We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
ARLINGTON
1
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Overall the rooms were really nice but I am surprised at the lack of noise abatement between rooms. There was a lot of noise first thing in the morning, sounded like maintenance.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWHotelManager, General Manager at The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Thank you so much for your business, I really appreciate it! I also appreciate your feedback both good and bad. I'm so sorry your were awakened by noise and I will defiantly look into this to see if we can correct this situation.

Take care,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,938)
There are newer reviews for The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,723 - 1,729 of 1,938 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2012

Channel 70 Video Productions ace PA selected this hotel for us because she thought it was 'charming'. I'm not into charming, but am into having somewhere safe and convenient to park our rented truck. The client came up with someplace to park our truck and we used a rental car to shuttle. It turned out to be worth it. A very nice hotel and our company got a great deal on the rooms. Thank you, ace PA. We had the very cool (charming?) small pool to ourselves and it was a perfect way to end a long work day. The staff was outstanding. Any calls were answered on the first ring. Other than less than convenient parking (for cars) and a bit too much scented air, this was a good hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Channel_70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWHotelManager, General Manager at The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Thank you for staying with us while in the Winchester area, I truly appreciate your business. Being the only downtown property I do understand your frustrations about our limited parking lot but I'm so glad you felt it was worth it. The good news is after your check-in you really do not need your car again if you plan to stay downtown for we are in walking distance to all the local shops and attractions.

Take care,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

My husband and I did a one-night stop from ME to TN. This hotel was amazingly beautiful; the pool alone was a work of art. Perfect and affordable place to stay. Walking distance to wonderful restaurants in the Old Town. We ate at Violino Ristorante Italiano amazing service and food.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWHotelManager, General Manager at The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Thank you for selecting our award winning grand hotel while you were in the Winchester area.
I appreciate your business and the great feedback.

Take care,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I live in Winchester and finally had the opportunity to stay in this beautiful, historical hotel for my birthday since it is a walking distance to most local Restaurants in the Old Town. The room was clean, bed were super comfy with a high quality bedding. There was some kind of function during our stayed but we didn't encounter any problems with the noise level. We spent the morning at the adorable Roman style pool and had a blast. We were lucky no body was there so we had it to ourselves. They also have a little gym and a hot tub. Had to pay $5 /night for parking behind the hotel but it wasn't really a huge problem for me. You can park the car off the street since it is free after 4pm on fridays and the whole weekend if you don't want to pay the fee. Overall, It was a great stay!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank w0rldtr4veler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWHotelManager, General Manager at The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Happy Birthday! I'm also so glad you had a chance to stay with us, it's great to see locals enjoying their beautiful grand hotel. I appreciate your business and the feedback.

Take care,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We had a great stay at this hotel. The hotel is very pretty, and everything was super clean. We got the 2 double bed room and it was gorgeous. Comforter, towels, etc. were all super comfy. We even asked for bathrobes that were delivered promptly and that was just a great added touch. The bathroom was beautiful, great shower pressure and super hot water. We used the pool which was very relaxing, and the hot tub. It is not a pool to swim laps in but just to relax and unwind. We did the self parking at first but then left to get dinner and it was full when we got back so we had to do valet. There was no additional charge and the attendant was very nice. Great stay, great hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bonvivantmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWHotelManager, General Manager at The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

I appreciate your business, and the great feedback thank you very much. My staff and I enjoyed serving you while you were in the winchester area and we look forward to your next visit.

Take care,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is just beautiful. The pool the room the bar all were perfect. We will be back no doubt. Plus the discount coupon for the Dancing Goat Restraunt was helpful! Only two items to note otherwise: 1-a safe fee is on the bill but was easily removed when we pointed out we did not use it. 2-our room did not have a bathtub.. I was disappointed. Shower was awesome though.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wagneramye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWHotelManager, General Manager at The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Happy birthday!

I'm thrilled you enjoyed your stay, and thank you so much for the feedback. Sorry about the bathtub, on your next stay you may want to request that for we only have about 30 rooms with the bathtubs. If you request it, my staff will make sure you get it upon check-in.

Thanks again and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Business brought us back to Winchester after living there for a long time, and we were able to stay at the George Washington Hotel. We traveled to Winchester once a month for a year and were able to stay at the George Washington every time but one. The hotel is beautifully restored and has a wonderful staff...a winning combination. The bar on the main floor is beautifully done and the dining room downstairs, The Dancing Goat, has accomodating wait staff and good food. The rooms are well decorated, clean, and spacious. At the check-in desk in the lobby, there are maps and brochures, and it seems like the staff is knowledgeable and willing to answer any questions you might have. The hotel is located just a block or so from the pedestrian mall so you can walk to many of the restaurants.

Room Tip: The rooms that we preferred ended in '06'...so 306, 406, or 506. Those rooms were spacious...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justgo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWHotelManager, General Manager at The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

We so love having you as our guest. Thank you so much for coming back again and again, it truly means alot.

Your like family now, and look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winchester hotels
4.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester
#6 of 25 in Winchester
704 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
#5 of 25 in Winchester
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area
1.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Winchester
1.9 mi away
Hotel Modern Winchester
Hotel Modern Winchester
#14 of 25 in Winchester
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Address: 103 E Piccadilly St, Winchester, VA 22601-5004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Winchester
#1 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#2 Family Hotel in Winchester
Price Range: $109 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Wyndham Grand Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Washington Hotel
Hotel George Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing