We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very nice - a bit off the interstate”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
marietta GA
Level Contributor
637 reviews
226 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
“very nice - a bit off the interstate”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

very good - even by holiday inn express standards, which are always clean and comfortable with reliably good breakfast.

this property lived up to the standards.
teh hotel was very clean, quiet.
the furnishings were up to date and in great condition, the hotel looked very new.
breakfast was very good - usuall cinnamon rolls, but with cheese omelets, fresh biscuits and gravy, sausage, and a pancake maker, in addition to the usual pastries and yogurt and hard boiled eggs etc...
fridge and microwave in the rooms.
nice indoor pool.
the only downside is that it is not right on the interstate and there is not a lot of commerical activity close by - although there is an arbys right in front of the hotel and a sheetz station.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marieatta_pman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mistie D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to post your comments about the Holiday Inn Express in Winchester, Va. I am happy that you were satisfied with the hotel. Yes, we are a bit off the interstate but we like to think we are worth the drive! Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    72
    29
    8
    6
See reviews for
92
74
17
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Worthington, Ohio
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We pulled in around midnight and were able to get a great room. It was clean and comfortable. The staff were all very friendly. The breakfast are was clean with plenty of seating area and a great selection of food.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank obx4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mistie D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to express your enjoyment with our hotel! We are happy that we were here to provide you a clean, comfortable room and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolcottville, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
74 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

My family and I stayed here while driving down to VA beach. It was roomy,clean,(except for stain on a chair)and the staff was friendly. I liked that they had a free breakfast in the morning,that always helps! They had a good variety of food and drinks..juice,milk,cereal,cinnamon rolls,bagels,yogurt,eggs,and pancakes. When we checked in, the staff gave us a little bag that had a granola bar and bottled water in it,which was nice for the kids! All in all, this was a nice hotel!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mistie D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Melissa M,

Thank you for taking the time out of you schedule to write a review about your stay with us. We are very happy you were satisfied and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
94 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel is basic but has everything you need. There's a computer in the lobby area, a small swimming pool and gym, self-service laundry, and a restaurant and bar. You can walk to a grocery store and several restaurants in the area. The rooms have refrigerators. If you're looking for no frills and a good price, this hotel will not disappoint.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bknn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mistie D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear BKNN,
thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to review your stay with us! We are very happy that you were satisfied with both our hotel, its amenties but also our location. Our goal is to provide everything you need without sacrificing quality. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortland, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Stopped on our way home and got the last room. The service is great here. The front desk is very helpful and polite. They have an indoor pool open from 9am to 10pm which is perfect if you are traveling with kids. The continental breakfast even has Atkins friendly foods. Great experience!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Barnesy870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mistie D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Barnesy870,
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write such a nice review of our hotel. We take great pride in the service and product we provide and and very happy you were satisfied. We look forward to you staying with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

this place was pretty nice. It has a good amount fast food places around it and an Italian restaurant across the street. The bed was a little hard and they didn't have a comforter on it but overall the look of the room it's pretty nice and has a comfortable feel to it. I personally didn't like the breakfast but it did have a lot to choose from. there's a place to park trucks at also.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avery H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mistie D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Avery H.
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed our stay. Yes our mattresses are a little firm but they are brand new. Give them a few months and they will be perfect :)
We certainly hope that you will try breakfast on your next trip and sample some of our homemade pancakes or signautre cinnamon rolls. Just what you need to get you going for the day.
We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

En route from Myrtle Beach to Ontario, Canada, we stayed one night at the Holiday Inn Express in Winchester, VA. The hotel is reasonably priced, with clean rooms and facilities, helpful service and no lingering cigarette smoke odours.
The location is right off the highway, and about five minutes from the historical downtown area. So it's easy to check out a little history, sample the local restaurants and be back on your way the next morning.
We had good intentions to use the pool and hot tub - which looked clean and inviting - but after more than 8 hours on the road, felt too tired to use them. Next time, perhaps.
The included breakfast offers good quality and choices, in a comfortable setting.
One small complaint - we asked for advice on dining, and were directed to the old downtown - an easy 5-minute drive from the hotel. What they didn't tell us is that the 18th-century village square in under serious construction. It looked like Union artillery had laid waste to the area in an attempt to rout Stonewall Jackson's confederates. It made it tough to navigate, as well as killing the town's charm. Wish we'd known in advance.
Apparently it's all going to be ready, however, for Winchester's upcoming Cherry Blossom Festival. So plan on a spring visit and experience the best of Winchester.

Room Tip: Second floor, facing the front - quiet, non-smoking. The higher numbers are closer to the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank camlev77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mistie D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Camlev77,

Thank you for such wonderful comments about our hotel. We know when traveling you have so many choices and we thank you for choosing us! We are very happy that you were pleased with the accomodates as well as the complimentary breakfast.
I do apologize that we did not inform you of the construction in downtown. This is a VERY large undertaking but we are convident that it will enhance your experience next time you are in the area. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winchester hotels
6.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway
3.8 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#8 of 25 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
#5 of 25 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
3.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Winchester
1.6 mi away
Courtyard Winchester Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester
Address: 142 Foxridge Lane., Winchester, VA 22601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Winchester
#9 Business Hotel in Winchester
#12 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Winchester, VA is located at the north end of town only 2 miles from Interstate 81. Positioned in the heart of the Shenandoah Valley, our award-winning hotel offers 81 over sized rooms including 25 suites. With focus on both the business & leisure traveler, the Holiday Inn Express & Suites offers something for everyone. Our hotel offers an indoor heated pool with Jacuzzi, fitness center, business center, and the complimentary Express Start breakfast. This Winchester hotel is located 2 miles from the Historic District. Here you can enjoy local eateries such as Cork St. Tavern, Village Square & Violinos, along with museums, galleries and antique shops. We are also within 10 minutes of the Apple Blossom Mall, The Museum of the Shenandoah Valley, George Washington s & Stonewall Jackson Headquarters and Abrams Delight. Within 30 minutes you can take in the splendor of the Shenandoah National Park, Berkley Springs & Harpers Ferry, WV . You can also enjoy rounds of golf at Rock Harbor & Cacapon. If you are on business, this Winchester hotel is only mile from Winchester Medical Center, Trex and SU Pharmacy School. Within 10 minutes of FEMA, FBI Records Division, National Fruit, Crown Cork & Seal, Kraft, Quebecor, Pactiv, Greenbay Packaging, Home Depot & Valley Proteins. Play hard and Stay Smart with the Holiday Inn Express & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Winchester
Holiday Inn Express Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
Winchester Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing