We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Bye, Courtyard, Hello, Holiday Inn Express”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester
Ranked #12 of 25 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
Long Island
Level 6 Contributor
468 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
“Good Bye, Courtyard, Hello, Holiday Inn Express”
Reviewed October 23, 2008

I was never a big Holiday Inn fan but in the past couple of years, I've stayed at several Hoiiday Inn Express hotels and have always been treated well. No so with Courtyards and Fairfield Inn's. This hotel was no exception. Everything was exactly what you expected it to be. Breakfasts are the best of all the hotels in it's class. You won't go wrong staying here.

  • Liked — Mostly everything... No surprises
  • Disliked — Dining options were few unless you drove to town.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RoadMaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    75
    29
    8
    6
See reviews for
97
75
18
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, WI
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2008

Stayed one night and thoroughly enjoyed it. The room was
decorated very tastefully, the beds were comfortable, the bathroom was super clean, microwave and frig were included....all for $87.
The breakfast was delightful...great choice...from cold cereal to
bacon, omelettes, French toast, warm cinnamon rolls and lots
more.
Couldn't have asked for a better motel experience! Would definitely
stay again!

  • Liked — The extra nice touches in the room...and the great breakfast!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank scooterbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOSTON
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2008

We stayed one night at the Holiday Inn Express on our way south to North Carolina. We were greeted by very friendly desk staff who assisted us with written directions to the nearest new Target! The pool was wonderful as was the hot tub. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The usual breakfast was more abundant than what we have experienced at other Holiday Inn Express hotels. We also used the free Internet access available. All in all a great stay and we will stay here again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JOGEEZER_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckley, WV
2 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2008

Stayed there this past weekend and really enjoyed it. Room was very clean and the king bed was very comfy. Hotel was full but everything was nice and quite. The staff was very friendly and helpful and even remembered us when we checked out the next day. The breakfast was also very good. Nothing extraordanary but much better than the normal routine. My only complaint was that the hot tub in the pool area wasnt very hot but I think they are going to remodel this area soon. Overall a great stay.

  • Liked — Good Price, Nice Bed, Great Breakfast
  • Disliked — Hot tub didnt seen very warm
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jjd_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobe Sound
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 7, 2008

My wife & I checked in for 5 nights in a suite. There were two problems: 1) sheets very thin & might have been left from the previous people who stayed there. One of the towels had a bad worn spot the size of your fist. 2) defective TV remote-- We spoke with the front desk who promised to have a person check it out. When we returned the next day the TV remote was still defective.
We requested a new TV but none available. We asked for a new room but nothing available. The desk manager gave us another remote, but the same problem persisted. The third day, a person came to fix it again while we were gone, without success. We finally had the maintenance person come while we were there, who led me to believe I couldn't use the remote. We discovered that he was playing mind games & that one had to stand in an exact spot to get it to work. The hotel knew all along that the TV was defective but they insisted it was me.
Conclusion --The management is running the hotel down & not repairing items when needed. We checked out 2 days early.

  • Liked — Suite very large & A/C worked, but fan noisy
  • Disliked — Not getting a straight answer from front desk
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank slider37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2008

I stayed here about 3 years ago with my now-fiancee and we loved it. I stayed here last night and was incredibly impressed again. The place is immaculately clean, the amenities are terrific and the staff was pleasant. Even when I came down at midnight, the front desk staff was willing to answer questions about town. The breakfast was hot and awesome. The bedsheets were soft and the shower was refreshing. It's hard to find something wrong with this hotel.

  • Liked — Reasonable price for what I needed to accomplish locally
  • Disliked — It was hard to find something. Maybe the floors could have been vacuumed better.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaristKKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2008

My first stay at a Holiday Inn Express (I kept thinking about their funny ads) turned out very pleasant. I was expecting clean and comfortable, but this was way better. Very nice room, well setup, and with little touches showing that someone in management is really trying to please the customers.

And for the price, it's really quite outstanding. I'm sufficiently impressed that I'm planning to try out HIE again whenever I get a chance. Hope it's the chain that's good rather than just this property.

Note: Room has a small fridge & a microwave. (There's a Food Lion nearby.) Free breakfast, and that's a hot breakfast, with eggs if you want them. And free wired internet (yep, that means it's pretty fast, much better than the usual hotel wifi).

  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cs_east
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winchester hotels
6.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway
3.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Winchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
#5 of 25 in Winchester
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester
Address: 142 Foxridge Ln, Winchester, VA 22603-4201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Winchester
#9 Business Hotel in Winchester
#12 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Winchester, VA is located at the north end of town only 2 miles from Interstate 81. Positioned in the heart of the Shenandoah Valley, our award-winning hotel offers 81 over sized rooms including 25 suites. With focus on both the business & leisure traveler, the Holiday Inn Express & Suites offers something for everyone. Our hotel offers an indoor heated pool with Jacuzzi, fitness center, business center, and the complimentary Express Start breakfast. This Winchester hotel is located 2 miles from the Historic District. Here you can enjoy local eateries such as Cork St. Tavern, Village Square & Violinos, along with museums, galleries and antique shops. We are also within 10 minutes of the Apple Blossom Mall, The Museum of the Shenandoah Valley, George Washington s & Stonewall Jackson Headquarters and Abrams Delight. Within 30 minutes you can take in the splendor of the Shenandoah National Park, Berkley Springs & Harpers Ferry, WV . You can also enjoy rounds of golf at Rock Harbor & Cacapon. If you are on business, this Winchester hotel is only mile from Winchester Medical Center, Trex and SU Pharmacy School. Within 10 minutes of FEMA, FBI Records Division, National Fruit, Crown Cork & Seal, Kraft, Quebecor, Pactiv, Greenbay Packaging, Home Depot & Valley Proteins. Play hard and Stay Smart with the Holiday Inn Express & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Winchester
Holiday Inn Express Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
Winchester Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing