We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay when visiting historic Winchester”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
DALLAS, PA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect place to stay when visiting historic Winchester”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

The George Washington was centrally located to the pedestrian mall and an easy walk to shops and restaurants. Our room was clean, attractive, and well-appointed, although i was disappointed not to have a refrigerator in the room. The spa/gym/pool were an added bonus and the bar and guitar music on saturday night was very pleasant. i would recommend the hotel, would definitely stay there again and fyi, the price for a room w/2 double beds was quite reasonable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
Thank KATHI F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWHotelManager, General Manager at The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for staying at our grand hotel, I appreciate your business. I'm sorry you did not get a refrigerator in your room, hopefully I'll be purchasing new units for the hotel in early 2013 so all our guest can have a unit for every stay.

Thanks again and I hope you have a wonderul holiday season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,906 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,180
    505
    151
    40
    30
See reviews for
473
766
91
328
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
WILLIAMSBURG
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We always enjoy staying at the George Washington Hotel in Winchester, VA. The staff is very friendly and the rooms are always so very clean. We love the indoor pool and the restaurant and room service are great,too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
Thank GRETCHEN I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWHotelManager, General Manager at The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you so much for selecting the award winning George Washington Hotel while in the Winchester area. I appreciate your business and your nice comments.

Take care,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Overall the rooms were really nice but I am surprised at the lack of noise abatement between rooms. There was a lot of noise first thing in the morning, sounded like maintenance.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWHotelManager, General Manager at The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you so much for your business, I really appreciate it! I also appreciate your feedback both good and bad. I'm so sorry your were awakened by noise and I will defiantly look into this to see if we can correct this situation.

Take care,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Channel 70 Video Productions ace PA selected this hotel for us because she thought it was 'charming'. I'm not into charming, but am into having somewhere safe and convenient to park our rented truck. The client came up with someplace to park our truck and we used a rental car to shuttle. It turned out to be worth it. A very nice hotel and our company got a great deal on the rooms. Thank you, ace PA. We had the very cool (charming?) small pool to ourselves and it was a perfect way to end a long work day. The staff was outstanding. Any calls were answered on the first ring. Other than less than convenient parking (for cars) and a bit too much scented air, this was a good hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Channel_70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWHotelManager, General Manager at The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for staying with us while in the Winchester area, I truly appreciate your business. Being the only downtown property I do understand your frustrations about our limited parking lot but I'm so glad you felt it was worth it. The good news is after your check-in you really do not need your car again if you plan to stay downtown for we are in walking distance to all the local shops and attractions.

Take care,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrison, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

My husband and I did a one-night stop from ME to TN. This hotel was amazingly beautiful; the pool alone was a work of art. Perfect and affordable place to stay. Walking distance to wonderful restaurants in the Old Town. We ate at Violino Ristorante Italiano amazing service and food.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWHotelManager, General Manager at The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for selecting our award winning grand hotel while you were in the Winchester area.
I appreciate your business and the great feedback.

Take care,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I live in Winchester and finally had the opportunity to stay in this beautiful, historical hotel for my birthday since it is a walking distance to most local Restaurants in the Old Town. The room was clean, bed were super comfy with a high quality bedding. There was some kind of function during our stayed but we didn't encounter any problems with the noise level. We spent the morning at the adorable Roman style pool and had a blast. We were lucky no body was there so we had it to ourselves. They also have a little gym and a hot tub. Had to pay $5 /night for parking behind the hotel but it wasn't really a huge problem for me. You can park the car off the street since it is free after 4pm on fridays and the whole weekend if you don't want to pay the fee. Overall, It was a great stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank w0rldtr4veler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWHotelManager, General Manager at The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Happy Birthday! I'm also so glad you had a chance to stay with us, it's great to see locals enjoying their beautiful grand hotel. I appreciate your business and the feedback.

Take care,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We had a great stay at this hotel. The hotel is very pretty, and everything was super clean. We got the 2 double bed room and it was gorgeous. Comforter, towels, etc. were all super comfy. We even asked for bathrobes that were delivered promptly and that was just a great added touch. The bathroom was beautiful, great shower pressure and super hot water. We used the pool which was very relaxing, and the hot tub. It is not a pool to swim laps in but just to relax and unwind. We did the self parking at first but then left to get dinner and it was full when we got back so we had to do valet. There was no additional charge and the attendant was very nice. Great stay, great hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bonvivantmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWHotelManager, General Manager at The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
I appreciate your business, and the great feedback thank you very much. My staff and I enjoyed serving you while you were in the winchester area and we look forward to your next visit.

Take care,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winchester hotels
4.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
1.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Winchester
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester
#6 of 25 in Winchester
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
#5 of 25 in Winchester
629 reviews
1.9 mi away
aloft Winchester
aloft Winchester
#14 of 25 in Winchester
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Property: The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Address: 103 E Piccadilly St, Winchester, VA 22601-5004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Winchester
#1 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#2 Family Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Wyndham Grand Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Washington Hotel
Hotel George Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing