided us a truly wonderful and memorable wedding. We honestly could not have asked for better service or a better experience. The few minor hiccups we had were so quickly resolved and negligible that they had absolutely no bearing on the outcome; and are tough to even remember because they are simply outshined by everything that went so perfectly.

We have entertained so many compliments about the wedding from our friends and family; they have said how gorgeous the hotel/property is, how wonderful the food was, how smoothly everything flowed and how relaxed the atmosphere was, yet with great service. Everyone had an exceptional time. We can’t thank the staff enough and truly appreciate them creating such a wonderful memory for us.

I would recommend this hotel to any traveler (or even those local) who are looking for a first class experience in beautiful downtown Winchester.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomJ93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWHotelManager, General Manager at The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Congratulations!

I'm thrilled you were able to experience our Grand Ballroom on your very special day. I appreciate your business and all the nice comments. The sales team and I wish you both a lifetime of happiness.

Take care and enjoy the holiday season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank JODY N
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GWHotelManager, General Manager at The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank KIMBERLY S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank TerryVA
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winchester hotels
4.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester
#6 of 25 in Winchester
704 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
#5 of 25 in Winchester
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area
1.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Winchester
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Address: 103 E Piccadilly St, Winchester, VA 22601-5004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#1 Business Hotel in Winchester
#2 Family Hotel in Winchester
Price Range: $114 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Wyndham Grand Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Washington Hotel
Hotel George Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing