We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Candy Hill Campground
Nearby Hotels
$129
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep Inn & Suites(Winchester)(Great Value!)
$72
SleepInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clarion Inn & Conference Center(Winchester)(Great Value!)
$89
$77
ClarionHotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (102)
Filter reviews
102 results
Traveler rating
30
24
15
14
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
30
24
15
14
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscamp storenice campgrounddog parkroad noiselevel sitesgreat storenearby highwaydog runan overnight staynice poolriglaundrytowingdogs
Filter
Updating list...
90 - 95 of 102 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We picked Candy Hill based upon their website. However, upon arrival we were scolded for not noticing the stop sign that said to "stop here to register." We had been driving for 10 hours, and it was late. We were rather tired. Then we were rebuked for not getting out of our vehicle to register quickly enough. The bathrooms were NOT "squeaky clean." In fact, the garbage wasn't taken out for a couple of days. The showers made me cringe with the mold. The staff drove around the campsite as they monitor everyone, yet they never smile. After the second day, we began to feel like we were prisoners of Candy Hill rather than guests. Everything at this place has a charge. It was our first experience at a private campground, and Candy Hill has made us never want to try another one out. It appears to be family run, with the "family" in different houses on the grounds, so you can never get away from the feeling you are always being watched. On top of that, you are right beside the highway, and it is noisy. I would not recommend this campsite to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

This campground is very well maintained. It is close to a highway but not that annoying. It's basically an overnight spot for people travelling to and from Florida. The campground is run like a Marine post. The workers are all afraid of the guy running the place so there are no smiles or good mornings but it is what it is. You get the feeling that they could care less because the place is usually always filled. The bathrooms are clean and include hot showers. I did not find the prices in the store to be excessive although some might. There is a $4 visitor fee which is now usually charged by all campgrounds.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
6  Thank Debbie Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed over Labor Day weekend. I have to agree with the other review that said it feels like you are being watched like a military base. I got the same feeling. We didn't have sewer hookup so we had to use the bath house. It's okay...nothing special. There are no shelves to put anything on like soap, shampoo, etc. I had to set it on the floor. The shower curtain didn't even cover the entire opening. When you're done with the shower you have to reach outside the shower to a bench and grab your towel and clothes. It's just not a good setup. All that being said, the campground is very well kept and very clean. The close proximity to the interstate, Walmart, IHOP, Applebee's are all a plus.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LOVINITNOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This was our second time staying at Candy Hill. We've had great experiences both times. The staff is friendly and our request for sites were met. As we overnighted both times we didn't get to enjoy the facility's pool, etc. Easy access from the freeway.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Retire T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This campground has some ups and downs but overall the poor customer service and drive for "bottom dollar" really put a damper on my stay.

Pros:
- Proximity to interstate
- Cleanliness of sites and facilities
- Some lower employees are very friendly

Cons:
- "Nickel and Dime" attitude
- $4 per guest per day (manager seriously considered charging five month old)
- Hourly charge for wifi
- Very pricey camp store
- Management seems weary of campers; Feel watched like a military base
- RVs are packed very close; Many have little room for awning and relaxing outside
- Sewer smell permeated camp sites after small rain and during any wind gusts

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mborotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews