We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little jewel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of One Block West

One Block West
Ranked #8 of 284 Restaurants in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $38
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A seasonal farm-to-table restaurant featuring the best products of the beautiful Shenandoah Valley in a la carte and tasting menus that change nightly. Chef Ed Matthews has been named to Best Chefs of America by his peers in 2013, 2014, and 2015.
Winchester, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Little jewel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Almost hidden in an alley, but parking available in front of restaurant. Menu includes vegetarian options. Very accommodating for a dozen people. Food was superb!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 126senior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChefEd, Owner at One Block West, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to find us and dine with us. Parking in Winchester, as in all cities, can be an issue. A bonus for our diners: we have our own lot and the most parking of any restaurant in the downtown. During dinner, there are also lots of spaces at the furniture store and lawyer's office just across the alley that you can use if our lot is full. There are also two public tots within 100 yards of the restaurant (no fees after 5pm) and a garage one block north of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    73
    22
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Remarkable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

The food is so wonderful and beautifully presented you feel like you a queen in a castle. The staff are wonderful and accomodating and the chef is friendly as well. Me and my husband love to come here for the beautiful setting and delicious food!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sherry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChefEd, Manager at One Block West, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you. I will make sure that the kitchen staff and the servers see your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High View, West Virginia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food, poor atmosphere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

The food was good, but pricey for the amount of food. The service could have been better. The atmosphere was ok.

Helpful?
Thank Mysti G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChefEd, Owner at One Block West, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Because you didn't give me any details to go on, I looked through your reviews of other local restaurants to see what appeals to you. I can see a preference for restaurants that serve large portions at low prices. That isn't us. We serve right-sized portions of carefully crafted local foods of impeccable quality. I'm sorry that we aren't really your kind of place and I thank you for at least giving us a try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhasset, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“chef's table”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

awesome way to spend a night with friends. Great food - great wine pairings. Food was amazing. Chef Ed never fails to please.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank customerknowsbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChefEd, Owner at One Block West, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you. We love doing tastings. In addition to our usual Thursday night Chef's Table, we will also do custom tastings any night of the week by advance reservation. Thanks for giving us the chance to do a custom menu just for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

My wife and I had the pleasure of eating at One Block West on 26 January. I really don't understand the last review as we had a great dinner with above average attention by the waitstaff. Chef Ed's menu and attention to detail was really good. His sauces were amazing and his wine pairings were on target. If I had criticism at all it would be in the minor details of the waitstaff service. While they were extremely attentive there were really small things like reaching over me to fill my wife's water glass. May seem picky but everything else is so good, minor details make a major difference. Besides that, we can't wait to come back to see what Chef Ed has intro for us.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChefEd, Owner at One Block West, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thanks for dining with us. I will work with the waitstaff about refilling water glasses. Depending on where you were sitting, the server may not have had a choice. Nonetheless, we'll work on it to make sure that we are doing the best that we can do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed One Block West also viewed

 

Been to One Block West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing