We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to visit and get some lunch”

Museum of the Shenandoah Valley
Ranked #1 of 45 things to do in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Museum of the Shenandoah Valley (MSV) is dedicated to preserving and enriching the cultural life and heritage of the Valley. This regional history complex includes a house dating to the eighteenth century, six acres of spectacular gardens, and a 50,000-square-foot museum featuring changing exhibitions, a permanent display of miniature houses, and an expansive gallery exploring the history and decorative arts of the Shenandoah Valley. The MSV also includes a Museum Store and café (admission not required). The galleries are open year-round; the house and gardens April through October. The MSV sits on land originally claimed by Winchester founder James Wood in 1735. The property was passed through generations of Wood and Glass families until being acquired by Wood descendant and MSV benefactor Julian Wood Glass Jr. (1910–1992) between 1952 and 1955. Glass and his partner at the time, R. Lee Taylor (1924–2000), worked together to transform the site and its Glen Burnie House—built in 1794 by James Wood’s son Robert—into a country retreat where the couple entertained in high style. 
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for older children
Homedale, Idaho
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great place to visit and get some lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I visited the museum near the end of October. I loved the miniature homes and boxes. The pottery, wood carving, and textiles were all worth going to see this museum. Because it was a wonderful fall day I took the opportunity to walk the gardens of Glen Burnie. I also ate lunch in the museum cafe. They have a local menu. I recomend the pulled pork sandwich and the bread pudding. I planned to return but the storm, Sandy, wiped out my vacation. Everyone was so nice at the museum. Glen Burnie the house is not open but the miniature of it is outstanding!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Randy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    249
    108
    15
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
239 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Wish We Had More Time Here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is a beautiful and comprehensive Museum. We were drawn to the special exhibit on loan about the history of the Civil War and it was very well done. We spent about 2 hours here and because of time constraints, we couldn't stay longer and wished we had more time. The museum and grounds are really lovely and this museum is worth a visit.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank JoAnnW57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High View, West Virginia
2 reviews
“What a treasure for Winchester”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

The presentations are done very well! Took the grandchildren and they liked it as did I. The house, grounds and Museum are very well taken care of . I also attended a class on Geneology given at the museum at a later date.

Helpful?
Thank GailJ370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conroe, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Absolutely refreshing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stopped at this museum and were completely surprised at the moderate price and all you receive for that price. We enjoyed the museum and then the gardens and the miniature of the Glen Burnie house was wonderful too! We spoke with the Lead Educator, John, who was thoroughly fascinating and well versed in the history of the area. Thanks to all the staff here. The gardens were so beautiful especially in the fall!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Judyj55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
101 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Amazing Collection of Gardens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

While currently under renovation, the Glen Burnie House is closed until 2014. But that doesn't lessen the wonderful experience of the touring the vast and diverse gardens surrounding the house. From the amazing water garden and Chinese garden to the statuary garden and the Grand Alle', Glen Burnie's gardens are an incredible place to spend a few hours or even a day wondering about the extensive grounds. If your fortunate enough to be able to attend the "Gardens at Night" events during the warmer months, don't miss the opportunity. Imagine lovely gardens under the stars, with subtle lighting and fantastic live music. If you're in the Winchester area, the gardens at Glen Burnie are a must see.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of the Shenandoah Valley also viewed

 

Been to Museum of the Shenandoah Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing